$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 282
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorenzo185
Business
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Great vacation

Hotel was beautiful staff was great food was good for all inclusive when they told me room service and everything in the mini bar was free I was shocked because usually you have to pay for that I would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC Jetter
Business
Washington DC
Jul 31, 2014

Rude Management

Management is very rude, especially at the front desk, and especially inflexible. We couldn't even get a half hour late checkout since they claimed that the hotel was full, even though the hotel was not even half occupied judging by the emptiness of the pool, theater, restaurants and beach areas compared to when we first checked in. As frequent travelers this was a first for us, we've even gotten 2 hour late checkouts at Secrets or LeBlanc. Also noteworthy - we're even RIU members, or should I now say former RIU members; this membership provides no benefits at all since you can never use the points as they always claim there's nothing available. We decided to give them a second chance with this booking, our first negative experience was with RIU Peninsula - our flight got canceled due to the snow so we arrived one day late, they were giving us a very hard time giving us the day that we had lost even though the room was available, and again the hotel was at around 50% occupancy, during the heart of winter. The manager even admitted to this but as always blamed it on his manager, and if you speak to him, he'll just blame it on his manager and the chain keeps going...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajiste
Business
santa cruz
Jul 18, 2014

No worries

This is a upgraded offerings for an all-inclusive. That is, everything you'd expect, and occasionally more. Staff were great- almost always courteous in assuring your satisfaction. Buffets were good to better than good. We were disappointed in the Brazilian (much too salty) and Mexican (nothing special) restaurants. Grounds were immaculate. Pool was too noisy for our liking; we found the beach to be more relaxing. Bar service is available at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must reserve restaurants between 12-3 in-person in the lobby. Only 2 reservations at a time, no more than 3 day out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex85
Business
East Texas
Jul 11, 2014

poor start to our hooneymoon

me and my wife decided to go here for our honeymoon as i had already stayed there for a wedding a few years before and really enjoyed the place. Before our trip i was in contact with one of their booking agents trying to see if there were any upgrades we could get with it being our honeymoon. they told me that we could get a room upgrade if we would bring a copy of our marriage license, and we would could also get an early check in. well having been there before i had seen most of the rooms so i booked the suite below what is a Jacuzzi suite. well anyways when we arrived which was early we were told that our room was not ready yet because it was a bigger suite. when they finally got us to the room it was not even a suite it was a standard room above the lobby. after telling them that that was not even what we had booked they showed us another room, same thing, finally they showed us to a small suite and tried to tell me the room I was describing did not exist. well the bell boy as he was taking our bags says to me i know which rooms youre talking about and shows us that suite. however they would not let us upgrade even though that suite was not used while we were there. Anyways after this long first day of being lied to we ended making the best of this situation. In all honesty this place is a nice and clean resort with good food but is run pretty poorly. Expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just and Happily Married
Business
Iowa
Jun 22, 2014

Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food was exceptional! They even made special order for any meal you had at Don Malano's. The only down side is that it was June and to eat at the Japanese restaurant men have to have a long sleeve shirt and dress pants to wear to dinner. And you must have reservations. We picked up a shirt while we were there and the place was booked out for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th ave in Playa de Carmen is just a few minute drive from the hotel. We got a cab there and back. Walked around, took photos and shopped a little. They also have a Myan show in the evening if you're interested in watching that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Business
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Business
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Business
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Business
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjustme123 love Mexico
Business
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top