$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 5, 2009

When you stay at RIU, stay at a Palace!

I have stayed at a RIU hotel on THREE occasions so far. TWO of my experiences where at the "Palace" class of hotels. I have to say if you stay at RIU the Palace is worth the extra money. We walked to the Palace - Mexico down the road. Also very nice. This one is a close walk to Playa though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Playa. There are tons of shops and restaurants. If you are lazy you can get a cab for $50 pesos ($4-5 USD)

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverview, *
Jun 7, 2008

RIU Palace Maya Riviera

The hotel is VERY nice... one of the most beautiful properties I've ever visited. We went around taking pictures - not a bad shot anywhere. We were very late arriving for our checkin, as our flight was more than 4 hours delayed. Given the hour (> 11pm their time) we were tired and just wanted to get to the room. The check-in was very quick and we were on our way within a few minutes. The hotel staff reminded us of the 24-hour room service, if we wanted anything. The 24-hour room service menu is pretty limited so we never used it. The mini-fridge was partially stocked upon our arrival (mostly bottled water and a few soft drinks) but as there was a bar open, we could get a night cap without any problem. The next day, the mini-fridge was stocked with beer and lots of bottled water. As a wine drinker, we went to the bar and asked for a bottle for the room, which they provided without much hesitation. Their wine selection is not terribly extensive, but everything I had was good - I had Spanish white wine most of the time, but my husband tried many of the reds. The food was great. For the specialty restaurants, we ate at the steak house and the brazilian restaurant. Both were excellent. The rest of the time we did the buffet since we weren't positive about our schedules. They were very good. My only disappointment was the desserts at the buffet. They looked gorgeous but didn't taste very good. The mousse cakes were spongy and the chocolate cakes tasted like they'd been frozen and thawed too fast so were like eatting a sponge. I don't know if this was a result of the humidity or something else. After that, I stopped trying. However, since they had ice cream and sherbet every night, I stuck with that. As an aside, the dessert at the Steak house was wonderful - flaming dessert the night we were there. The speciality restaurants require reservation in advance. We didn't have any problems getting in - but you need to know how it worked. The hotel materials tell you what you need to do so sign up. Here's the skinny - you line up a little before noon each day in the lobby bar and can make reservations for a restaurants for 2 different days. There are 2 seatings at each restaurant each night. You generally can't get a reservation for that day, so go one day in advance. However, if there is an opening, you might get in. They limit the number of persons per each seating to about ~50-60 people, so it's good to go early. A few people in the line said the had come later one day and the places were fully booked by 2. Given the line I saw the day I went, I'd say 1. Every restaurant has a menu outside in many languages, so you have ample opportunity to find out if it's your cup of tea before making the reservation. I'd read some about the beaches. The one here is great! However, there is a lot of beach refurbishment from Hurricane Wilma still going on down the way. We took a walk and it was interesting to see how they do it. However, being from Florida, the same thing happens along our shores periodically as well. There were ample chairs - although if you want to sit by the pool and in the sun - you might have limited options. There are umbrellas just about everywhere. The lounge chairs at the beach are really nice. We never had any problems with towels that I'd read some people had. I visited the Spa while I was there. I recommend the Renova massage. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO relaxing. The drinks at all the bars were great - top notch liquor. We've been to some all inclusives where they used really cheap stuff. Not here. The hydro tubs are nice and large. As a tall person, I was amazed I could stretch my legs out in it. The staff is always working on the property - so it's always nice. Our only downside was the night we checked in - I couldn't open the slider door as it was off the track. Since the same thing happens at home with ours, my husband was able to put it back on in about 5...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Nice change from Chichen Itza = smaller, more jungle.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove
Sep 30, 2008

great service

The resort was amazing. I was impressed with the hotel itself it was beautilful along with the beach. I have never seen anything like it. The service was exceptional I have never experienced such care and attention. It was worth every penny... The only thing I wasnt so pleased with was the food for the buffet I was expecting more authentic food. The pool was great along with all the bars. The drinks were always made to my liking. It was the best vacation I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you do the Jungle tour in Rivera Maya its a little bit of everything.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Keg
Business
Denver Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Awesome Accomodations

Rui Palace is one of the best hotels in mexico, we have been to several and have finally found what we where looking for, the rooms very clean, service EXCELLENT, the resturants and buffet had a huge variety and was very good for the taste. Overall I would rate this hotel stay a 5 star and do plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

water recreation awesome

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A2, Jaybird, A0 (nicknames we made their
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 15, 2011

BEST RESORT BY FAR! YOU MUST EXPERIENCE

Spectacular Service, Phenomenal Resort, The most Beautiful Brach!!!!!! Everything about this place was 5-stars. SOOOO many activities (water sports, sight seeing like crazy, zip lining, tours, Mayan Ruins on an island right on a beach, and much much more) I can't tell you what a GREAT place this was. Hands down the best place I've been to and I have been to many. Go their and I whole heartedly believe you will NOT regedit. SUPER SUPER SAFE!!!!!!!!!!![*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Min taxi drive to the downtown city life 30 Club/Bars in 3 blocks with awesome Restaurants in-between!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin Texas
Sep 10, 2009

Great place for paradise

This is a great place to stay on your vacation. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and their staff is very helpful and waits on you hand and foot. I felt like royalty staying in this hotel. The location is great and right down the street from Playa del Carmen. I can't express enough about how beautiful the beaches here were. I was always able to find a lounge chair on the beach. The only bad thing I can say about this place is because all the halls are tile it can make it a little noisy. I could hear doors closing and people coming down the hall. The buffets were good. I wish they served more Mexican food and sometimes the food was a little cold, but there was always a great selection and you could tell they used a lot of care in preperation and presentation. I will definately go back to this hotel next time I visit and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your shopping in Playa del Carmen instead of Playacar. You will find better deals for way cheaper. It's a short ride or you can pay $5 for a cab from the hotel or you can walk 10-15 min into town

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uaprincess
Business
Coralville, IA
Sep 30, 2009

Romantic getaway

This is the best trip I have ever taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Jun 16, 2008

Excellent!

This hotel had everything you could ever want. Plenty of restaurants to eat, lovely rooms, spa, pool, beach and much more. They even provided entertainment to keep you active and having fun every day. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone. It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go outside the main entrance and take a left. After a short walk you will see a mall on the right with tons of shops.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nezahualcoyotl
Sep 20, 2008

Excelent value

RIU Palace Riviera Maya is a great and beautiful hotel. Architecture is very nice, but specially loved the staff, the friendliness & the beach. Additionally you can just get on a 2-km walk and get downtown in Playa del Carmen. I really recommend it!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping & entertainment at your fingertips.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Cat
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 27, 2010

Beautiful Place, Excellent Service

I stayed at the Hotel the whole time I was there. The Resort is located about 55-65 [km] Southwest of Cancun Airport. I personally rented a car on this occasion but I had friends that booked themselves with a van that drove them from the resort to and from the airport which is very convenient and safe (I heard they have GPS tracking each van). I will definitely do so next time I go down there. Driving isn't a hassle if you choose to rent a car because there is only one main highway and that's the one that takes you directly to the resort. As for those party go-ers the town of Playa del Carmen has very few places to go to for clubbing and bars. Most of the activity I saw was more in the surrounding resorts at the Playacar complex where the Riu Riviera Maya Palace is located. If you want more adventure, you can catch a ferry to Cozumel which is walking distance from the resort so its a great place, location and activity wise. I highly recommend it. A great place to take the family and experience paradise. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top