RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
463 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (463)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
463 out of 463
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great getaway

This is a great resort...the service was excellent and the food was very good. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were quite nice. My only complaint was the bed...it was way to hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa De Carmen was a 10 minute walk. 5th Ave is a great place to go shopping.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 21, 2008

Great place

Other than check in, this place is really a palace. Great beach, pool, staff, and food. The staff is what really makes this place special. Anything you want, they will help you get. The onlt complaint I had for the whole week is check in. Three hours to get a room with a king size bed. No need for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampico, TM
Oct 1, 2008

Great place

Very nice hotel, the dinner options superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations just arriving. Go to the 5th Avenue day and night.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 1, 2009

Great hotel

Very relaxing trip. Staff was wonderful, very attentive and never intrusive. Our Orbitz rep at the hotel, [...] suggested wonderful tours...loved the snorkeling. The buffet was always good...something interesting to try every night. Great experience. We were saddened that the resport was only half occupied (and the sister property was closed) due to the Swine Flu scare. Hopefully things will soon be back to normal for the very professional, friendly & gracious staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jpowers
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Outstanding Hotel

Hotel was great. Noting was out of place and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy but we did enjoy it. It was tough to sit through the children entertainment before the main show. The mexican tootsie roll and chicken dance songs are stuck in my head and found myself whistling them in the airport on the way home! We found all the food to be top notch. No complaints other than we ate too much food. [...] met us our first morning and helped us setup our trips which included the Bonaza Horse Rides. We also had a snoreling trip setup in Cazumel. It was cancelled due to rough conditions with the wind blowing from the mainland to Cazumel. They called our room at 730am to cancel the trip which was nice because we were just getting up to get ready to catch the ferry over to Cozumel. One word of advice, we wouldn't recommend the snorkling trip thats offered at the hotel. Equipment was not very good, visibility was poor, and they loaded us in extremely dangerous surf conditions. I saw a good portion of the underside of the boat as it went over a wave and then I had to swim to the boat before the next wave. It was very dangerous and I consider myself to be a good swimer. This was the same day the snoreling trip in Cazumel was cancelled. The guide at the hotel said it was very calm on the mainland side which we foundout the hard way was not the case. There were waves breaking very close to where we were snorkeling. When the guide saw me at the pool he asked me how it was. I told him I wasn't impressed and thought they loaded us in extremely dangerous conditions. He just laughed and said it was part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend Bonanza Horse Rides. The guides - [...] and [...] were extremely friendly and took at least 25-30 pictures of us on our horses as we rode on a jungle trail and along a private beach. Horses don't go in the water but view was beautiful. 2 hour trip was a perfect length.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leverett
Springfield, IL
Apr 2, 2008

excellent

this is the 2nd time we have been at the RIU Palace and we love it. We would recommend it to anyone. The food was great, people were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown Playa Del Carmen is only 10 blocks from the hotel

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, *
Jul 4, 2008

What an awesome experience!!!!

WOW! What an awesome vacation! I took my son and two of his friends (all 18 years old) following their graduation and we had an incredible time! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated with the best service. Everyone was always happy to help in any way and the service was impeccable! The rooms were very clean - Just the beds were a bit firm, however, they very quickly brought up a mattress pad, which helped a lot. The area is very family friendly with people of all ages joining in on all the various activities, so you were never without something to do (unless you wanted to it that way). The boys had a blast parasailing, swimming, kayaking, beach volleyball, tennis, pool activities, and of course, the beach!). The food was very tasty. We preferred the buffet (lots of variety), but the steak dinner was good also. There is a little shopping area about a 10 minute walk that you can go to, but various vendors come and display things in the courtyard, so you really don't have to go anywhere! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACk!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top