$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
280 reviews
Amazing trip with friends

There was nothing lacking from the service, location, beach, drinks and food at this resort. Also... See full review

  • DeNada
  • May 22, 2015
Great option in Playacar

Been 5 times to Playacar, one of the best options in the area i.m.o. RIU Palace is clearly above... See full review

  • Diego
  • Apr 6, 2015
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.
General
RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive, Riviera Maya
Location
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Dining
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Rooms
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights

The resort's spa is popular, so if possible book an appointment in advance of your trip. While on-site, you can try some of the authentic Mexican cuisine at the Agave, Don Panolo or Krystal Fusion restaurants. You can also try the international cuisine at the Yashima Japanese restaurant or the Botafogo Brazilian restaurant. You can even enjoy a fun night listening to live music on the hotel's private outdoor patio. Just a few minutes away, check out the historic Mayan ruins of Tulum or Cobá. 

Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CommackBill
Business
Commack
Feb 5, 2014

Relaxation. Great for couples.

I really can't say anything bad which may be the highest form of review. The food & room staff greets you with a smile. The entertainment crew is great. They provide a number of different options for you & have a great sense of humor. The beach is relatively clean & the water is clear & very inviting. The food is varied & plentiful. I wouldn't say it was top notch, but you'll find something you really like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican & Krystal are the best options.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DU Gal
Business
Minnesota
Mar 2, 2014

a week in paradise

This place is out-of-the-park awesome! staff is so friendly & helpful. Food was great-plenty to choose from. weather was warm & muggy-ceiling fan is over couch not bed in big suite, so got a fan from Wally-world. Made a huge difference for sleeping. Bring a 8-10" fan if you can. Excellent beach & pool. Beautiful, convenient setting. Adult children met us there and we were all impressed and entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret was worth the adventure price. Don't miss the closing theatrical extravaganza - It's outstanding!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack1147
Business
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nana margarita
Business
Southern Minnesota
Mar 5, 2014

GREAT VACATION

We have been doing all inclusive vacations for 11 years now, and this was the best food ever. We stayed in the same resort in the Dominican, it was good but this was the best. The location is 20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen and the beaches are very nice for taking long walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you spend most of your day, at the beach or pool, ask for a room closer to the pool.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Mamacita
Business
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKOmaha
Business
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Business
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Business
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SARITA
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Excellent week in paradise

We spent a week at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya and we enjoyed every minute of our trip. We always do all inclusive vacations so I have many hotels to compare it to. The food was definitely one of the best we have had. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. They never make you feel like you're bothering them and they are constantly asking if you need anything. TIP THEM! They work extremely hard and deserve every penny. They aren't expecting tips so when they get them you will benefit from it. Santos, the head of the wait staff, is amazing and made our trip amazing. He went out of his way to make sure we were always happy. Our room and the entire hotel is immaculate. Pool bar is a great, fun atmosphere and the beach is beautiful. Go into town, 5th ave, and enjoy all the shops and even some good deals on "cervesa's"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jilla
Business
Riu Palace Riviera Maya,Playa Del Carmen
Nov 7, 2011

The Riu

Absolutely loved everything about the Riu Palace Riviera Maya! I read reviews where people said the resort was dirty, not so. The staff work constantly to keep the resort spotless. The 5 restaurants where you have to make a reservation are outstanding! The buffet in the morning was ok, but nothing is ever like home. I would go back in a heartbeat. This trip went way too fast. As far as going to a Riu resort again I will without a doubt check another one out!. I think they are great! Oh, as far as the smell people have mentioned, I did notice it in one hallway for one day and never smelled it again. Give Riu a try I don't think you will be sorry unless you are hard to please in any way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the reservation desk by noon and make two at a time!

Back to menu Return to top