$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
Business
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JE Honeymooners.
Business
Tijuana, BC
Nov 1, 2013

Great Staff

Its really near to Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Tulum and adventure atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you need to reserve at the lobbys bar from 12pm to 3pm ONLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Honeymooners 21
Business
Minnesota
Oct 20, 2013

Great stay for our honeymoon

We just got back from our week long stay. The resort was awesome. Great friendly staff. Your drink would never be empty! We are in our mid twenties and noticed that this resort attracts an older population so If you're looking for crazy night life and younger couples this isn't the place for you. We recommend bringing extra cash to tip the staff, as it seemed almost customary when we looked around at other guests. The hotel offers lots of free activities such as kayaking, boogy boards, catamaran, ping pong, volleyball, etc. The resort offers shows every night. In my opinion they were all lame. The restaurants are okay, they present their food wonderfully. However, a lot of the main courses and appetizers were served raw, something that my culture is not accustomed to and would definitely get me sick. We ended up eating the buffet most of the time because there's always something you could find there. But the food was very bland in my opinion. It just tasted "different". Overall we had a great time though. The resort is gorgeous and very safe in the gated community of playa car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
Business
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vbg003
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 9, 2013

Good food and excellent service

Hotel is little bit old, we changed it with Riu Palace Mexico. That hotel is very nice just renovated, staff was very friendly. Room floor get very wet but if you keep the AC on 69-70 it's Ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whats up man
Business
San Antonio
Aug 9, 2013

RIU PALACE INCREDIBLE!!!!!

ONE WORD AMAZING!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. WORTH EVERY PENNY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2013 Honeymooners
Business
Meridian, Id
Jun 22, 2013

Most Happening Hotel in Playacar

All the hotels around us were very quiet. The Staff at the RIU Palace kept the party and entertainment going nonstop. Would definitely recommend and would go back. Had a blast! Service by the staff was top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo was a blast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chirlei Super Granny
Business
Chandler, Arizona
Jun 22, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

This resort is very beautiful, clean and next to the beach. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Food was great and plenty of it. Lot of variety to choose from. The nightly entertainment was great. Our granddaughter looked forward to the nightly shows. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To the Escaret park. Its an all day event and still not able to see the whole park. Salvetica Zip line was awesome also. We really enjoyed both adventure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EandW
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 19, 2013

Wonderful couples vacation

Very nice hotel. Food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Great variety of drinks, however they would taste better if they have a little more alcohol. Location was great; very safe area and just a 15-20 minutes walk to downtown Playa del Carmen (5ta avenida). We highly recomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweldon8
Business
Sebastopol, ca
Jun 9, 2013

Nice vacation

Hotel was nice for Mexico. Food was good better than my stay at Moon P.. Waite staff was excellent after a tip or two. Had a problem with getting my drift stocked tho. Three beers is not enough. Left note in Spanish for more. No luck. Called room service once they brought warm ones.. I think we insulted the person next with the note "seis cervaes por favor" with some chocolate kisses.. No beer in frig that day.. Later heard the key was to leave a dollar in the freezer. Who knew! Anyway, we had a terrible storm come through. Lots of water and slippery tile. Oh a lady at the pool had a medical emergency. Stroke or something. The hospital is almost right next door. Took parametics 45-1 hour to show up at the pool. First some "people" showed up with a gurney walking thru the garden. They stumbled around a bit didn't had a flat board to list her off the ground. Then while they're dinking around, another crew come running thru the garden with gurney etc. yikes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect to find great shopping deals down near the playa del Carmen hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top