RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
284 reviews
RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Great place. Will definitely go again..... Great staff and beach........................ See full review

  • Mark L.
  • Aug 29, 2015
Awesome Family Trip!

This was the first time at an all inclusive hotel and I was a little wary of how it was going to... See full review

  • Gail G.
  • Aug 24, 2015
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.
General
RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive, Riviera Maya
Location
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Dining
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Rooms
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights

The resort's spa is popular, so if possible book an appointment in advance of your trip. While on-site, you can try some of the authentic Mexican cuisine at the Agave, Don Panolo or Krystal Fusion restaurants. You can also try the international cuisine at the Yashima Japanese restaurant or the Botafogo Brazilian restaurant. You can even enjoy a fun night listening to live music on the hotel's private outdoor patio. Just a few minutes away, check out the historic Mayan ruins of Tulum or Cobá. 

Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (284)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PerDrewsMom
Couples
McDonough, GA
May 31, 2013

Can't say enough about the staff

We had an unforgettable visit to this gorgeous hotel for our 15th anniversary. The view looking out at the ocean through the shade of the palm trees was indescribably beautiful. The grounds of the property were pristine. Walking through the courtyard made you feel as if you really were in a palace. But the staff is what makes this property truly top notch. They are friendly, helpful, always smiling, and EVERYWHERE. Servers even come up to take drink orders when you are out on the beach. I can't say enough about the staff. We also loved the fact that we felt so safe and could walk into the town of Playa del Carmen for the shops. We took a taxi at night because we were dressed up, but we walked two other times during the day. It's probably right around a mile, maybe a little more. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that we didn't always have consistently hot showers. So if you are a primadonna who will allow something like a little cold water to ruin your vacation in PARADISE, this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Couples
Boston, MA
Jan 3, 2013

great vacation spot

This is the second time we went there on and each time was fantastic in every way! I would recommed this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

we took a 15 minute walk to 5th street downtown every day. completely safe and alot of fun

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedier
Family
USA
Dec 17, 2012

Nice place

Great location right on the beach. Staff is friendly, pool is great and grounds are beautifully maintained. Food quality is average. Limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Couples
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Couples
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK Indy
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 9, 2012

Positive experience for first-timers

Our first time to Mexico and we really enjoyed it. RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a pleasant place to stay. We hear Cancun resorts are "livlier" and am sure that's true, but are also told our beach was nicer and frankly we're not displeased with the quieter atmosphere. Still something to do every day & nite, and we're happy that we ended up closer to Tulum and Xel Ha! This place was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to do some department store shopping, ask for directions to Chedraui. It's like a Mexican Target or K-Mart, but will save you $$ even compared to local WalMart and is a little closer. A long walk from RIU Palace Rivieria Maya or 70 peso cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Couples
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2012

susnshine!!

Overall this RIU was very good. However this time the amount of small children and infants on site was overwhelming if you are looking for good R&R. There was constant crying infants and children running unattendded all day and into the evenings. This was in the restaurants, bars and beach area as well. There was no guidance to the adults on how to behave. Maybe a handout on "courteous behavior tips" would help. But overall we had an excellent vacation and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to 5th street for shopping was close and good exercise, also the ferry to Cozumel for a day is also good fun and bargains

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina Kool Momma
Couples
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Friends
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AustinChick
Couples
Austin, TX
Oct 7, 2012

RIU Palace Riviera Maya consistenly great!

We have stayed here many times. Once again, had a fabulous stay. Our room was at the end of the last building facing the ocean. What a view! It's so nice to sit on the balcony in the early evening and watch Cozumel light up. As usual - food was great, staff is friendly and helpful, room was cleaned early each day and we were greeted with towel art everyday on the bed. My only room negative would be the bed. I didn't have a problem, but my husband woke up each morning with severe pain in his back. Same problem on prior trips. It would be great if they could replace the mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Prepare for rainy days. Bring cards or anything that you can fit in your luggage. It's nice to sit in the lobby and have a way to occupy your time instead of sitting in the room and watching tv.

Back to menu Return to top