$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
281 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 281
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des14
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2014

Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how to provide a great service. The room (junior suite) is large enough to accommodate a king bed and another (rollaway) bed. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and if/whenever we needed anything, the housekeeping person was nearby to take care of it. The pool and the beach were nearby, 1-2 minutes away. We have visited all the specialty restaurants and were quite pleased with the food, but our favorite was the main restaurant Don Manolo's. The hotel is not cheap, but is worth it. We would definitely love to come again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SA Joker
San Antonio
Aug 1, 2014

family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the waiter staff was excellent, the beach was beautiful, the food was great, the drinks are watered down, but you can have as many as you want, there was even a refrigerator stocked with water, soda and beer plus 4 whiskey bottles, the downtown was 10 minutes away,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is great but also make restaurant reservations at the 4 other restaurants at the hotel, it is all inclusive

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shann yshoo
Mendon,Mass
Jul 30, 2014

Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty restraunts our favorite being the steak house. The beach is fantastic!!!!! Views are spectacular, it's alittle slice of heaven. Wishing we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as soon as you get there. You can make reseveration from 12-3 everyday in the main lobby across from the lobby bar. People get there by 11:30 so get there early it's worth it.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrPunky
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2014

Amazing resort

I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts through out the Caribbean and Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya tops them all, especially for the price. The staff at this resort are FABULOUS - all of them. They are so friendly and helpful and always there. I was very impressed with the service at the pool and beach; our drinks barely reached the bottom of the glass before our server was back for another order. Servers in the buffet restaurant as well as in the ala carte restaurants were wonderful: very professional, friendly, and I loved the fact that they all had a wonderful sense of humor. I found the service through out the hotel to be exemplary. Unlike many all-inclusives, the food was excellent - even in the buffet restaurant. Many of the meals we had in the ala carte restaurants would have easily been 40 plus dollar meals at home. I love the location: perfectly situated to downtown Playa, it was a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride and downtown could be accessed via the street or the beach. The beach... It was beautiful! Miles of white powder sand and clear, turquoise water. It was perfect! There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and on the beach. At the pool, an early arrival was necessary for prime chair locations, and one thing that was refreshing was that there were relatively few people "saving" chairs. There are no umbrellas on the beach; however, they really were not necessary because there is an expansive area shaded by palms. The pool was beautiful with a great seating area in the swim up bar area and staff are constantly working to keep the pool clean. The grounds at the resort are beautiful and very clean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was looking a little worn. That's probably the only negative (for lack of a better word) that I can think of. I don't think you can go wrong with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, particularly for the price. It's an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is a vibrant place with some great restaurants. It does, however, get extremely hot downtown (we were there in July). I LOVE heat and humidity, and it was uncomfortable even for me. I would recommend that trips to that area be made in the late afternoon and early evening; it was so much more pleasant.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona69
warren, nj
May 28, 2014

Dream vacation

Everthing was picture perfect, from service to location. Would definitely recommend and return. It's like a dream come true. Recommended for people of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping deals on 5th ave . Fifteen minutes walking distance.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Mamacita
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abhi Agarwal
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2013

Had a great Vacation!

Overall the vacation was awesome. This RIU property was phenomenal. Very nice beach, plenty of beach chairs. Awesome pool. They did run out of clean beach towels towards the ned of the day. Buffet food is quite good. The other restaurants need to be reserved atleast a day in advance. Although, we felt that the buffet food and all the different restaurants had similar food. It may be better to go to other RIU properties to experience a variety. We were with toddlers so buffet worked very well for us. The worst experience for us was the SPA. They charge so much money and don't even have AC in the room. Who wants a sweaty massage?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vbg003
Las Vegas NV
Aug 9, 2013

Good food and excellent service

Hotel is little bit old, we changed it with Riu Palace Mexico. That hotel is very nice just renovated, staff was very friendly. Room floor get very wet but if you keep the AC on 69-70 it's Ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search