$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
463 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (463)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
463 out of 463
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Excelent hotel, location and service.

This hotel is appropriately named a 'Palace'. The lobby and courtyard are impressive. We stayed in a double room with a 8 month old (crib provided). Room was great, marble everywhere, and clean. 24/7 room service, four bottles of liqueur and fridge refiled daily. Pool is very impressive (but you need to throw a towel early in the morning to reserve a good seat). Entertainers keep the pool party going, BBQ, good bands, five bars, three restaurants, gym, jacuzzi, hammocks by the palm trees, a LOT of food, buffets and since you have your RIU bracelet that you got at the check-in you can enter other four RIU hotels nearby and use their services (few minute walk on the street or beach). Location: security closed down street with a mix of private villas and hotels. Good for jogging. 5 minute walk to a nice shopping place (go left) or 15-20min to the town (go right), or walk through the beach. A lot of stores in the town. Few city blocks. You need few hours there. Go in the evening. We felt very safe there. A lot of people with say 'Ola' to you and if you have a baby don't be surprised if they come up to you and touch her a bit and throw a smile. Just something you need to accept if you are not used to this but they always mean well. Minor issues: nightly entertainment is until 11pm (good or bad) so if you have rooms facing the courtyard it is a bit loud. Get rooms as close to the reception if you want the quiet (or even not facing the courtyard but you'll miss the view). Drinks are a bit on the cheap side, but sort of standard at all inclusive hotels. No umbrellas on the beach but there are lots of palm trees between the beach and the hotel. Stay to the right side of the shore away from the smelly jet ski(ugh!) And be careful with the bathroom hot water -it gets scolding hot fast! Overall, you can't get better value for the money. The Palace is impressive, and people are friendly and very hard working. Last thing, it's more for a more mature crowd so don't expect college parties there. I've been to many hotels and few vacation spots in the past and this one definitely deserves five stars. Enjoy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask around. There are representatives from several agencies in the hotel lobby every day. Come up and ask, and there are couple more booths in the Plaza shopping center offering various trips (go left out of hotel, 5 min walk).

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 25, 2011

One of the best vacations ever!

Everything came together just great during our trip. We traveled together with two other couples and were originally booked at different Riu Palaces (Riviera Maya and Mexico, which are 10 mins walk from each other). We asked and they put us all in this hotel and everything at the hotel was top notch: food, service in rooms, restaurants, bars, entertainment, etc. The location is great (quiet super-nice area with great beach, but really close to the city). 6 days was not enough. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to book a dinner at Krystal restaurant for one of the nights you're staying there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 20, 2009

Exceeded Expectaions!

We took full advantage of all that was offered within the hotel, and then some. Lots of water sports, jet skis, snorkle, scuba, catamarans...GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An unbeatable value, but not a short cut anywhere. you often find shortcuts in some areas, but not here and not with RIU!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck In The Snow
Livonia, MI
Dec 17, 2009

Beautiful!

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, great rooms, decent food. The buffet has great options, most are better than the restaurants which was a pleasant surprise. The people went out of there way to please us. We had a wonderful experience. Definitely upgrade to the Palace Riviera Maya as opposed to the other Riu's. It will be well worth it. The only way it could have been better would have been to upgrade to a room with a balcony facing the inner courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Getaway

Everything was wonderful. We mostly stayed at the resort and enjoyed long walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newman Lake, WA
Mar 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort

We just got home after a week's stay March 6-13. We would definitely go back. Immaculate resort with attentive staff looking to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Loved the beach, didn't spend much time in the pool- it was colder than the ocean and hard to get loungers poolside. Not so on the beach, they were always available. Lots of activity and higher noise level at pool. If you like to sunbathe in peace and quiet, the beach is the place to do it. Food was better than expected at the buffet, with choices changing nightly. The specialty restaurants had some limited availability, but we got into the ones we were interested in . The best steak I've had in Mexico at Chili's. Can't say enough about the staff, from housekeepers(loved the varied towel animals) to the wait staff. Very attentive to our needs. Nightly entertainment was available, some more enjoyable than others, but the resort tried hard to accomodate different tastes. All in all, a high class resort dedicated to customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jilla
Riu Palace Riviera Maya,Playa Del Carmen
Nov 7, 2011

The Riu

Absolutely loved everything about the Riu Palace Riviera Maya! I read reviews where people said the resort was dirty, not so. The staff work constantly to keep the resort spotless. The 5 restaurants where you have to make a reservation are outstanding! The buffet in the morning was ok, but nothing is ever like home. I would go back in a heartbeat. This trip went way too fast. As far as going to a Riu resort again I will without a doubt check another one out!. I think they are great! Oh, as far as the smell people have mentioned, I did notice it in one hallway for one day and never smelled it again. Give Riu a try I don't think you will be sorry unless you are hard to please in any way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the reservation desk by noon and make two at a time!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George N
Tampa, FL
Mar 7, 2011

Fantastic Experience!

We have traveled extensively internationally in many 5 star resorts, but this one should get 6 or even 7 stars. The site is MAGNIFICENT, like being in your own estate or castle! The dining couldn't be better even if you had a private chef. The main restaurant served numerous buffets for each meal with anything and everything anyone could desire. The service was OVER THE TOP. These employees are not only happy and enthusiastic to provide you with fantastic service, but are truly sincere and treat you like a millionaire and better. We couldn't have asked for a better place or better anything if we could dream of the most elaborate experience. If you plan on a trip to the Cancun area, this is the ONLY PLACE you will need to go to. A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME and we will return several times per year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Menu and food were better than first class. Like having a private chef!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Mar 4, 2008

RIU palace

The resort was very nice, I am not sure if it is worth the extra to stay at the palace. I also was dissappointed in the beach as there were large sandbags, like beached whales, in the water to prevent further beach erosion. Food in the buffets was excelent. There were not many college spring breakers there also, this was a bonus to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there are many things to do within 30 minutes of playa del carmen. we went sailing, fourwheeling in the jungle to a cenote, snorkeling, and it was convenient to walk to shuttle to visit cozumel.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Great Resort

We were more than impressed with the staff, service, food, room & other amenities. Would return in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top