$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
295 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjustme123 love Mexico
Business
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Good place

Nice, clean hotel, great service in the restuarant and by the pool/beach. Could only eat dinner in the buffet restaurant b/c all other restaurants were booked for all 4 days we were there, which was very disapointing. The buffet was fine and had 1-2 main meals that were very good, rest of the food was fine to average. Plenty of chairs to choose from by the pool and beach, no need to stake-out a chair by 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob and Alisa
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdhealth[@]
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

RIU Just OK

For the Money it was Just Ok !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi.
Oct 10, 2010

Not for families

The pool smelled like a cantina!!! there were a lot of drunks, not good for a family with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 16, 2010

Eh

Accommodations: The hotel was ornate and perfectly manicured, however slightly austere and stuffy. Service: prompt and friendly for the most part but slightly lacking compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. Food: plentiful but not very good...I would have preferred quality over quantity. Pool and beach area: clean and nice but nothing spectacular; no hot tub :(. Nightlife: on the resort it was almost non-existent. Entertainment: just ok. Drinks: drinks were served promptly (usually) but they were also just ok. They did not have a wide variety of alcohol; they were completely lacking some common bar staples like Captain Morgan or Jack Daniels! Price: The price was right for an all-inclusive however...it didn't feel all-inclusive bc we ended up having to go off the resort and spend a lot of $$$ every night to find good food, good drinks, or fun! On a plus note the hotel was just a short walk (or $5 cab ride) from the downtown area which was AMAZING...you MUST do that if you stay at this hotel...TONS of cool restaurants, bars, and shops down there. I would have just preferred to stay in the downtown area and void the "all-inclusive" resort thing all together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is GREAT! TONS of cool restaraunts, bars, and shops down there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan
Apr 8, 2009

Spring Break at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

The hotel is pretty and well maintained. The food is good. The buffet is good. We tried all the restaurants except the Mexican because my mother does not like Mexican. The only one we really liked was the Krystal. We had asked for a handicapped room because my mother is elderly and is slowing down. The room itself was nice and located near the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately the handicapped rooms are way down in the lower level with a fabric covered tennis fence right in front of the balcony and in your view. We would have loved to sit on the balcony but it was against the solid green fence and the noise of the tennis players. Also all the staff entered and exited walking in front of our balcony and could look into our room. We decided to upgrade our transportation for our return to the airport at the end of our week. We were told to meet the Orbitz representative at the hotel the day we arrived at 4:30. We met with an older fellow named [...]. He was the only unfriendly local person we met all week. To upgrade from a grey lines van to a private car cost $18.00 and that was fine with us. We paid him and he had no change as if he expected a tip or something. Towards the end of our meeting he became just a little more friendly but with attitude. When I confirmed our car a day before our departure I found out [...] never called in the change to Grey Lines and I had to arrange the private car myself and was able to leave 1/2 hour later not the one hour later NOE said we would have. He never told Grey Lines that we paid him the cash either. The receptionist at the hotel told me there would be a bellhop to help my mother and I with our luggage early the next morning. When I called in the morning there was no bellhop and the receptionist/concierge could not care less. There was not much breakfast available too even though we were told there was 24 hour room service. There were men in the room service area. It would have been nice if they could have helped us with our luggage to the front door.I only saw a stretch class on the beach given once, the first day in the seven days we were there. I wanted to take the class and after our first day no one ever offered it even though it was on the schedule. We enjoyed the after dinner music and the shows. Unfortunately the kids show had to happen in the theatre in between. It was unpleasant. We love the kids but it would be nice if they could do their show by the pool and the grown ups can listen to more music. We took a taxi to Playa del Car?, little local market and Playa del Carmen. It was easy, $5 each way and great for us because Mom could not walk so far. We also visited the Aviary down the street. I enjoyed that very much. There were lots of birds an animals to see. We loved our Maitre D's and waiters. The fitness center or gym needs a big renovation and upgrade, bad equipment and no diagrams. Lunch at the buffet restaurant was very nice and quiet. The lunch at the buffet by the pool was CRAZY, to much going on. I powerwalked on the bike path every morning on the main street and so did many others. It was nice. You can get your own to go coffee at the buffet and go. That was nice. It was a very busy week but we were able to get pool towels and lounge chairs every day. I did go in the early morning to put towels down on the weekend. The cabernet served at Krystal was the best wine of the week. The other wine in the hotel is just OK not great. I guess the week was a big MIX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring dollar bills or 20 peso bills for tips for your housekeeper daily and your waiters daily. They take care of you and remember you. They work so very hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E Ellis
Business
Lexington Ky
Sep 11, 2010

Lovely Vacation

First off, the hotel was great.Great staff and very clean. Only complaint was the noise all night from room service carts and drunk people fighting in the halls. Food was great. Gets old after so many days though. We were warned by other guests not to eat at the restaurants and they were all empty anyway. Overall, very relaxing and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to stare at the wall. It gets very boring very quickly. not sufficient entertainment at night or day. Blaying cards or befriend another couple!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex85
Business
East Texas
Jul 11, 2014

poor start to our hooneymoon

me and my wife decided to go here for our honeymoon as i had already stayed there for a wedding a few years before and really enjoyed the place. Before our trip i was in contact with one of their booking agents trying to see if there were any upgrades we could get with it being our honeymoon. they told me that we could get a room upgrade if we would bring a copy of our marriage license, and we would could also get an early check in. well having been there before i had seen most of the rooms so i booked the suite below what is a Jacuzzi suite. well anyways when we arrived which was early we were told that our room was not ready yet because it was a bigger suite. when they finally got us to the room it was not even a suite it was a standard room above the lobby. after telling them that that was not even what we had booked they showed us another room, same thing, finally they showed us to a small suite and tried to tell me the room I was describing did not exist. well the bell boy as he was taking our bags says to me i know which rooms youre talking about and shows us that suite. however they would not let us upgrade even though that suite was not used while we were there. Anyways after this long first day of being lied to we ended making the best of this situation. In all honesty this place is a nice and clean resort with good food but is run pretty poorly. Expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mundelein Illinois
Nov 26, 2014

bad feeling

The good hotel, but isn't enough greens. Beautiful buildings and pool. Excellent coast. Very good restaurants with excellent service, but are many shortcomings: 1. Bad service in room. After our installation we found a dirty bed, the bar was incomplete, bathing dressing gowns aren't present. Evening entertainments very bad. In the beach bar there is no disposable tableware. Excursions very tiresome are also badly organized. I and my wife not really liked vacation. The second time I won't go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

bad feeling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top