$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport
Aug 30, 2008

Very Relaxing

My wife and I vacationed here for five days and is was fantastic. Rooms and hotel was very clean. Food was good. Beach was nice and the staff was very helpful. I would definetly recommend this hotel. There were the occasional beach salesmen but they left you alone after first estate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

outstanding

We have stayed here previously and come back for the outstanding service and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chestnut Hill
Jun 14, 2008

Great Place

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and constantly maintained. Everything was perfect. I stayed 8 nights and the only downside was the reservations (which no one shows up for) at the resteraunts are annoying to make and you get sick of the resort food on extended stays. However, 5th ave is a short walk away and has great dining options mroe than cheaply priced for even the best ones. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 20, 2009

Exceeded Expectaions!

We took full advantage of all that was offered within the hotel, and then some. Lots of water sports, jet skis, snorkle, scuba, catamarans...GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An unbeatable value, but not a short cut anywhere. you often find shortcuts in some areas, but not here and not with RIU!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!

I just got back from a one week stay at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya, and had an amazing time. We loved everything about this place from the lobby to the beach. The staff was so friendly, everything was always so clean, the food was awesome. It was such a relaxing trip, and we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the lobby and go left there is a small shopping area a couple of minutes away, and if you go to the right and walk about 15-20 minutes you will be on 5th avenue, a big area of shopping bars, and restaurants.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humble
Dec 19, 2008

Very friendly atmosphere

The hotel services were excellent. Dining was fabulous and went out of their way to please you. The hotel staff were always very pleasant and go out of their way to make sure your stay was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every kind of shop that you would require. Also plenty of cafe's etc...

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dracut
Jun 7, 2008

Great place to stay

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was a great place to relax and enjoy some time off. My wife and I had a great time, the food was great, the drinks were refreshing and the people were excellent. We especially liked the nighttime entertainment, however, it's not Vegas, so go in with an open mind and you'll have alot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Little town of Playacar is nearby, about a 15 minute walk or a $5 cab ride. Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to go to. If taking a cab, just tell the driver Quinta Avenida (5th Avenue) and he'll get you there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack1147
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nana margarita
Southern Minnesota
Mar 5, 2014

GREAT VACATION

We have been doing all inclusive vacations for 11 years now, and this was the best food ever. We stayed in the same resort in the Dominican, it was good but this was the best. The location is 20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen and the beaches are very nice for taking long walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you spend most of your day, at the beach or pool, ask for a room closer to the pool.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Abbotsford
Dec 8, 2008

Doing it right the first time.

The RIU Palace was awesome, it was everything we thought it would be and more. The room was great very posh. Our room attendant always had the room looking new everyday. The beach was beautiful and our waiter out there really charmed my wife. The Palace was close to town, an easy 15 minute stroll. A great full patio with chairs was nice. The food was beyond our expectations as was the service. We saw people with children there and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. We felt we wouldn't bring kids to a place like this. It felt more adult oriented and we liked that. The only thing we didn't like and there isn't anyway to fix it was the ambient noise from the hallways and such. It is all marble floors and tiles so there is no sound absorbion. So someone walking to there room and talking at 3am is right in your room. As is the child at 7am was in yelling down the hall. Other wise we are going back and look forward to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search