$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
F-J
Business
Windsor, ON
Jun 1, 2011

Great Time!

This was our first time in Mexico and loved it! The hotel is right on the Caribbean Sea and they have an awesome pool with swim-up bar. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was wonderful as well as the lunch buffet which was located close to the pool for easy access. They have a 24-hour Sports Bar which included the all-inclusive alcoholic drinks, along with burgers, hotdogs, nachos, a few desserts and salads in a fridge with a microwave near by to warm up and eat in the bar or in your room. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice with included alcohol and mixers in the mini-fridge, coffee maker, safe, and view of the garden area. Overall a wonderful hotel and amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you would like to book the specialty restaurants for dinner, definitely do so as soon as possible as the reservations fill up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Coyote
Business
London, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Summer getaway

I have stayed at many all inclusives on the Mayan Riviera so think I have a good appreciation on rating a resort. The location, service, facilities, beach and dining were all outstanding. The only negative was that the bed was a little on the hard side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SARITA
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Excellent week in paradise

We spent a week at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya and we enjoyed every minute of our trip. We always do all inclusive vacations so I have many hotels to compare it to. The food was definitely one of the best we have had. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. They never make you feel like you're bothering them and they are constantly asking if you need anything. TIP THEM! They work extremely hard and deserve every penny. They aren't expecting tips so when they get them you will benefit from it. Santos, the head of the wait staff, is amazing and made our trip amazing. He went out of his way to make sure we were always happy. Our room and the entire hotel is immaculate. Pool bar is a great, fun atmosphere and the beach is beautiful. Go into town, 5th ave, and enjoy all the shops and even some good deals on "cervesa's"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jilla
Business
Riu Palace Riviera Maya,Playa Del Carmen
Nov 7, 2011

The Riu

Absolutely loved everything about the Riu Palace Riviera Maya! I read reviews where people said the resort was dirty, not so. The staff work constantly to keep the resort spotless. The 5 restaurants where you have to make a reservation are outstanding! The buffet in the morning was ok, but nothing is ever like home. I would go back in a heartbeat. This trip went way too fast. As far as going to a Riu resort again I will without a doubt check another one out!. I think they are great! Oh, as far as the smell people have mentioned, I did notice it in one hallway for one day and never smelled it again. Give Riu a try I don't think you will be sorry unless you are hard to please in any way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the reservation desk by noon and make two at a time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
derosh
Business
Holly, MI 48442, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Very Happy Travelers

Stayed 9 nights, could of easily stayed longer. Every day as relaxing and enjoyable as the next. Food is excellent, staff even better. Grounds are very well kept, beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ankeny John
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 1, 2012

We will go back, and take other family with us!

Truly a wonderful experience for our family (daughter 19 and son 15) from the moment we entered until we left. Facilities, Food, and most importantly THE PEOPLE at RIU Riviera Palace were absolutely fantastic. Never once had any cuisine issues and every person we met was warm and welcoming. Rooms were sparkling clean daily and mini suite aspect was perfect amount of space. We are planning another trip and including about 10 additional family members next time. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each restaurant was exceptional. Check on Reservation process as soon as you arrive as several theme restaurants fill early. Don't worry though main restaurant "Don Manolo" was flawless and doesn't require any reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bustopher
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Top Notch Experience

Everything was great - good food, good drinks, good sevice, good weather. This was our fifth time visiting this same resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't let them tell you you can only make reservations for two nights - if you follow those rules you won't be able to visit all of the resorts! The gourmet restaurant is my favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Jo
Business
Edinboro, PA 16412, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Pleased with Playa Del Carmen!

The hotel was beautiful. The beach was clean. The food was good but could use a little more variety in the buffet offerings at lunch. I would go back again. I loved being able to walk to a town to shop. The nightlife in town was wonderful but at the hotel it was somewhat lacking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen is like Bourbon Street in New Orleans. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denny B
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Very good hotel

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at a Riu Palace Hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are ample size with a seating area and a balcony with seating. The grounds are beautiful. The pool and beach area is very nice. The food is good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

15-20 minute walk to Playa del Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top