$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portsmouth
Nov 22, 2008

Great all-around hotel

The staff was very friendly and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Playa del Carmen for shopping and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uaprincess
Coralville, IA
Sep 30, 2009

Romantic getaway

This is the best trip I have ever taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Downers Grove
Sep 30, 2008

great service

The resort was amazing. I was impressed with the hotel itself it was beautilful along with the beach. I have never seen anything like it. The service was exceptional I have never experienced such care and attention. It was worth every penny... The only thing I wasnt so pleased with was the food for the buffet I was expecting more authentic food. The pool was great along with all the bars. The drinks were always made to my liking. It was the best vacation I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you do the Jungle tour in Rivera Maya its a little bit of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin Texas
Sep 10, 2009

Great place for paradise

This is a great place to stay on your vacation. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and their staff is very helpful and waits on you hand and foot. I felt like royalty staying in this hotel. The location is great and right down the street from Playa del Carmen. I can't express enough about how beautiful the beaches here were. I was always able to find a lounge chair on the beach. The only bad thing I can say about this place is because all the halls are tile it can make it a little noisy. I could hear doors closing and people coming down the hall. The buffets were good. I wish they served more Mexican food and sometimes the food was a little cold, but there was always a great selection and you could tell they used a lot of care in preperation and presentation. I will definately go back to this hotel next time I visit and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your shopping in Playa del Carmen instead of Playacar. You will find better deals for way cheaper. It's a short ride or you can pay $5 for a cab from the hotel or you can walk 10-15 min into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
River Grove
Jun 16, 2008

Greatest value around

In having quite a bit of travel experience, the RIU Palace Riviera Maya really was the greatest value around. Location, location, location, we were close enough to walk into the downtown playa del carmen shopping area, roughly a 15 minute walk. Also, in being part of the RIU chain of hotels, we were able to walk around to the other hotels and have drinks and snacks at other RIU hotels and we were so happy with our decision with picking 'the palace,' that we decided that our hotel really was called 'the palace' for a reason. We had seen enough and decided that we could really just stay at our hotel for everything. We got massages that were just perfectly relaxing, exactly what was needed. All of the staff were very pleasant, the chandeleirs in the lobby were beautiful, the room was so clean, the fountains and pools were picture perfect even though the weather didn't hold up its end of the bargain, the entire trip was great! The restaurants and the buffet was all so delicious and fresh, so much so, that my very 'picky husband' gained 10 pounds on our 7 night stay! Please don't forget to reserve dinner at the very authentic Japanese restaurant. This hotel really was worth every penny, it was the 'greatest value around.'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel seemed to be centrally located, where at night you could easily see the beautiful lights of Cozumel. I'd say it was definitely a short walk, about 15 minutes, to great shopping values in the playa del carmen shopping-souveneirs area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A2, Jaybird, A0 (nicknames we made their
Detroit, MI
Jun 15, 2011

BEST RESORT BY FAR! YOU MUST EXPERIENCE

Spectacular Service, Phenomenal Resort, The most Beautiful Brach!!!!!! Everything about this place was 5-stars. SOOOO many activities (water sports, sight seeing like crazy, zip lining, tours, Mayan Ruins on an island right on a beach, and much much more) I can't tell you what a GREAT place this was. Hands down the best place I've been to and I have been to many. Go their and I whole heartedly believe you will NOT regedit. SUPER SUPER SAFE!!!!!!!!!!![*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Min taxi drive to the downtown city life 30 Club/Bars in 3 blocks with awesome Restaurants in-between!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AustinChick
Austin, TX
Oct 7, 2012

RIU Palace Riviera Maya consistenly great!

We have stayed here many times. Once again, had a fabulous stay. Our room was at the end of the last building facing the ocean. What a view! It's so nice to sit on the balcony in the early evening and watch Cozumel light up. As usual - food was great, staff is friendly and helpful, room was cleaned early each day and we were greeted with towel art everyday on the bed. My only room negative would be the bed. I didn't have a problem, but my husband woke up each morning with severe pain in his back. Same problem on prior trips. It would be great if they could replace the mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Prepare for rainy days. Bring cards or anything that you can fit in your luggage. It's nice to sit in the lobby and have a way to occupy your time instead of sitting in the room and watching tv.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Beach and pool are truly exceptional!!

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya, is a very beautiful hotel with accomadting staff. The beach area & pool are exceptional. The only slight complaint, would be the food. The buffets aren't all that great. And trying to secure a reservation for the dining rooms can be tedious. However, the drinks are worth it!! I would definetly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Playa de Carmen had quite a few Nightclubs and lounges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shann yshoo
Mendon,Mass
Jul 30, 2014

Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty restraunts our favorite being the steak house. The beach is fantastic!!!!! Views are spectacular, it's alittle slice of heaven. Wishing we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as soon as you get there. You can make reseveration from 12-3 everyday in the main lobby across from the lobby bar. People get there by 11:30 so get there early it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top