$301 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad Jim
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 22, 2012

Solid Family All-Inclusive

This is a nice property. It's not super huge, which was nice with the kids. No really long walks to meals or beach. The included meal buffet was very solid with a variety of choices. The restaurants were good too. But, it was a hassle to make a reservation. Location is nice for two reasons: 1) not too far from the airport 2) easy access to the town of Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motherof3608
Business
Janesville, WI, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Rooms

The hotel and staff were very good...but the beds were hard as rock...they need some updating thankfully did not bath their only showered ....entertainment staff was excellent ... Needs to have dancing or something in evening for younger crowd ....overall 4 stars beach was beautiful ....very difficult to get change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFGuy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great hotel in a good location, can get very noisy and a bit expensive

Hotel is located right next to Playa Del Carmen which is nice, has a great beach and is well maintained. Food is ok. This is the 2nd time I visit and the main issue is the price almost doubled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryGe
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Beautiful beach, great staff

Loved the location, could walk 15 minutes to Playa. The staff was terrific...from the waiters and bartenders to the "entertainment staff" everyone was friendly and eager to please. The restaurants were delightful with several (the Japanese, Fusion and Mexican) that exceeded our expectations. The shows every night were very entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations for Restaurants are from 12-3. Get in line early during spring break time (11:30) if you want to eat in the Fusion or Japanese. That said, we did wait one night at the fusion restaurant and got in with no reservation as some don't show up.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denny B
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Very good hotel

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at a Riu Palace Hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are ample size with a seating area and a balcony with seating. The grounds are beautiful. The pool and beach area is very nice. The food is good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

15-20 minute walk to Playa del Carmen

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francisco chile
Business
Chile
Feb 18, 2012

little details big difference

Good but cleaning schedules and unskilled staff ruined s bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly 77
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great hotel for a quiet vacation

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the amenities are great. The rooms are clean, the grounds and restaurants are immaculate, I can't say enough good things about them. The only place it falls down is in the evening entertainment. There are evening kids and adult shows but they are not very exciting and it finishes the day on kind of a quiet, almost boring note. Great for a quiet getaway but not if you are looking for lively nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mega Putz LLC
Business
Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Nice but......

The staff was excellent!! Very helpful, even with the language differences. The pool was very dirty and needed repairs. I cut my toe on loose tiles and the water wasn't clear. Pool was also cold as heck. Dinner wasn't all that good at the four restraunts, dinner in Playa Del Carmen was much better food. The entertainment staff was very friendly and were very professional. Two twin beds shoved together makes it interesting when you really love your wife. Bed placement was stupid. Keep the kids away from the bar pool. They splash!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th street in Playa Del Carmen. The best Mexico city I have ever been to. Safe, fun and cool hangouts and shops.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorip
Business
Iowa
Jan 25, 2012

Great location, beach, staff!

Very nice resort, but there are others out there too. Pros: BEACH! Beautiful sand and ocean. Room & grounds very clean. Staff was super friendly. Food was very good everywhere we went. Location nice since you can walk to Playa del Carmen or get a taxi for $7 USD. Cons: Reservations at restaurants for dinner---had to waste beach time to wait in line to make reservations for the evenings, which was a real pain. They did not honor our room location request. In fact, we requested as close to the ocean as possible but our room was almost as far from the ocean as possible. We stayed right by the buffet restaurant and it was very loud until about 11:30 every night from the entertainment. Drink service was non-existent on the beach, which was unusual compared to other resorts we've stayed at. Overall, a very nice resort. Would maybe stay here again but there are other places that don't require dinner reservations and do provide great drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Jo
Business
Edinboro, PA 16412, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Pleased with Playa Del Carmen!

The hotel was beautiful. The beach was clean. The food was good but could use a little more variety in the buffet offerings at lunch. I would go back again. I loved being able to walk to a town to shop. The nightlife in town was wonderful but at the hotel it was somewhat lacking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen is like Bourbon Street in New Orleans. It is great!

Back to menu Return to top