$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjm416
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great location to downtown

Good value for all-inclusive. Very beautiful grounds. Lots of families and kids everywhere, so good if you have kids not good if you want adults only. Food was good. Ate at mexican twice and japenese which were excellent. The steakhouse can be passed, was not so impressive. Ate breakfast and lunch buffet every day. Really good location to downtown, about a 15 min safe walk. Rooms were clean. Pools were nice. Always had chairs at the beach (didn;t have to save with towels.) Walls were thin so you can hear everything in your room (mostly in morning). CAn only get wifi in lobby and lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMHM
Business
Saint John, Indiana
Dec 11, 2011

RIU

Of all the all iclusives I have stayed in the food at this one was the best. Wish they had a little better control of the lttle bugs. I know it is impossible to keep all out of rooms but my husband got bit one night while sleeping and my son"s room had a bug each night they had to kill. Entertainment was also very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ulisa
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Family reunion.

Riu Palace is a good place to stay only if I would not see roaches, every night I found roaches in the bathroom, the bathtub was to high to get in and out, I found it dangerous for short people like me, I think they need to up grade it. In the room the Iron, iron boar and the remote control for the TV were missing, there is a lot of noise at midnight in the hallway, we were feeling bad about people smoking everywhere, they should apply some restrictions about smoking. The service was good, the employees at the front desk were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1stdiverdown
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Excellent Property, Outstanding Staff

Great stay. 2 specific observations to share and to help prepare: 1. The room phones do not have a answering service. It is difficult to communicate with other guests on property. 2. Housekeeping is inconsistent. Difficult to get extra towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Diner reservation process is tedious. Long lines for reservation. Arrive early. Restaurant Rank: Krystal (fusion), Japanese, Buffet, Chiles (steak), Brazilian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jilla
Business
Riu Palace Riviera Maya,Playa Del Carmen
Nov 7, 2011

The Riu

Absolutely loved everything about the Riu Palace Riviera Maya! I read reviews where people said the resort was dirty, not so. The staff work constantly to keep the resort spotless. The 5 restaurants where you have to make a reservation are outstanding! The buffet in the morning was ok, but nothing is ever like home. I would go back in a heartbeat. This trip went way too fast. As far as going to a Riu resort again I will without a doubt check another one out!. I think they are great! Oh, as far as the smell people have mentioned, I did notice it in one hallway for one day and never smelled it again. Give Riu a try I don't think you will be sorry unless you are hard to please in any way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the reservation desk by noon and make two at a time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SARITA
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Excellent week in paradise

We spent a week at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya and we enjoyed every minute of our trip. We always do all inclusive vacations so I have many hotels to compare it to. The food was definitely one of the best we have had. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. They never make you feel like you're bothering them and they are constantly asking if you need anything. TIP THEM! They work extremely hard and deserve every penny. They aren't expecting tips so when they get them you will benefit from it. Santos, the head of the wait staff, is amazing and made our trip amazing. He went out of his way to make sure we were always happy. Our room and the entire hotel is immaculate. Pool bar is a great, fun atmosphere and the beach is beautiful. Go into town, 5th ave, and enjoy all the shops and even some good deals on "cervesa's"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nonmex traveller
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2011

Enjoyed getting pampered

It was my first trip to the Cancun area and in an all inclusive hotel. I expected buffets and drinks, but never realized the buffet choices and food amounts along with the quality drinks were going to be the norm. This is the newest of the chain in Playa de Carmen, if you want lots of discos and college crowds, then this is NOT the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

A one dollar or two dollar tip gets you excellent service throughout your trip and never hesitate trying to speak Spanish, they really do enjoy speaking in their native language to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Coyote
Business
London, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Summer getaway

I have stayed at many all inclusives on the Mayan Riviera so think I have a good appreciation on rating a resort. The location, service, facilities, beach and dining were all outstanding. The only negative was that the bed was a little on the hard side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cassieakasam
Business
mountain House, CA
Aug 18, 2011

Love love love

This was a wonderful getaway for DH & I. The hotel was charming and the staff went above an beyond to make our stay memorable. I wish there was WIFI in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If anyone tells you that you can walk to 5th ave, DON'T DO IT!!!! Unless you like the 30-40 minutes walk in the heat. Take the $7 cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRO N CRO
Business
Apex, NC, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Unbelieable beach view

You sit on the beach at this resort, and feel like your on a screen saver, postcard, or in a corona commercial. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Lots of people stayed at the pool, and they missed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen is just a 15 minute walk down the beach. Great shops, night life, and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top