$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
462 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George N
Tampa, FL
Mar 7, 2011

Fantastic Experience!

We have traveled extensively internationally in many 5 star resorts, but this one should get 6 or even 7 stars. The site is MAGNIFICENT, like being in your own estate or castle! The dining couldn't be better even if you had a private chef. The main restaurant served numerous buffets for each meal with anything and everything anyone could desire. The service was OVER THE TOP. These employees are not only happy and enthusiastic to provide you with fantastic service, but are truly sincere and treat you like a millionaire and better. We couldn't have asked for a better place or better anything if we could dream of the most elaborate experience. If you plan on a trip to the Cancun area, this is the ONLY PLACE you will need to go to. A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME and we will return several times per year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Menu and food were better than first class. Like having a private chef!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport
Aug 30, 2008

Very Relaxing

My wife and I vacationed here for five days and is was fantastic. Rooms and hotel was very clean. Food was good. Beach was nice and the staff was very helpful. I would definetly recommend this hotel. There were the occasional beach salesmen but they left you alone after first estate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parker
Jun 5, 2008

Great place to vacation

My family and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is truly a 5 star facility. The ocean and beaches were beautiful. The service is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

All types of water sports are available at the hotel.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jpowers
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Outstanding Hotel

Hotel was great. Noting was out of place and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy but we did enjoy it. It was tough to sit through the children entertainment before the main show. The mexican tootsie roll and chicken dance songs are stuck in my head and found myself whistling them in the airport on the way home! We found all the food to be top notch. No complaints other than we ate too much food. [...] met us our first morning and helped us setup our trips which included the Bonaza Horse Rides. We also had a snoreling trip setup in Cazumel. It was cancelled due to rough conditions with the wind blowing from the mainland to Cazumel. They called our room at 730am to cancel the trip which was nice because we were just getting up to get ready to catch the ferry over to Cozumel. One word of advice, we wouldn't recommend the snorkling trip thats offered at the hotel. Equipment was not very good, visibility was poor, and they loaded us in extremely dangerous surf conditions. I saw a good portion of the underside of the boat as it went over a wave and then I had to swim to the boat before the next wave. It was very dangerous and I consider myself to be a good swimer. This was the same day the snoreling trip in Cazumel was cancelled. The guide at the hotel said it was very calm on the mainland side which we foundout the hard way was not the case. There were waves breaking very close to where we were snorkeling. When the guide saw me at the pool he asked me how it was. I told him I wasn't impressed and thought they loaded us in extremely dangerous conditions. He just laughed and said it was part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend Bonanza Horse Rides. The guides - [...] and [...] were extremely friendly and took at least 25-30 pictures of us on our horses as we rode on a jungle trail and along a private beach. Horses don't go in the water but view was beautiful. 2 hour trip was a perfect length.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIU Palace Playa del Carmen
Richmond VA
Jul 8, 2010

RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa del Carmen

The best hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 25, 2007

Excellent Get-Away

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was all about service! The staff was the was only too eager to help in any way. The rooms are all suites and very comfortable. All inclusive meals were excellent. Options to use the facilities at the other Riu Hotels in Riviera Maya were also given to guests. Men, don't expect to be able to have your evening meal in your golf shorts, you are expected to wear long pants. You will be going to bed hungry if you are not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great outdoor shopping mall for local souvenirs

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Very Relaxing!

The Riu Palace was beautiful! Our room was comfortable and we loved the balconey and sitting area. Our view overlooked gardens, fountains, and the pool and ocean. The staff was friendly and always willing to help or provide any kind of service. The dining was wonderful wether at the buffet or in restaurants at the resort. We especially enjoyed Asian night when sushi was served. We also enjoyed the steak and lobster tail. They have made many repairs to the beach area that was destroyed by huricanes. So walking the beach was relaxing and enjoyable. The only disruption to our relaxation was teenagers on spring break. However, the hotel management made accomodations for our disruption. We will definately return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was just down the street. Cute shops. You can also take a cab to Playa del Carmen where there is a greater variety of shops with more authentic mexican items. Some good deals on jewelry.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Rock
Aug 31, 2008

Good value in Playacar

Overall, staying at the RIU Palace Maya Riveria was a very pleasant experience. Positives include: very friendly and accommodating staff, nice pool & beach, decent spa/gym, good food, big rooms, well kept and clean. Negatives include: not a very comfortable bed, limited lunch options, gym is very small and no free weights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NavyMR
Kingsland, GA
May 19, 2011

Awesome Vacation

This Hotel was the greatest ever! Family Friendly, Staff was wonderful, Food was great, Location great for trips, Nothing bad to say about it. One word to discribe it "EXCEPTIONAL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Give small tips (1 or 2 dollars) to wait staff and perpare for the best treatment of your life

Back to menu Return to top