$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 20, 2009

Exceeded Expectaions!

We took full advantage of all that was offered within the hotel, and then some. Lots of water sports, jet skis, snorkle, scuba, catamarans...GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An unbeatable value, but not a short cut anywhere. you often find shortcuts in some areas, but not here and not with RIU!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Very Relaxing!

The Riu Palace was beautiful! Our room was comfortable and we loved the balconey and sitting area. Our view overlooked gardens, fountains, and the pool and ocean. The staff was friendly and always willing to help or provide any kind of service. The dining was wonderful wether at the buffet or in restaurants at the resort. We especially enjoyed Asian night when sushi was served. We also enjoyed the steak and lobster tail. They have made many repairs to the beach area that was destroyed by huricanes. So walking the beach was relaxing and enjoyable. The only disruption to our relaxation was teenagers on spring break. However, the hotel management made accomodations for our disruption. We will definately return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was just down the street. Cute shops. You can also take a cab to Playa del Carmen where there is a greater variety of shops with more authentic mexican items. Some good deals on jewelry.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail
Jun 18, 2008

Great for a romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed at this resort for our 5 year anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful and we had a great time. We loved the pool area, you have your choice of the smaller infinity pool or the larger pool with the swim up bar and lounge chairs. The beach is incredible and the resort offers a ton to do right there at the shore. They have an entertainment team which provide things like water aerobics, beach volleyball, stuff for the kids, etc. which gave us some things to do. The location is great, there are a few other Riu hotels within walking distance that you can go check out and the town is only a $5 cab ride and they have over 14 blocks of shopping. We went parasailing and also did the Tulum Extreme Adventure package which we highly recommend! The only things we were a little disappointed in were the beds (kind of hard), the shower (really low water pressure and a touchy thermostat) and the fitness center (not air conditioned enough). This hotel is an awesome value for the money-we will be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 5th Avenue shopping center is not that far away, it took us about 25 minutes to walk there or its a $5 cab ride. Don't be overcharged by a cab company... they are all supposed to be a flat rate of $5 to and from the town. Be careful!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 15, 2008

Friendly

The Palace Riviera Maya hotel was like living in a beautiful palace. The room was always clean. Their hospitality and friendliness was above 100%. The food in their various restaurants was also delicious and adequate for all appetites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The town of Playa del Carmen was within a nice walk (20-25 minutes) and there were many shops to choose from to buy jewelry, as well as various restaurants to eat in.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampico, TM
Oct 1, 2008

Great place

Very nice hotel, the dinner options superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations just arriving. Go to the 5th Avenue day and night.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Business
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The four amigos
Business
Sparta, NC
Apr 14, 2009

Two couples having fun

The resort was beautiful. Could not believe how clean they kept the rooms and the grounds. The specialty restaurants were ok, but with the buffet you really didn't need to waste your time with reservations. Nightly entertainment was good and the staff was outstanding. Pool and beach were both great. The massage on the beach was very relaxing. The Orbitz rep at the hotel was very helpful, set us up on a great tour with alltournativetours, we had a wonderful time on the Tulum tour with the zipline and cenyote swim. Hope to return real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to 5th ave. for shopping. Try the Tulum tour, it's alot of fun.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmette, IL
Jun 17, 2009

Love this resort!

This fabulous resort is located in the Playacar exclusive resort area. It is described as the Beverly Hills of Mexico. The area is secure and within walking distance to the 5th Ave. "downtown" area. Although you won't want to leave the resort. The food was fantastic, the service amazing, the pool and beach were perfect - I cannot say enough good things about the resort layout, appearance, quality and value for your hard earned money. Best part - champagne is available at the resort 24/7 as part of the all inclusive. We were on our honeymoon and now want to be "snow birds" in Playa del Carmen when we retire. The area is beautiful and there is lots to do. Cannot go wrong with a vacation at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret is a must for any vacation to Playa del Carmen. The underground river and swimming in the natural pools was fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top