$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug and Lisa W.
Business
Elkhorn, WI
Feb 17, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

This was our first trip to Mexico and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The resort was beautiful, the staff very friendly, and the food and drinks were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leverett
Business
Springfield, IL
Apr 2, 2008

excellent

this is the 2nd time we have been at the RIU Palace and we love it. We would recommend it to anyone. The food was great, people were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown Playa Del Carmen is only 10 blocks from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great getaway

This is a great resort...the service was excellent and the food was very good. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were quite nice. My only complaint was the bed...it was way to hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa De Carmen was a 10 minute walk. 5th Ave is a great place to go shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 4, 2008

RIU palace

The resort was very nice, I am not sure if it is worth the extra to stay at the palace. I also was dissappointed in the beach as there were large sandbags, like beached whales, in the water to prevent further beach erosion. Food in the buffets was excelent. There were not many college spring breakers there also, this was a bonus to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there are many things to do within 30 minutes of playa del carmen. we went sailing, fourwheeling in the jungle to a cenote, snorkeling, and it was convenient to walk to shuttle to visit cozumel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Excelent hotel, location and service.

This hotel is appropriately named a 'Palace'. The lobby and courtyard are impressive. We stayed in a double room with a 8 month old (crib provided). Room was great, marble everywhere, and clean. 24/7 room service, four bottles of liqueur and fridge refiled daily. Pool is very impressive (but you need to throw a towel early in the morning to reserve a good seat). Entertainers keep the pool party going, BBQ, good bands, five bars, three restaurants, gym, jacuzzi, hammocks by the palm trees, a LOT of food, buffets and since you have your RIU bracelet that you got at the check-in you can enter other four RIU hotels nearby and use their services (few minute walk on the street or beach). Location: security closed down street with a mix of private villas and hotels. Good for jogging. 5 minute walk to a nice shopping place (go left) or 15-20min to the town (go right), or walk through the beach. A lot of stores in the town. Few city blocks. You need few hours there. Go in the evening. We felt very safe there. A lot of people with say 'Ola' to you and if you have a baby don't be surprised if they come up to you and touch her a bit and throw a smile. Just something you need to accept if you are not used to this but they always mean well. Minor issues: nightly entertainment is until 11pm (good or bad) so if you have rooms facing the courtyard it is a bit loud. Get rooms as close to the reception if you want the quiet (or even not facing the courtyard but you'll miss the view). Drinks are a bit on the cheap side, but sort of standard at all inclusive hotels. No umbrellas on the beach but there are lots of palm trees between the beach and the hotel. Stay to the right side of the shore away from the smelly jet ski(ugh!) And be careful with the bathroom hot water -it gets scolding hot fast! Overall, you can't get better value for the money. The Palace is impressive, and people are friendly and very hard working. Last thing, it's more for a more mature crowd so don't expect college parties there. I've been to many hotels and few vacation spots in the past and this one definitely deserves five stars. Enjoy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask around. There are representatives from several agencies in the hotel lobby every day. Come up and ask, and there are couple more booths in the Plaza shopping center offering various trips (go left out of hotel, 5 min walk).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 7, 2009

Simply Excellent

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is probably the best resort I've been too. The resort was practically spotless. Everywhere you turned, someone was cleaning something. There was so much attention to detail. The beach and pool are amazing. The food was great too. The staff is super friendly and professional. The resort is a short walk to Playa del Carmen and its in a very safe location. You can't go wrong with this resort. I highly recommend it for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2008

Solid Hotel

We stayed here for 9 days in September, and over all it was great. 99% of the staff were friendly, and the few that were not didnt impact the trip. The pool bar was great, the lobby bar was great, and the 24 hour sports bar was pretty good, the food was ok, nothing fabulous, but fine. The town near by was a great time, and we had dinner 3 times in different restaurants to make up for the mediocare food at the Palace...over all I would give it a b+ and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to town, it was a 20 min walk or a 5 dollar cab, and was WELL worth it, safe, good bars,and good eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elkton, VA
Oct 8, 2008

Wonderful Resort

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything that we could want in a resort and more. From check-in to check-out, service was fantastic. We received a free upgrade to ocean-front room. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out, nice large bathroom with double sinks. Drink service was exceptional everywhere with the exception of the beach, where service was nonexistent. At the pool and bars, you rarely had an empty drink in your hand. All of the employees were friendly and maid service was provided twice a day. The food was excellent in the buffets. We went to 2 ala cartes, the Steakhouse and the Brazilion. We actually preferred the dinner buffet over the ala cartes. The pool and beach were beautiful, no complaints whatsoever. There were plenty of loungers and shade by the pool and beach. There were also hammocks to lounge in. We enjoyed the 24 hour sports bar where you could always find drinks and snacks. The grounds and hotel were beautiful and you always saw people cleaning at all hours of the day. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone (except maybe those with kids since there were not many kids here). I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson, *
Jul 4, 2008

What an awesome experience!!!!

WOW! What an awesome vacation! I took my son and two of his friends (all 18 years old) following their graduation and we had an incredible time! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated with the best service. Everyone was always happy to help in any way and the service was impeccable! The rooms were very clean - Just the beds were a bit firm, however, they very quickly brought up a mattress pad, which helped a lot. The area is very family friendly with people of all ages joining in on all the various activities, so you were never without something to do (unless you wanted to it that way). The boys had a blast parasailing, swimming, kayaking, beach volleyball, tennis, pool activities, and of course, the beach!). The food was very tasty. We preferred the buffet (lots of variety), but the steak dinner was good also. There is a little shopping area about a 10 minute walk that you can go to, but various vendors come and display things in the courtyard, so you really don't have to go anywhere! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACk!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Snellville, GA
Oct 5, 2008

Fabulous getaway

My husband and I went to this RIU for 4 nights as a quick getaway in the fall. What a fabulous time. The wait staff was incredible. We went with another couple and had a gret time. The bar was so much fun, a piano player every evening, then out to the patio to listen to live music before our dinner reservations. By the way like the way you make those reservations now - no longer getting up at crack of dawn while on vacation - just go to the bar at noon. The specialty restaurants were all great except one - and that was ok, because I went to the regular resataurant instead and had a fabulous meal there. No matter where I sat there was always some polite staff ready to get me a drink or serve me. The poolside bar was convenient and the outside dining was wonderful, we never even made it out to an outside establishment because we had so much fun here!! The location was great in Playacar an exclusive area and a short walk to downtown for some local shoppping. I needed the exercise after all that eating and drinking! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top