$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Go to this place!!

This is the second time at this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back again. One of the best things is that you're not stranded at an all inclusive. The town (which is awesome) is only a 15 minute walk or about a $5 cab ride. Great bars and restaurants down there if you want a change of pace from the resort. But who needs the town? The food is amazing at the Riu...I recommend the restaurant Krystal for sure, but the buffet is great too. Staff is so friendly..especially bartender Islas and all the pool bartenders. If you drink tequila, make sure to order "don julio" as the house tequila isn't that great. We met a ton of really cool people at the pool that we still keep in touch with. There was never a problem getting a seat at the pool or on the beach. The water is beautiful, and they'll serve you cocktails right there. Don't even bother walking to the other Riu's, this one is the best one. When checking in, try to upgrade to a courtyard facing room. They may want to charge you at first, so decline and they will most likely give it to you anyway if it's available. It's true that the rooms have that musty smell, but you're not in a New York City hotel, you're in the humid tropics, so deal with it. After a day or two, you don't even notice it any more. They say tips are included, but if you give the pool guy a 5 or 10, he'll be all over you all day long making you those "special" drinks. Couple bucks here and there to the bartenders is really appreciated also, and they will take great care of you if you do. I could go on and on, but for the value, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into the town (5th Ave) for tequila and other Mexican specialties.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary
Nov 30, 2008

Great only with friends

After you get your sun tan there is really not much you can do around there, besides drinking. I think that the alcohol was watered down unless you ask for it (or make your own). The nightly shows were entertaining as well. When you get there try to get reservations to their restaurants besides the buffet, because they are really really good. Definitely try their Brazilian cuisine and their steak houses Chilli's and Krystals. The other places are just meh. Tours on the beach: definitely cheaper and best of all they are legit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th Ave market is nearby. Should only cost you 50 pesos. Try the street food if you think your stomach can handle it. HAGGLE when you buy from the market.. usually you can get it 75% off their asking price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lets Go Pens!
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 14, 2010

Great Time in Riviera Maya

The atmoshere,beach,food,drink, and the room were great. Once again a great stay at a RIU Palace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 18, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall I thought this was a really good place to vacation. Only draw back was very few ocean front views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, TX
Aug 16, 2010

excelent!!! we will be back!!!

We love the experience, the oly thatreally don't like is some parent bring children less the 5 years to the restaurant(JAPANESE) and make so much noice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Terry
Business
Maine
Apr 23, 2009

Our "Best" vacation ever!

Staying at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything we had hoped for and more. We wouldn't change a thing about this resort. We have been on many trips and this was above all the best. The water fountains, the beautiful palm trees, the awesome pools, massages, the wait staff, the entertainment, the spectacular beach front, games of volleyball, parasailing, jetsking, you name it this resort is spot on. If you are looking for quiet and rest you won't be dissappointed either. Grab your towels, lounge chair or hamock, whether in the sun, on the beach or under a palm tree, and let your vacation begin. We chose not to do the tours, but did take a nice stroll each day and stopped by the shopping areas and found the streets very clean and everyone very courteous. We look forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We made reservations only once and we went to Chili's. The meal was superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Great Resort

We were more than impressed with the staff, service, food, room & other amenities. Would return in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Exceeded all Expectations

Just returned from a five day stay at the Riu Riveria Maya Palace in Playa del Carmen. It was truly outstanding. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 13. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures are accurate. The beach and the setting are the definition of paradise. Pool and pool bar area are fabulous, too. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Fabulous variety and incredible abundance. Not gourmet food but considering they are feeding the masses (this hotel is large) everything was very, very high quality. Fresh, varied, hot and always available. We are new to the "all-inclusive" concept and we loved it. Quality was not compromised in the least. Room was nice, not exceptional but quite good. Water pressure in shower is lacking (our only complaint) but not the worst we've had. We had a pool side room and it was very convenient. Someone here complained of noise at night from the pool area. I am a very light sleeper and we were early to bed 10-11 pm. Noise was completely non-existent with doors closed and air conditioning on. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simongold
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Very Good hotel

Everything was just perfect. One can't ask for more. We really enjoyed it. The only thing I did not like was access to the Internet. Wireless access was only from the main lobby area. It was very slow and sometimes did not work at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Getaway

Everything was wonderful. We mostly stayed at the resort and enjoyed long walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top