$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 25, 2007

Excellent Get-Away

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was all about service! The staff was the was only too eager to help in any way. The rooms are all suites and very comfortable. All inclusive meals were excellent. Options to use the facilities at the other Riu Hotels in Riviera Maya were also given to guests. Men, don't expect to be able to have your evening meal in your golf shorts, you are expected to wear long pants. You will be going to bed hungry if you are not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great outdoor shopping mall for local souvenirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 11, 2007

Beautiful and very comfortable!

We loved staying at this all inclusive hotel. Everyone was very friendly and went out of your way to please you. We had never been at a more beautiful hotel. The weather was great, the food was delicious, the people friendly, and the price was right. We would recommend this hotel for honeymooners, families with children, and just anyone who wants to get away and relax and have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many attractions to see and excursions to go on in the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2007

Amazing Vacation

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Palace in May, as a break from work, kids, etc. What an amazing resort! The rooms were gorgeous, the staff was friendly, helpful, and well organized. Bar was Top Shelf, and the food was outstanding....from the mimosas at the breakfast buffet (and the chocolate croissants) to the steaks and seafood, every restaurant was classy, served different menus choices, and was never pushy. We're headed to the Palace again in November, and we're taking friends with us this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Riu Tequila for the nightlife...Great Dicso!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey
Aug 12, 2007

Fabulous beach and views

Hotel was gorgeous. Staff was very international and very friendly. Pools were extrmely clean and well kept as well as the beach. Drinks were fabulous and food couldnt have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

other Riu's only a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2007

Quiet-Good for Couples

This was the first time we ever went to Mexico and stayed at the RIU. The holtel was beautiful, the staff friendly, clean, grounds and pool were perfect. The only thing was that the bed was kind of hard and mixed drinks tasted funny, I think it was the juices/sodas. But we found other thinks to drink, the food was quite good and plenty of it. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Olney, IL
Dec 24, 2008

Wonderful place to stay

The hotel was beautiful, staff friendly, and great food. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Tan Thanks to Playa-Janet
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2009

Beautiful, relaxing, simply amazing

Very nice location, the beach was beautiful, the pool was nice and cozy, the staff was very nice, friendly, and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I did a little souvenir shopping on 5th Ave, I would suggest never buying at the price they offer. Always bargain at least half of what they originally tried to sell you your souvenir for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happynewyorker
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2009

Flawless experience

Super friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great spa (look for the combo massage and a facial). Food is good and varied. Walking distance to town and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ultrajewelers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top