RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Jan 10, 2011

Great resort, fantastic food

We went to the resort for a week, and had a great time. The RIU Palace Riviera Maya offers excellent restaurants, a wonderful pool, big, nice, clean rooms and a fantastic all-inclusive service. Compared to former all-inclusice experiences, this was much better in terms of quality, especially concerning the quality of the restaurants. Staff is very nice, and everybody loves children. The only thing that we did not like was the kids' area, with a minimalistic pool and a ridiculous playground (small and not very tidy). But apart from that, we can only recommend the resort. Don't expect too much from downtown Playa del Carmen, though: It is just a big shopping mall, and we were happy that we could return to our resort after an hour. But you should definitely go to the ruins of the old Maya city of Chichen-itza, and to Tulum, an ideal combination of culture and beach recreation. Concerning the evening entertainment program, there is some (too loud) live music, which ends, fortunately, around 11 p.m., but also some nice ideas like roulette and things like that in the open patio, where you can try your luck without risking your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The destination Tulum is highly recommended for a half-day trip: the combination of Maya ruins with a breathtaking beach area (take your bathing suits!) is unique. We joined an organized tour, but as Tulum is only a half-hour drive from Playa del Carmen, you may just as well rent a car and stay on the beach in Tulum as long as you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fla
Jan 12, 2011

Simply outstanding!!

The hotel far exceded our expectations! Facilities,food and staff were all outstanding. Best dollar value we ever experienced. We will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The theme specific restaurants at the hotel were very good but because there were 2 seatings per night, you were somewhat rushed at the early seating. We enjoyed the buffets more in part because they were more relaxed and leasurely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2008

Very Friendly staff members at the hotel

The RUI Palace Riviera Maya hotel was beautiful and had very friendly and helpful staff members. The rooms were very spacious as well at the bathroom that contained two sinks - very nice. The walk to downtown Playa del Carmen was roughly 10 - 15 short minutes; I would highly recommend that journey. The town was wonderful during the day and evening. I would highly recommend my family and friends to stay at the RUI Palace Rivera Maya hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation for the Yashima Japonesa restaurant; it was the Best Dinner!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 16, 2008

Couple Getaway

Great place to get away from it all. Just laid on the beach all day. Nice size pool, great beach area compared to surrounding properties. Could use a little more nightlife and different options for lunch. Would definately go again, looking forward to seeing other RIU properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 27, 2008

The best service money can buy

This resort is what any tourist would wish for. The service was second to none. I mean they cleaned our room twice each day. The place was well kept and cleaned on a regular basis.I will rate this Hotel a 4.8 out of 5. One suggestionis they should offer bedroon slipper along with the bath robes that they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the town to catch the ferry to go to Cossumel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, *
Aug 4, 2008

Relaxing, Fun Time

Hotel was clean, service was excellent and pool/beach was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is very fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!

I just got back from a one week stay at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya, and had an amazing time. We loved everything about this place from the lobby to the beach. The staff was so friendly, everything was always so clean, the food was awesome. It was such a relaxing trip, and we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the lobby and go left there is a small shopping area a couple of minutes away, and if you go to the right and walk about 15-20 minutes you will be on 5th avenue, a big area of shopping bars, and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 29, 2009

You CAN'T go wrong with this place!

This is the ultimate place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Everything at this resort received a 5-star. The food, drinks, fun, and ammenities were non-stop and outstanding. Comfortable rooms, bed, and great bath jacuzzi. Very accomodating - will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go outside of Hotel for drinks or dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cousins from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 12, 2009

Great vacation

The hotel surpassed any of our expectations, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel amenities were great. They had a good variety of drinks and top shelf alcohol (but they only served two types of beers). In addition to the buffet style restaurant, the hotel features some specialty restaurants for dinner which required reservations. Although it is difficult to obtain a reservation due to limited capacity, the food at these places was great, especially Agape (their Mexican style restaurant).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget to take a tour to Chichen Itza, and the nearby Cenote, they are an experience of a lifetime (and the tour can be arranged through Orbitz).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 15, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

Great vacation, wonderful hotel and staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top