$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Business
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK Indy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 9, 2012

Positive experience for first-timers

Our first time to Mexico and we really enjoyed it. RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a pleasant place to stay. We hear Cancun resorts are "livlier" and am sure that's true, but are also told our beach was nicer and frankly we're not displeased with the quieter atmosphere. Still something to do every day & nite, and we're happy that we ended up closer to Tulum and Xel Ha! This place was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to do some department store shopping, ask for directions to Chedraui. It's like a Mexican Target or K-Mart, but will save you $$ even compared to local WalMart and is a little closer. A long walk from RIU Palace Rivieria Maya or 70 peso cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2012

susnshine!!

Overall this RIU was very good. However this time the amount of small children and infants on site was overwhelming if you are looking for good R&R. There was constant crying infants and children running unattendded all day and into the evenings. This was in the restaurants, bars and beach area as well. There was no guidance to the adults on how to behave. Maybe a handout on "courteous behavior tips" would help. But overall we had an excellent vacation and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to 5th street for shopping was close and good exercise, also the ferry to Cozumel for a day is also good fun and bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina Kool Momma
Business
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Business
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Business
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AustinChick
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 7, 2012

RIU Palace Riviera Maya consistenly great!

We have stayed here many times. Once again, had a fabulous stay. Our room was at the end of the last building facing the ocean. What a view! It's so nice to sit on the balcony in the early evening and watch Cozumel light up. As usual - food was great, staff is friendly and helpful, room was cleaned early each day and we were greeted with towel art everyday on the bed. My only room negative would be the bed. I didn't have a problem, but my husband woke up each morning with severe pain in his back. Same problem on prior trips. It would be great if they could replace the mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Prepare for rainy days. Bring cards or anything that you can fit in your luggage. It's nice to sit in the lobby and have a way to occupy your time instead of sitting in the room and watching tv.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gill and Fam
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 1, 2012

fun escape

We just returned from a 1 week getaway to this resort. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The beach was magnificent. The rooms were average, though kept very clean by housekeeping personnel. The only annoying thing was that we had to make restaurant reservations in person, every day or else we would have to eat at the buffet- this kind of took the fun and spontaneity out of the evening b/c there were only 2 seating times available for each restaurant 6:30 and 8:30. We brought our baby with us, he's too young for kid's club activities and it didn't really look like there was much at the resort that was geared toward young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fusion restaurant is the best restaurant at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with two toddlers
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 30, 2012

Good Resort, OK Rooms

We stayed Aug 18-25, 2012. First off (which we didn't know), hotel is located within a large gated area of resorts and private residences, so it is extremely safe - go with confidence. Hotel was quite full, but never felt crowded. There were no waits, no lines. Staff was very friendly and catered to our every need, we never heard 'no' throughout our stay, but on the last day (Friday) they made it look like they were doing us favors any time we asked for something. We got a feeling that hotel instructs their staff to cut down on things the day before the crowd changes (assuming most people travel weekend to weekend). Hotel grounds were impeccably maintained. Layout of the hotel is excellent - pool is neither right in front of the hotel, nor right on the beach. They have palm trees planted on the beach instead of umbrellas, which makes it so much more enjoyable. Pools are excellent, and there's a swim-up bar, but as the week progressed pools became less and less clean. Beach is quite nice with many shallow spots and clear water, but the sand is not as clean as you'd expect coming from the US (cigarettes, for one, everywhere). Salespeople on the beach didn't bother us that much at all. There are all kinds of water activities within couple of hundred yards. Hotel rooms were the only letdown. They're just ok, we expected something better. Rooms on the ground (basement) floor were extremely musty, we changed our room to 2nd floor which was much better. In-room bar and refrigerator were stacked every day, no problems there. We didn't try any specialty restaurants because we had two small kids, but their buffet-type restaurants were adequate with plenty of variety. Drinks were definitely watered-down, just like anywhere else, but that's what you get in an all-inclusive package. They had some fun daily activities by the pool or on the beach. Nightly entertainment in the open square was quite good, but their in-house theater 'production' was a joke, middle-school grade stuff at best. In conclusion, besides the rooms there's really nothing horribly bad about the hotel. But one thing that's noticeable coming from the US is that, as friendly and courteous as staff tries to be, you somehow feel that it's not genuine, which brings down the classiness of the hotel. I would put it somewhere between 3.5 and 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked private transfer from-to the airport with usa-transfers, they're excellent, highly recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reaching for the Stars
Business
New Jersey
Aug 29, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Overall we had a good time at this resort. The beach was beautiful and it wasn't too crowded for the time of the year. However, we had mixed feelings about certain things. It was nice that drinks were readily available but we sometimes felt pressured to always be drinking alcoholic beverages. The staff were wonderful and polite but were uninformed about some things in the area. For example, they did not have schedules of the two churches in Playa del Carmen and were unable to provide them for me. When they did provide me with a schedule, it was wrong. I would have thought that to be very important especially for the people who want to attend services. The food was ok with some plates being exceptional and others being much to be desired. The room was clean and very comfortable. In the end, we enjoyed our stay although compared to other trips we've taken to the PdC, this was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top