RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
300 reviews
Great option in Playacar

Been 5 times to Playacar, one of the best options in the area i.m.o. RIU Palace is clearly above... See full review

  • Diego
  • Apr 6, 2015
great trip

everything was great. This was our second time staying at the same hotel. We will do it again. See full review

  • Larry
  • Apr 6, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 300
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Mamacita
Business
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Tan Thanks to Playa-Janet
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2009

Beautiful, relaxing, simply amazing

Very nice location, the beach was beautiful, the pool was nice and cozy, the staff was very nice, friendly, and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I did a little souvenir shopping on 5th Ave, I would suggest never buying at the price they offer. Always bargain at least half of what they originally tried to sell you your souvenir for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ankeny John
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 1, 2012

We will go back, and take other family with us!

Truly a wonderful experience for our family (daughter 19 and son 15) from the moment we entered until we left. Facilities, Food, and most importantly THE PEOPLE at RIU Riviera Palace were absolutely fantastic. Never once had any cuisine issues and every person we met was warm and welcoming. Rooms were sparkling clean daily and mini suite aspect was perfect amount of space. We are planning another trip and including about 10 additional family members next time. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each restaurant was exceptional. Check on Reservation process as soon as you arrive as several theme restaurants fill early. Don't worry though main restaurant "Don Manolo" was flawless and doesn't require any reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe g
Business
Nee york
May 15, 2012

Great hotel

Great overall hotel- loved the food - the restaurants were good- delish food- the buffet was good too- people complain about the food getting boring- but it was good and very large selection- breakfast buffet was the the personal best . Will go back in a heart beat the beach is beautiful and service is great- loved the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo- not many clubs and night life but perfect for couples

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GP Nathan
Business
Grants Pass, OR
Aug 22, 2012

Just like heaven!

There's nothing bad to say about this place, it is superbe!! The food is very good. I've been to buffet style all inclusive resorts before and the food typically is pretty bla. but NOT HERE.. Every meal is well prepared and better than I would have expected. The activities are abundant and throughout the day, so nobody gets bored. The pool is well maintained, and the beach is just a few steps away. Nighttime shows are fun, and easy to attend for adults and children. I highly recommend this place. The only negative, which isn't on the motel is on the Taxi service to/from the motel. It's unfortunate that Cancun doesn't' do something about it, because the very first impression of the place is that we were getting ripped off with the taxi ride. There's obviously a problem there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel has a gift shop with sunscreen, etc; however, sunscreen is $30 US/bottle. Walk the beach to town and all prices are about half of what is in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whats up man
Business
San Antonio
Aug 9, 2013

RIU PALACE INCREDIBLE!!!!!

ONE WORD AMAZING!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. WORTH EVERY PENNY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona69
Business
warren, nj
May 28, 2014

Dream vacation

Everthing was picture perfect, from service to location. Would definitely recommend and return. It's like a dream come true. Recommended for people of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping deals on 5th ave . Fifteen minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abbotsford
Dec 8, 2008

Doing it right the first time.

The RIU Palace was awesome, it was everything we thought it would be and more. The room was great very posh. Our room attendant always had the room looking new everyday. The beach was beautiful and our waiter out there really charmed my wife. The Palace was close to town, an easy 15 minute stroll. A great full patio with chairs was nice. The food was beyond our expectations as was the service. We saw people with children there and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. We felt we wouldn't bring kids to a place like this. It felt more adult oriented and we liked that. The only thing we didn't like and there isn't anyway to fix it was the ambient noise from the hallways and such. It is all marble floors and tiles so there is no sound absorbion. So someone walking to there room and talking at 3am is right in your room. As is the child at 7am was in yelling down the hall. Other wise we are going back and look forward to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Loved Mexico
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 1, 2011

Excellent Time, Better than Remembered!

We were traveling with our nine month old boy for the first time and knew that the Riu Palace (Riviera Maya) was kid friendly, but it went above and beyond our expectations. We chose to stay put at the resort for the week and had a great time on the beach, by and in the pool, and at the dinners and shows. The staff (and other guests) consistently went out of their way to provide a level of service that was second to none. We were able to do the fancier dinners as well as the buffet every night without any concerns as to whether our son would be able to also enjoy being at dinner while either eating or sleeping. We would highly recommend this resort to young or old couples; groups of friends, and those with small children; particularly babies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary
Nov 30, 2008

Great only with friends

After you get your sun tan there is really not much you can do around there, besides drinking. I think that the alcohol was watered down unless you ask for it (or make your own). The nightly shows were entertaining as well. When you get there try to get reservations to their restaurants besides the buffet, because they are really really good. Definitely try their Brazilian cuisine and their steak houses Chilli's and Krystals. The other places are just meh. Tours on the beach: definitely cheaper and best of all they are legit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th Ave market is nearby. Should only cost you 50 pesos. Try the street food if you think your stomach can handle it. HAGGLE when you buy from the market.. usually you can get it 75% off their asking price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top