$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOURKEY
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Absolutely Incredible

We relaxed. The hotel staff made sure we relaxed. the facilities were amazing. I am not a big fan of All inclusive vacations, as it usually invites an over-consuming, loud and onbonoxious crowd where you have to fight for cheap liquor and run of the mill buffets. RIU PALACE changed my perspective with a classy European crowd, top shelf liquor that actually was served to you constantly, great shows at night and many different ala carte restaurants aside from the buffet and an incredible buffet. the best service I have seen in a long time, including stays at four Seasons, Ritz and alike hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

GREAT! 9:45 PM every night and throughout the day many activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yuma
Dec 27, 2008

Outstanding Vacation Resort

Beside the beauty of the resort, it's amenities and it's on the beautiful beach location, the staff was exceptional and the service impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The pleasant without the upscale price town of Playa del Carmen had plenty of shops and restaurants/bars for entertainment. Friendly people and only about a 15 minute walk from our resort. PERFECT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, *
Aug 4, 2008

Relaxing, Fun Time

Hotel was clean, service was excellent and pool/beach was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is very fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 5, 2008

Great for relaxation

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is right by the hotel. And it is very clean. If I have to say something bad about this hotel, then I have to say the food is a little disappointed. I stayed in this hotel for 5 days, the lunch has almost the same kind of food everyday. The food in the Japanese restaurant only look like Japanese food. The Mexican and Brazilian restaurants are just OK. The Sir Olivier is pretty good. However, the oven was broken on the night we were there. Therefore, the dessert is not OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fifth Avenue is the area of shopping. It took us 20 minutes to walk there under the heat. It is better to take the cab for $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ElDorado Hills CA
Jul 21, 2010

Awsome, It's paradise

For an all inclusive the food was fantastic. Walk the beach and look at all the other resorts and relize you are staying at the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ca
Nov 23, 2008

Comfortable and very friendly

From the moment we set eyes on the hotel, Riu Palace Maya Riviera Playa del Carmen, we were already impressed. The frontage lives us to its name. It's like a palace. The lobby is nicely decorated. Most of all, the staff is very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the fridge is well stacked with all the drinks and cocktails. The dining and restaurants are well suited to our taste and there are large varieties of food to choose from. The bar by the pool and very close to the beach was really fantastic. We would recommend this to others and we would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to downtown and not pay the $5 taxi fare. Just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 27, 2008

The best service money can buy

This resort is what any tourist would wish for. The service was second to none. I mean they cleaned our room twice each day. The place was well kept and cleaned on a regular basis.I will rate this Hotel a 4.8 out of 5. One suggestionis they should offer bedroon slipper along with the bath robes that they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the town to catch the ferry to go to Cossumel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grants Pass, oregon
Sep 14, 2009

Wonderful vacation and family wedding!

We went there for our daughter's wedding. We had the best time. This was our first real vacation and can't wait to do it again. Went to Chichen Itza, it was awesome. It's a long drive but well worth it. The snorkeling is great. Very inexpensive and lots of fun. We also went to Tulum, which isn't too far away. You can not go to Mexico and not visit the ruins. Our room was fabulous. It was clean, slightly musty but that's normal. The staff treated us great. Very friendly and always making sure my husband was ok, since he was recovering from foot surgery.Great entertainment every night in the courtyard.Food was great, huge selection. I didn't like everything, but who does. It's to your own taste. The sea was great, so warm to swim in. I preferred it to the pool. All in all, it was an awesome trip. I didn't want to leave. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some vendors have high prices and claim jewelry is pure silver. Most of it's not. You just have to haggle with them to get the prices down. The shops just down the street had great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Getaway

Everything was wonderful. We mostly stayed at the resort and enjoyed long walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search