$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
325 reviews
Amazing trip with friends

There was nothing lacking from the service, location, beach, drinks and food at this resort. Also... See full review

  • DeNada
  • May 22, 2015
Honeymooners paradise!

came here for my honeymoon, me and my husband loved it here. the food was great, drinks awesome and... See full review

  • Veronica G.
  • May 7, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Location
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbie
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Terrible

We walked in to a musty smelling lobby. The room was just as musty. All bed linens and dining room linens looked dirty and overused. The food was bad. We will never stay at a RIU hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt Hermon
Jun 12, 2008

Not What I Expected.....

I am a huge fan of the Riu chain of hotels. When staying in Cancun, the service, hotels, everything was beyond fantastic. I had always wanted to stay at the Riu Palace Riveria Maya. My husband agreed to stay there for our honeymoon and I was thrilled. However, it didn't take long for my excitement to turn to disappointment. In the total of four days we were there, we were moved to three different hotel rooms (the toilet didn't work and maintenance never showed up to fix it; a screen door was missing so we couldn't enjoy the patio; the tub leaked; the hot water was shut off at certain times during the day so we couldn't take hot showers; etc.). The linens in the dining rooms were dirty and stained. It's hard to believe this is a 4.5 star hotel. I believe my expectations were too high and because of that, I was very let down. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You will need more than a few hours to do all the shopping, eating and sight-seeing.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Looks nice, but didn't have a great time

We were looking forward to a fabulous experience because of all of the good ratings for this hotel.. HOWEVER we did not enjoy our stay at all. When we first got to the hotel, we were joined by a large group of people who were waiting hours to have their rooms ready for them to check in to. The front desk staff were rude, and they ignored us multiple times throughout our stay. Even though it was low season when we went, it was nearly impossible to get any dinner reservations, so we were stuck eating at the buffets all of the time. The buffet food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. There are way too many people staying there for the low amount of workers they have. The pool water was very colds so unless it is a extremely hot day you probably wont want to go swimming. The beach did not have any service on it, and there were cigarette butts and trash in the sand. The bedsheets in our suite were damp every day, and the rooms were not nice at all. Dark and dismal! In addition, one of the cleaners stole our digital camera with our trip photos. We spoke to the GM of the hotel and he did nothing about it. On the positive side, the beach of playa del carmen is amazing- you can walk right from the hotel beach all the way down to the downtown 5th st. in playa del carmen where all of the shops and entertainment are. It's a great walk to do in the afternoon, and to come back by sunset. If you choose to taxi one way, it is an inexpensive taxi too. The hotel is also very grand. Beautiful lobby and live piano- huge chandeliers and domed gorgeous ceilings. It was a beautiful property, but we just weren't impressed with out overall stay. Instead of staying here, I would DEFINITELY suggest that you stay at one of the Palace brand resorts. If you do this- I can PROMISE you that you will have the best vacation of your lifetime. My boyfriend and I have travelled a lot together, and our stay at the Cozumel Palace (just a ferry ride from Playa Del Carmen) was by far the best experience we have ever had. The Cozumel palace has fabulous promotions on that give you free spa treatments and tours, and gorgeous rooms with huge Jacuzzi tubs! They are a smaller resort, with really good service. Perfect vacation for couples ( I wouldn't recommend it for kids of families though). Hope this helps! Have a great vacation :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongos recently opened up in Playa Del Carmen. It is an unreal nighttime club! If you are also going to Cancun, you can go to the Coco Bongos in Cancun, because it is better- but if you are only going to Playa del Carmen, make sure to experience it!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eliot, me
Apr 12, 2011

Our take

We have traveled to Playa Del Carmen on numerous occasions. For the most part our trips are great. This was not our first time at a Riu and was our second at this particular one. Good things: the service and staff were excellant, everyone was very friendly. Thank you [...]. The hotel is close to town which is why we selected it. The bad: Yes, there were cockroachers in the rooms. We have never encountered this in all our trips to Mexico. Also the pool was dirty. It was never cleaned the whole time we were there. This was also very surprising for the caliber hotel this is supposed to be. We will not return to his hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Playa is a great place for shopping and restaurants.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 13, 2008

