$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
463 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (463)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
463 out of 463
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Dec 3, 2009

destination wedding shopping

I met my family at Riu Palace Riviera Maya to investigate as a possible location for my destination wedding. We ended up there during a tropical storm, but didn't let that stop us! I have never stayed at a Riu, but found it similar to other all-inclusives. The restaurants did require reservations, which were all booked by the time we arrived, so we ate at the buffet restaurant for all our meals. Personally I prefer the no-reservation format, but if you know you need to make the reservations 4 days before, starting at noon, it might work. The food in the buffet was excellent and changed each night, but it would have been fun to try some of the other restaurants. The rooms were clean, but our first night we noticed a pretty powerful chlorine or cleanser smell (not a good one) in the corridors on our first floor. We ended up requesting to move to a different floor and were upgraded to a room on the second floor that did not have an odor. We actually walked the hallways to decide where it was coming from and noticed it was pretty much limited to the first floor- maybe because it was above the restaurant? Anyway, after the move we had no other issues. We enjoyed drinks in the bar each night before dinner, with live music that was a nice touch. The restaurant waiters were also supurb with service that became more personal each day. We met with the wedding planners, who is actually at the Riu Palace Mexico and covers several Riu properties. They were quite helpful and it wasn't far between the properties. They said they don't schedule more than one wedding at a given time, so that was reassuring. We were able to tour the Riu Mexico as well, which had a less European feel, was much more Mexican feel. A little smaller property, but actually quite nice and otherwise comparable. The ceremony locations were different: Riu Mexico has a small chapel, beach, or gazebo. Riu Riviera Maya had no chapel, but a nicer beach and a very nice garden gazebo that Riu Mexico didn't have anything similar to. The only drawback for both was that in case of rain the ceremonies are held in the theater, which is not bad, but not great. I also felt there was a little less ability to personalize things then at other places. We didn't get to swim because of the rain, but the pool was amazing! We did rent a car and drive to Tulum, the location of Riu Riviera Maya was halfway between Tulum and the Airport in Cancun, so convenient. We also were able to walk around Playa del Carmen, which was a five dollar taxi ride from the hotel. Overall a great trip! I will likely have my wedding at an adults-only resort (which Riu is not), but would be quite happy to get married in the garden gazebo or on the beach at the Riu Riviera Maya, though the character of the Riu Mexico was more personal. We managed to have a fun and relaxing time despite the weather. Proximity to Playa del Carmen was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Jan 24, 2010

Sweet!

This was our first all-inclusive resort experience, and it was fantastic. Our normal vacation is spent traipsing through some foreign city, figuring out bus schedules, medium-to-low-end accommodations, and DIY catering. Those trips are very interesting, but not relaxing.. so at Riviera Maya, we were looking just to relax and get enough warmth to last the rest of the winter.We found the staff to be gracious, the beach warm and welcoming, and the food varied and delicious. At first I thought it would be important to reserve the 'special' restaurants each night, but the normal buffet and service at Don Manolo were great. Try Krystal for artful cuisine and presentation (and better wine than usual) but the others could be missed.We took one day to see Chichen Itza [...]and it was a fine trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Jan 24, 2010

Sweet!

This was our first all-inclusive resort experience, and it was fantastic. Our normal vacation is spent traipsing through some foreign city, figuring out bus schedules, medium-to-low-end accommodations, and DIY catering. Those trips are very interesting, but not relaxing.. so at Riviera Maya, we were looking just to relax and get enough warmth to last the rest of the winter.We found the staff to be gracious, the beach warm and welcoming, and the food varied and delicious. At first I thought it would be important to reserve the 'special' restaurants each night, but the normal buffet and service at Don Manolo were great. Try Krystal for artful cuisine and presentation (and better wine than usual) but the others could be missed.We took one day to see Chichen Itza [...]and it was a fine trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nonmex traveller
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2011

Enjoyed getting pampered

It was my first trip to the Cancun area and in an all inclusive hotel. I expected buffets and drinks, but never realized the buffet choices and food amounts along with the quality drinks were going to be the norm. This is the newest of the chain in Playa de Carmen, if you want lots of discos and college crowds, then this is NOT the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

A one dollar or two dollar tip gets you excellent service throughout your trip and never hesitate trying to speak Spanish, they really do enjoy speaking in their native language to you.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myni
Houston Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Great All Inclusive at a Great Price!

Our room was amazing! We had a jacuzzi on the 2nd floor balconey that we used every night and could hear the music from the band below! The food was good and the drinks to die for! I would definatly recommend this hotel for couples or honey-mooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy anything from the vendors at the hotel..they will rip you off..go into town or to the little shops in Playacar and rembember to ALWAYS negotiate down...they start pretty high

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorip
Iowa
Jan 25, 2012

Great location, beach, staff!

Very nice resort, but there are others out there too. Pros: BEACH! Beautiful sand and ocean. Room & grounds very clean. Staff was super friendly. Food was very good everywhere we went. Location nice since you can walk to Playa del Carmen or get a taxi for $7 USD. Cons: Reservations at restaurants for dinner---had to waste beach time to wait in line to make reservations for the evenings, which was a real pain. They did not honor our room location request. In fact, we requested as close to the ocean as possible but our room was almost as far from the ocean as possible. We stayed right by the buffet restaurant and it was very loud until about 11:30 every night from the entertainment. Drink service was non-existent on the beach, which was unusual compared to other resorts we've stayed at. Overall, a very nice resort. Would maybe stay here again but there are other places that don't require dinner reservations and do provide great drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top