RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Jo
Business
Edinboro, PA 16412, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Pleased with Playa Del Carmen!

The hotel was beautiful. The beach was clean. The food was good but could use a little more variety in the buffet offerings at lunch. I would go back again. I loved being able to walk to a town to shop. The nightlife in town was wonderful but at the hotel it was somewhat lacking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen is like Bourbon Street in New Orleans. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kabel
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 15, 2012

Great Location

The Riu Palace is in a great location and has a beautiful beach. We loved being able to walk everyday to Playa del Carmen and even to Walmart. Always felt safe and even walked to town one night to eat at a great Italian restaurant we found. The hotel is beautiful but small for what we are used to in an all-inclusive hotel. The food was above average but was happy we found cappuccino as the coffee was not good. The biggest frustration was there was hardly any internet and you have to go to the hotel lobby to try and connect. My husband needed to work and it was a problem most days. Overall I would say it is a nice place but I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an italian restaurant on the corner of 8 Norte in Playa del Carmen that has an italian chef and they make the pizza in a brick oven. The food was amazing and the best meal we had while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ankeny John
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 1, 2012

We will go back, and take other family with us!

Truly a wonderful experience for our family (daughter 19 and son 15) from the moment we entered until we left. Facilities, Food, and most importantly THE PEOPLE at RIU Riviera Palace were absolutely fantastic. Never once had any cuisine issues and every person we met was warm and welcoming. Rooms were sparkling clean daily and mini suite aspect was perfect amount of space. We are planning another trip and including about 10 additional family members next time. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each restaurant was exceptional. Check on Reservation process as soon as you arrive as several theme restaurants fill early. Don't worry though main restaurant "Don Manolo" was flawless and doesn't require any reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bustopher
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Top Notch Experience

Everything was great - good food, good drinks, good sevice, good weather. This was our fifth time visiting this same resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't let them tell you you can only make reservations for two nights - if you follow those rules you won't be able to visit all of the resorts! The gourmet restaurant is my favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
derosh
Business
Holly, MI 48442, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Very Happy Travelers

Stayed 9 nights, could of easily stayed longer. Every day as relaxing and enjoyable as the next. Food is excellent, staff even better. Grounds are very well kept, beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estaban
Business
Ft. Lauderdale FL
Dec 27, 2011

great!!!

It was a little slow at the airport for the transportation. At the hotel we were met by a man named WILSON at The RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa de Carmen. He helped us with all of our transportation needs. Once he was involved our transportation was never late and gave us exceptional service!!!!! He was never late and kept his appointments!!!! When I return I want WILSON!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the ruins Chiza Niza and do all shopping there!!! It is a long drive but you will learn educational history and the prices are great along with the selections!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjm416
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great location to downtown

Good value for all-inclusive. Very beautiful grounds. Lots of families and kids everywhere, so good if you have kids not good if you want adults only. Food was good. Ate at mexican twice and japenese which were excellent. The steakhouse can be passed, was not so impressive. Ate breakfast and lunch buffet every day. Really good location to downtown, about a 15 min safe walk. Rooms were clean. Pools were nice. Always had chairs at the beach (didn;t have to save with towels.) Walls were thin so you can hear everything in your room (mostly in morning). CAn only get wifi in lobby and lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMHM
Business
Saint John, Indiana
Dec 11, 2011

RIU

Of all the all iclusives I have stayed in the food at this one was the best. Wish they had a little better control of the lttle bugs. I know it is impossible to keep all out of rooms but my husband got bit one night while sleeping and my son"s room had a bug each night they had to kill. Entertainment was also very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ulisa
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Family reunion.

Riu Palace is a good place to stay only if I would not see roaches, every night I found roaches in the bathroom, the bathtub was to high to get in and out, I found it dangerous for short people like me, I think they need to up grade it. In the room the Iron, iron boar and the remote control for the TV were missing, there is a lot of noise at midnight in the hallway, we were feeling bad about people smoking everywhere, they should apply some restrictions about smoking. The service was good, the employees at the front desk were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top