Great on the outside, but not so good inside

We went on our honeymoon expecting to be a romantic hotel as we were told, but it was not. The upkeep of the hotel is very good and it's very beautiful outside, but the rooms were very average, and for a 5 star hotel, i expected it to be better. i took pics of the bathroom where the paint and wall of the ceiling were ripped and getting brown and some places on the wall looked very old and musty smelling. I expected luxury, but i felt like we were in a typical cancun resort. I did not like the fact we had to make reservations beforehand to eat at the one of the 5 restaurants and we only had a time between 12pm - 3pm to make the reservations. If we waited too long to make the reservation, then we were not able to eat at the restaurants. We were stuck eating at the one buffet restaurant they had. Some customers were trashy and made the environment around the pool very loud and party mode, but we only wanted to spend a quiet, classy luxurious time for our honeymoon without the party atmosphere, which unfortunately, was party atmosphere with some roudy customers in the pool all day making noise and at night. The hotel did not make any effort for our honeymoon, I had to ask them to send us something like champagne three days after. Once they sent up a plate of fruits (apples and bananas) which had ants crawling in them when we walked in the room in the evening. We were very upset and disgusted, then they sent champagne after I shoed them the plate and sent it back and complained. I don't feel they did anything or made any effort to compensate us for that or make it up at all as a customer service effort. We also asked many times for different things from room service or front desk, and they would take an hour and many reminder calls from us to finally bring up the stuff we ordered. When we checked out, they had nothing to say to us or the manager never bothered speaking with us regarding the room complaints we made, the ants in the fruit plate or anything else, despite us asking to speak with the manager many times. Overall, I wished we had spent our honeymoon at another resort that was more luxurious and the rooms and service would have been better and more classy. I felt we just went to a regular resort in cancun where anyone can go to party. Also, the food at the two restaurants we ate at was not that good. The only really good thing about the resort was the beach, the pools and the outside maintenance and where the band would play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 10, 2010

Skip It

The outstanding staff could not save this hotel from the awful food. All inclusive = already has guests money do not have to make food good to make profit. Better off going into town for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to town.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC Jetter
Business
Washington DC
Jul 31, 2014

Rude Management

Management is very rude, especially at the front desk, and especially inflexible. We couldn't even get a half hour late checkout since they claimed that the hotel was full, even though the hotel was not even half occupied judging by the emptiness of the pool, theater, restaurants and beach areas compared to when we first checked in. As frequent travelers this was a first for us, we've even gotten 2 hour late checkouts at Secrets or LeBlanc. Also noteworthy - we're even RIU members, or should I now say former RIU members; this membership provides no benefits at all since you can never use the points as they always claim there's nothing available. We decided to give them a second chance with this booking, our first negative experience was with RIU Peninsula - our flight got canceled due to the snow so we arrived one day late, they were giving us a very hard time giving us the day that we had lost even though the room was available, and again the hotel was at around 50% occupancy, during the heart of winter. The manager even admitted to this but as always blamed it on his manager, and if you speak to him, he'll just blame it on his manager and the chain keeps going...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Looks nice, but didn't have a great time

We were looking forward to a fabulous experience because of all of the good ratings for this hotel.. HOWEVER we did not enjoy our stay at all. When we first got to the hotel, we were joined by a large group of people who were waiting hours to have their rooms ready for them to check in to. The front desk staff were rude, and they ignored us multiple times throughout our stay. Even though it was low season when we went, it was nearly impossible to get any dinner reservations, so we were stuck eating at the buffets all of the time. The buffet food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. There are way too many people staying there for the low amount of workers they have. The pool water was very colds so unless it is a extremely hot day you probably wont want to go swimming. The beach did not have any service on it, and there were cigarette butts and trash in the sand. The bedsheets in our suite were damp every day, and the rooms were not nice at all. Dark and dismal! In addition, one of the cleaners stole our digital camera with our trip photos. We spoke to the GM of the hotel and he did nothing about it. On the positive side, the beach of playa del carmen is amazing- you can walk right from the hotel beach all the way down to the downtown 5th st. in playa del carmen where all of the shops and entertainment are. It's a great walk to do in the afternoon, and to come back by sunset. If you choose to taxi one way, it is an inexpensive taxi too. The hotel is also very grand. Beautiful lobby and live piano- huge chandeliers and domed gorgeous ceilings. It was a beautiful property, but we just weren't impressed with out overall stay. Instead of staying here, I would DEFINITELY suggest that you stay at one of the Palace brand resorts. If you do this- I can PROMISE you that you will have the best vacation of your lifetime. My boyfriend and I have travelled a lot together, and our stay at the Cozumel Palace (just a ferry ride from Playa Del Carmen) was by far the best experience we have ever had. The Cozumel palace has fabulous promotions on that give you free spa treatments and tours, and gorgeous rooms with huge Jacuzzi tubs! They are a smaller resort, with really good service. Perfect vacation for couples ( I wouldn't recommend it for kids of families though). Hope this helps! Have a great vacation :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongos recently opened up in Playa Del Carmen. It is an unreal nighttime club! If you are also going to Cancun, you can go to the Coco Bongos in Cancun, because it is better- but if you are only going to Playa del Carmen, make sure to experience it!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjustme123 love Mexico
Business
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kabel
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 15, 2012

Great Location

The Riu Palace is in a great location and has a beautiful beach. We loved being able to walk everyday to Playa del Carmen and even to Walmart. Always felt safe and even walked to town one night to eat at a great Italian restaurant we found. The hotel is beautiful but small for what we are used to in an all-inclusive hotel. The food was above average but was happy we found cappuccino as the coffee was not good. The biggest frustration was there was hardly any internet and you have to go to the hotel lobby to try and connect. My husband needed to work and it was a problem most days. Overall I would say it is a nice place but I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an italian restaurant on the corner of 8 Norte in Playa del Carmen that has an italian chef and they make the pizza in a brick oven. The food was amazing and the best meal we had while there.

Back to menu Return to top