$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweldon8
Business
Sebastopol, ca
Jun 9, 2013

Nice vacation

Hotel was nice for Mexico. Food was good better than my stay at Moon P.. Waite staff was excellent after a tip or two. Had a problem with getting my drift stocked tho. Three beers is not enough. Left note in Spanish for more. No luck. Called room service once they brought warm ones.. I think we insulted the person next with the note "seis cervaes por favor" with some chocolate kisses.. No beer in frig that day.. Later heard the key was to leave a dollar in the freezer. Who knew! Anyway, we had a terrible storm come through. Lots of water and slippery tile. Oh a lady at the pool had a medical emergency. Stroke or something. The hospital is almost right next door. Took parametics 45-1 hour to show up at the pool. First some "people" showed up with a gurney walking thru the garden. They stumbled around a bit didn't had a flat board to list her off the ground. Then while they're dinking around, another crew come running thru the garden with gurney etc. yikes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect to find great shopping deals down near the playa del Carmen hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PerDrewsMom
Business
McDonough, GA
May 31, 2013

Can't say enough about the staff

We had an unforgettable visit to this gorgeous hotel for our 15th anniversary. The view looking out at the ocean through the shade of the palm trees was indescribably beautiful. The grounds of the property were pristine. Walking through the courtyard made you feel as if you really were in a palace. But the staff is what makes this property truly top notch. They are friendly, helpful, always smiling, and EVERYWHERE. Servers even come up to take drink orders when you are out on the beach. I can't say enough about the staff. We also loved the fact that we felt so safe and could walk into the town of Playa del Carmen for the shops. We took a taxi at night because we were dressed up, but we walked two other times during the day. It's probably right around a mile, maybe a little more. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that we didn't always have consistently hot showers. So if you are a primadonna who will allow something like a little cold water to ruin your vacation in PARADISE, this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel L
Business
Aurora IL
May 16, 2013

I need to go back!!!!!

The hotel was a 5 plus star IMO and I travel a lot for B2B ! The staff was just unbelievable. I decided to tip a lot because every staff member did everything possible to make our time there so enjoyable. RIU-PRM was Very Clean. Entertainment was all day at the pool and evening. Entertainment in the evening was shows not nightlife type, but still fun. For nightlife and shopping a 20 min walk or taxi ($7usd) 4th and 5th or 12th and 5th clubs ~best of both worlds in the same general area! Food was great except for a little over cooking on the meat vs. my medium preference. Atmosphere, beach and pool - Wow! I would have preferred a courtyard room, but we were never in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Other RIU hotel are fun to visit and close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 3, 2013

great vacation spot

This is the second time we went there on and each time was fantastic in every way! I would recommed this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

we took a 15 minute walk to 5th street downtown every day. completely safe and alot of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedier
Business
USA
Dec 17, 2012

Nice place

Great location right on the beach. Staff is friendly, pool is great and grounds are beautifully maintained. Food quality is average. Limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Business
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Business
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK Indy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 9, 2012

Positive experience for first-timers

Our first time to Mexico and we really enjoyed it. RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a pleasant place to stay. We hear Cancun resorts are "livlier" and am sure that's true, but are also told our beach was nicer and frankly we're not displeased with the quieter atmosphere. Still something to do every day & nite, and we're happy that we ended up closer to Tulum and Xel Ha! This place was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to do some department store shopping, ask for directions to Chedraui. It's like a Mexican Target or K-Mart, but will save you $$ even compared to local WalMart and is a little closer. A long walk from RIU Palace Rivieria Maya or 70 peso cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2012

susnshine!!

Overall this RIU was very good. However this time the amount of small children and infants on site was overwhelming if you are looking for good R&R. There was constant crying infants and children running unattendded all day and into the evenings. This was in the restaurants, bars and beach area as well. There was no guidance to the adults on how to behave. Maybe a handout on "courteous behavior tips" would help. But overall we had an excellent vacation and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to 5th street for shopping was close and good exercise, also the ferry to Cozumel for a day is also good fun and bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina Kool Momma
Business
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top