RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mega Putz LLC
Business
Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Nice but......

The staff was excellent!! Very helpful, even with the language differences. The pool was very dirty and needed repairs. I cut my toe on loose tiles and the water wasn't clear. Pool was also cold as heck. Dinner wasn't all that good at the four restraunts, dinner in Playa Del Carmen was much better food. The entertainment staff was very friendly and were very professional. Two twin beds shoved together makes it interesting when you really love your wife. Bed placement was stupid. Keep the kids away from the bar pool. They splash!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th street in Playa Del Carmen. The best Mexico city I have ever been to. Safe, fun and cool hangouts and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorip
Business
Iowa
Jan 25, 2012

Great location, beach, staff!

Very nice resort, but there are others out there too. Pros: BEACH! Beautiful sand and ocean. Room & grounds very clean. Staff was super friendly. Food was very good everywhere we went. Location nice since you can walk to Playa del Carmen or get a taxi for $7 USD. Cons: Reservations at restaurants for dinner---had to waste beach time to wait in line to make reservations for the evenings, which was a real pain. They did not honor our room location request. In fact, we requested as close to the ocean as possible but our room was almost as far from the ocean as possible. We stayed right by the buffet restaurant and it was very loud until about 11:30 every night from the entertainment. Drink service was non-existent on the beach, which was unusual compared to other resorts we've stayed at. Overall, a very nice resort. Would maybe stay here again but there are other places that don't require dinner reservations and do provide great drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Jo
Business
Edinboro, PA 16412, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Pleased with Playa Del Carmen!

The hotel was beautiful. The beach was clean. The food was good but could use a little more variety in the buffet offerings at lunch. I would go back again. I loved being able to walk to a town to shop. The nightlife in town was wonderful but at the hotel it was somewhat lacking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen is like Bourbon Street in New Orleans. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kabel
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 15, 2012

Great Location

The Riu Palace is in a great location and has a beautiful beach. We loved being able to walk everyday to Playa del Carmen and even to Walmart. Always felt safe and even walked to town one night to eat at a great Italian restaurant we found. The hotel is beautiful but small for what we are used to in an all-inclusive hotel. The food was above average but was happy we found cappuccino as the coffee was not good. The biggest frustration was there was hardly any internet and you have to go to the hotel lobby to try and connect. My husband needed to work and it was a problem most days. Overall I would say it is a nice place but I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an italian restaurant on the corner of 8 Norte in Playa del Carmen that has an italian chef and they make the pizza in a brick oven. The food was amazing and the best meal we had while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ankeny John
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 1, 2012

We will go back, and take other family with us!

Truly a wonderful experience for our family (daughter 19 and son 15) from the moment we entered until we left. Facilities, Food, and most importantly THE PEOPLE at RIU Riviera Palace were absolutely fantastic. Never once had any cuisine issues and every person we met was warm and welcoming. Rooms were sparkling clean daily and mini suite aspect was perfect amount of space. We are planning another trip and including about 10 additional family members next time. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each restaurant was exceptional. Check on Reservation process as soon as you arrive as several theme restaurants fill early. Don't worry though main restaurant "Don Manolo" was flawless and doesn't require any reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bustopher
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Top Notch Experience

Everything was great - good food, good drinks, good sevice, good weather. This was our fifth time visiting this same resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't let them tell you you can only make reservations for two nights - if you follow those rules you won't be able to visit all of the resorts! The gourmet restaurant is my favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
derosh
Business
Holly, MI 48442, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Very Happy Travelers

Stayed 9 nights, could of easily stayed longer. Every day as relaxing and enjoyable as the next. Food is excellent, staff even better. Grounds are very well kept, beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estaban
Business
Ft. Lauderdale FL
Dec 27, 2011

great!!!

It was a little slow at the airport for the transportation. At the hotel we were met by a man named WILSON at The RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa de Carmen. He helped us with all of our transportation needs. Once he was involved our transportation was never late and gave us exceptional service!!!!! He was never late and kept his appointments!!!! When I return I want WILSON!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the ruins Chiza Niza and do all shopping there!!! It is a long drive but you will learn educational history and the prices are great along with the selections!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjm416
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great location to downtown

Good value for all-inclusive. Very beautiful grounds. Lots of families and kids everywhere, so good if you have kids not good if you want adults only. Food was good. Ate at mexican twice and japenese which were excellent. The steakhouse can be passed, was not so impressive. Ate breakfast and lunch buffet every day. Really good location to downtown, about a 15 min safe walk. Rooms were clean. Pools were nice. Always had chairs at the beach (didn;t have to save with towels.) Walls were thin so you can hear everything in your room (mostly in morning). CAn only get wifi in lobby and lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top