$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A2, Jaybird, A0 (nicknames we made their
Detroit, MI
Jun 15, 2011

BEST RESORT BY FAR! YOU MUST EXPERIENCE

Spectacular Service, Phenomenal Resort, The most Beautiful Brach!!!!!! Everything about this place was 5-stars. SOOOO many activities (water sports, sight seeing like crazy, zip lining, tours, Mayan Ruins on an island right on a beach, and much much more) I can't tell you what a GREAT place this was. Hands down the best place I've been to and I have been to many. Go their and I whole heartedly believe you will NOT regedit. SUPER SUPER SAFE!!!!!!!!!!![*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Min taxi drive to the downtown city life 30 Club/Bars in 3 blocks with awesome Restaurants in-between!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Keg
Denver Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Awesome Accomodations

Rui Palace is one of the best hotels in mexico, we have been to several and have finally found what we where looking for, the rooms very clean, service EXCELLENT, the resturants and buffet had a huge variety and was very good for the taste. Overall I would rate this hotel stay a 5 star and do plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

water recreation awesome

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Keg
Denver Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Awesome Accomodations

Rui Palace is one of the best hotels in mexico, we have been to several and have finally found what we where looking for, the rooms very clean, service EXCELLENT, the resturants and buffet had a huge variety and was very good for the taste. Overall I would rate this hotel stay a 5 star and do plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

water recreation awesome

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A2, Jaybird, A0 (nicknames we made their
Detroit, MI
Jun 15, 2011

BEST RESORT BY FAR! YOU MUST EXPERIENCE

Spectacular Service, Phenomenal Resort, The most Beautiful Brach!!!!!! Everything about this place was 5-stars. SOOOO many activities (water sports, sight seeing like crazy, zip lining, tours, Mayan Ruins on an island right on a beach, and much much more) I can't tell you what a GREAT place this was. Hands down the best place I've been to and I have been to many. Go their and I whole heartedly believe you will NOT regedit. SUPER SUPER SAFE!!!!!!!!!!![*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Min taxi drive to the downtown city life 30 Club/Bars in 3 blocks with awesome Restaurants in-between!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
F-J
Windsor, ON
Jun 1, 2011

Great Time!

This was our first time in Mexico and loved it! The hotel is right on the Caribbean Sea and they have an awesome pool with swim-up bar. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was wonderful as well as the lunch buffet which was located close to the pool for easy access. They have a 24-hour Sports Bar which included the all-inclusive alcoholic drinks, along with burgers, hotdogs, nachos, a few desserts and salads in a fridge with a microwave near by to warm up and eat in the bar or in your room. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice with included alcohol and mixers in the mini-fridge, coffee maker, safe, and view of the garden area. Overall a wonderful hotel and amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you would like to book the specialty restaurants for dinner, definitely do so as soon as possible as the reservations fill up quickly.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis Missouri
May 31, 2011

Wonderful vacation

Perfect getaway for one week. The hotel is beautiful and the staff excellent. The buffet is very good and all of the sit down resteraunts were excellent. The pool bar closes at 5 p.m. which we thought was a little early but we just went back to our room and ordered a good bottle of wine from room service (which is included in the all inclusive price) and sat there with friends or as a couple until we went to dinner. The beach is excellent. All in all I would stay with this property again anytime. Riu properties are excellent choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of sun screen. We ran out and everywhere in playa the prices are very high ($25-$30 US) for sun screen....supply and demand I guess.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis Missouri
May 31, 2011

Wonderful vacation

Perfect getaway for one week. The hotel is beautiful and the staff excellent. The buffet is very good and all of the sit down resteraunts were excellent. The pool bar closes at 5 p.m. which we thought was a little early but we just went back to our room and ordered a good bottle of wine from room service (which is included in the all inclusive price) and sat there with friends or as a couple until we went to dinner. The beach is excellent. All in all I would stay with this property again anytime. Riu properties are excellent choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of sun screen. We ran out and everywhere in playa the prices are very high ($25-$30 US) for sun screen....supply and demand I guess.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho, USA
May 26, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Scuba diving – on resort training, I got my PADI certification with VERY safe and friendly staff. Airsoft rifle competition, nautical aerobics, starching on the sand beach, volleyball on the beach and in pool. Dancing a Blue Parrot – $7 each way from the resort (about 10 minutes' drive). Food was great, all you can eat all you want to eat (talking about healthy and great fresh vegies, meats, cheeses, fruits etc). A lot of variety of people and it was worth paying a little extra compare with other resorts. If you like the adventure, you will love this place. Also, this place is more for married couples, as if you are single, you will see a lot of goodies, but as we all know, you cannot touch. Every day there are activities that one can participate in and do so you will not have to get off the elegant resort. The entertainment team are just crazy guys and girls that will make you have a good time during the daily activates and on the night shows – every night there is a show that you need to see. There was also life music of different contemporary music – not club music. One night there was a very good saxophone singer/player. Very select a la carte restaurants (Brazilian, French, Spanish, Japanese). Over all the price was excellent and the service was great. One thing that they don't have that I thought that will be good, is to have a dancing club after hours so the guests who wants to dance will not be forced to get off the resort just for an hour or 2 of nice club atmosphere. Next time, I will go to Cancun too because of lagoon where you can go snorkeling and of club life that the younger once will enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

5 star food and dirinks all you want

Back to menu Return to top