RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRO N CRO
Business
Apex, NC, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Unbelieable beach view

You sit on the beach at this resort, and feel like your on a screen saver, postcard, or in a corona commercial. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Lots of people stayed at the pool, and they missed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen is just a 15 minute walk down the beach. Great shops, night life, and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIU Palace Playa del Carmen
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 8, 2010

RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa del Carmen

The best hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport
Aug 30, 2008

Very Relaxing

My wife and I vacationed here for five days and is was fantastic. Rooms and hotel was very clean. Food was good. Beach was nice and the staff was very helpful. I would definetly recommend this hotel. There were the occasional beach salesmen but they left you alone after first estate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dracut
Jun 7, 2008

Great place to stay

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was a great place to relax and enjoy some time off. My wife and I had a great time, the food was great, the drinks were refreshing and the people were excellent. We especially liked the nighttime entertainment, however, it's not Vegas, so go in with an open mind and you'll have alot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Little town of Playacar is nearby, about a 15 minute walk or a $5 cab ride. Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to go to. If taking a cab, just tell the driver Quinta Avenida (5th Avenue) and he'll get you there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOURKEY
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Absolutely Incredible

We relaxed. The hotel staff made sure we relaxed. the facilities were amazing. I am not a big fan of All inclusive vacations, as it usually invites an over-consuming, loud and onbonoxious crowd where you have to fight for cheap liquor and run of the mill buffets. RIU PALACE changed my perspective with a classy European crowd, top shelf liquor that actually was served to you constantly, great shows at night and many different ala carte restaurants aside from the buffet and an incredible buffet. the best service I have seen in a long time, including stays at four Seasons, Ritz and alike hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

GREAT! 9:45 PM every night and throughout the day many activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 5, 2008

Great for relaxation

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is right by the hotel. And it is very clean. If I have to say something bad about this hotel, then I have to say the food is a little disappointed. I stayed in this hotel for 5 days, the lunch has almost the same kind of food everyday. The food in the Japanese restaurant only look like Japanese food. The Mexican and Brazilian restaurants are just OK. The Sir Olivier is pretty good. However, the oven was broken on the night we were there. Therefore, the dessert is not OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fifth Avenue is the area of shopping. It took us 20 minutes to walk there under the heat. It is better to take the cab for $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grants Pass, oregon
Sep 14, 2009

Wonderful vacation and family wedding!

We went there for our daughter's wedding. We had the best time. This was our first real vacation and can't wait to do it again. Went to Chichen Itza, it was awesome. It's a long drive but well worth it. The snorkeling is great. Very inexpensive and lots of fun. We also went to Tulum, which isn't too far away. You can not go to Mexico and not visit the ruins. Our room was fabulous. It was clean, slightly musty but that's normal. The staff treated us great. Very friendly and always making sure my husband was ok, since he was recovering from foot surgery.Great entertainment every night in the courtyard.Food was great, huge selection. I didn't like everything, but who does. It's to your own taste. The sea was great, so warm to swim in. I preferred it to the pool. All in all, it was an awesome trip. I didn't want to leave. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some vendors have high prices and claim jewelry is pure silver. Most of it's not. You just have to haggle with them to get the prices down. The shops just down the street had great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 15, 2009

Everything in abundance

Food, drinks and service were great, nothing more to ask for. The rooms could be furnished a little more nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Laundry in Playa del Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
torreon coah Mexico
Sep 14, 2009

*****

every thing great!! the exception was that orbits charge 65 usd/per person ( being 3 people traveling in a group) when the travel by taxi from the airport to the hotel was 650 pesos (55 usd ) taking into account that orbitz is always the cheapest and the best price.. THAT IS NOT NICE AT ALL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millis
Nov 15, 2008

Paradise with a Smell......

The hotel was absolutely beautiful - the food devine - the people and staff the best. Right on the beach - bar at the pool - total paradise - you could not ask for more!!!! However we had ne problem - our first room had a very strong odor of mold/musty. We had a ceiling fan in the room and it did not work and actually had mold on it. Of course we called the front desk - and they gave us another room - the fan worked - but it also smelled musty - a third room - the smell was less but the view faced a roof. We were told we would move the next day. The next day we moved across to the other side of the hotel - from 2nd floor to first (lost the view of the ocean) - but everything worked and the odor was less. We found out what the problem was - the air conditioner. As soon as we turned it on - our room would start to smell musty. We believed the ducts or filters on the air conditioners need to be cleaned....We lost a good day of vacation having to move around - and kept the air conditioning off. My friend was not happy - nor comfortable - we did speak with the manager - and he sent us a bottle of champagne *not necessary as we were all inclusive* So as long as the odor of mold doesn't bother you - the place is paradise!!!! Everything else was beyond perfect...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants are EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top