$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
289 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whats up man
Business
San Antonio
Aug 9, 2013

RIU PALACE INCREDIBLE!!!!!

ONE WORD AMAZING!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. WORTH EVERY PENNY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
Business
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun and Fun Traveler
Business
Lincoln, California
Nov 21, 2013

Excellent Hotel

As it is not a five star hotel, this hotel comes very close to the five star rating. The food here is excellent and has such variety each day that it amazed us how they did it. It seems they have stepped up their quality, taste, service to completely take care of its clientele in all areas. You could not ask for more. We enjoyed our stay as it has been our third time and will continue to come each year. Kudo's to the staff!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the show at Xcaret and enjoy the park all day!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Business
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona69
Business
warren, nj
May 28, 2014

Dream vacation

Everthing was picture perfect, from service to location. Would definitely recommend and return. It's like a dream come true. Recommended for people of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping deals on 5th ave . Fifteen minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abbotsford
Dec 8, 2008

Doing it right the first time.

The RIU Palace was awesome, it was everything we thought it would be and more. The room was great very posh. Our room attendant always had the room looking new everyday. The beach was beautiful and our waiter out there really charmed my wife. The Palace was close to town, an easy 15 minute stroll. A great full patio with chairs was nice. The food was beyond our expectations as was the service. We saw people with children there and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. We felt we wouldn't bring kids to a place like this. It felt more adult oriented and we liked that. The only thing we didn't like and there isn't anyway to fix it was the ambient noise from the hallways and such. It is all marble floors and tiles so there is no sound absorbion. So someone walking to there room and talking at 3am is right in your room. As is the child at 7am was in yelling down the hall. Other wise we are going back and look forward to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Jun 27, 2011

Great Place!

We had heard great things about all of the Rui Hotels, so we were excited to visit the Rui Palace in Riviera Maya. We definitely recommend this hotel to couples (they had some children activities but not much). The grounds are kept very neat and clean. Be careful walking in the hallways, it seemed as though they cleaned the floors every day. The service at all of the restaurants and bars were exceptional. I definitely recommend [...] he is one of the head servers in the patio area. He provided the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel or restaurant. Beach was gorgeous and clean, plenty of chairs to relax in. The bar at the pool was nice as well. Unfortunately though the bar closes at 6pm. They should keep it open later since it stays light out well after 6pm (one of the few negatives). Rooms were spacious and clean as well. I'm a picky eater so I wasn't too impressed with the food, but my husband said the food was great with a good variety at the buffet. Need reservations at the other restaurants on site which is another negative. When we're on vacation we definitely don't like being on a schedule but we made it work. We would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and the Rui Palace to anyone looking for a romantic, nice, high quality place for a honeymoon or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor park and ATVs at Punta Venado were so much fun!! We definitely recommend!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeann Loves Mexico
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2009

Perfect retreat for anyone

We have chosen to stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya three times now and we keep coming back because it is dependably perfect every time. We love the pool, enjoy the shows, couldn't ask for better service from the staff and feel like it is a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best restaurant on site is Krystal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Loved Mexico
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 1, 2011

Excellent Time, Better than Remembered!

We were traveling with our nine month old boy for the first time and knew that the Riu Palace (Riviera Maya) was kid friendly, but it went above and beyond our expectations. We chose to stay put at the resort for the week and had a great time on the beach, by and in the pool, and at the dinners and shows. The staff (and other guests) consistently went out of their way to provide a level of service that was second to none. We were able to do the fancier dinners as well as the buffet every night without any concerns as to whether our son would be able to also enjoy being at dinner while either eating or sleeping. We would highly recommend this resort to young or old couples; groups of friends, and those with small children; particularly babies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top