$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington D.C.
Jan 10, 2011

Great resort, fantastic food

We went to the resort for a week, and had a great time. The RIU Palace Riviera Maya offers excellent restaurants, a wonderful pool, big, nice, clean rooms and a fantastic all-inclusive service. Compared to former all-inclusice experiences, this was much better in terms of quality, especially concerning the quality of the restaurants. Staff is very nice, and everybody loves children. The only thing that we did not like was the kids' area, with a minimalistic pool and a ridiculous playground (small and not very tidy). But apart from that, we can only recommend the resort. Don't expect too much from downtown Playa del Carmen, though: It is just a big shopping mall, and we were happy that we could return to our resort after an hour. But you should definitely go to the ruins of the old Maya city of Chichen-itza, and to Tulum, an ideal combination of culture and beach recreation. Concerning the evening entertainment program, there is some (too loud) live music, which ends, fortunately, around 11 p.m., but also some nice ideas like roulette and things like that in the open patio, where you can try your luck without risking your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The destination Tulum is highly recommended for a half-day trip: the combination of Maya ruins with a breathtaking beach area (take your bathing suits!) is unique. We joined an organized tour, but as Tulum is only a half-hour drive from Playa del Carmen, you may just as well rent a car and stay on the beach in Tulum as long as you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, Fla
Jan 12, 2011

Simply outstanding!!

The hotel far exceded our expectations! Facilities,food and staff were all outstanding. Best dollar value we ever experienced. We will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The theme specific restaurants at the hotel were very good but because there were 2 seatings per night, you were somewhat rushed at the early seating. We enjoyed the buffets more in part because they were more relaxed and leasurely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2007

Amazing Vacation

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Palace in May, as a break from work, kids, etc. What an amazing resort! The rooms were gorgeous, the staff was friendly, helpful, and well organized. Bar was Top Shelf, and the food was outstanding....from the mimosas at the breakfast buffet (and the chocolate croissants) to the steaks and seafood, every restaurant was classy, served different menus choices, and was never pushy. We're headed to the Palace again in November, and we're taking friends with us this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Riu Tequila for the nightlife...Great Dicso!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ridgewood
Jun 22, 2008

LOVE love LOOOOVE this place.

I think this is the IDEAL resort in Mexico. Its an about an hour drive from the airport in Cancun, but totally worth the extra travel time. All of the RIU properties are within an ACTUAL town--walking distance to shops and clubs, or a 50 peso cab ride ($5 USD), whereas most other resorts are off the side of a freeway. This location is perfect such that you can go to head north and visit cancun, or south to Tulum and visit ancient Mayan ruins (beautiful). Ferries also depart from Playa del Carmen to go to Cozumel. Pretty much everything is within reach. The room, the beach and entire property was clean, and the service was impeccable. The ONLY complaint i had was that one day i returned to my room to find damp sheets on the bed. I told the front desk about it and it was taken care of IMMEDIATELY. i was so impressed with the service that I gave the housekeeper a nice tip. The staff was extremely friendly and engaging. At first glance i thought the evening entertainment would be corny, but it was actually quite fun! I've told all of my friends and family about this place and i am DEFINITELY going back!! I have no children and didn't do any business while I was out there, but there is free WIFI in the entire massive lobby of the hotel, wake-up calls were always punctual, and most mom's and children seemed happy. This hotel is very accomodating to both families and singles. Overall i had an AMAZING experience and i cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Its walkign distance from la quinta avenida (5th avenue), but I'd never walk in strong sun in a direction im not exactly sure how to reach. Cabs are easily accessible from the hotel and its about a 5 minute drive. Just tell them you want to go to la quinta avenida and there you shall find an insane amount of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord
Nov 22, 2008

Had a great wedding experience!!!

We chose the Riu Palace Riviera Maya as the hotel to host our wedding on 11.20.08 We had 50 guests attend and it was the best wedding EVER!!! The hotel was spectacular! The lobby has beautiful chandelier ceilings and dark cherry wood framing everywhere. It is truly grand! The rooms are nice and tidy. They were in the middle of upgrading alot of rooms w/ new mattreses and flat screen TV's. The food was delicious! I ate at all the specialty restauraunts and they were all very good. They greet you w/ a signature drink as you walk in! The pools were cold, but they are set up to cool you down from the scorching hot sun. Unfortunatley it wasnt that hot to get into the pool, so I just sun bathed and got into the ocean (which was much warmer than the pool) The beach is nice, but there are sand whales that block the waves from crashing in. Didn't look too pretty, but didn't bother us at either. If anything kids jumped and walked on them. Back to my wedding.... All my guest's loved the hotel, the staff was so friendly and courteous! they made us feel special! We all want to go back very very soon! The wedding coordinators decorated everything nicely. My wedding went off w/ out any problems and we partied from the moment we walked down the aisle till they closed down the restaurant for our private reception at Boto Fogo (brazillian bbq restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to do here! Go to 5th avenue and go shopping, there are a few good restauraunts and bars on that strip as well. Places to see and visit are fairly close (about a 20 min. drive) Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum and Ruins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKOmaha
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho, USA
May 26, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Scuba diving – on resort training, I got my PADI certification with VERY safe and friendly staff. Airsoft rifle competition, nautical aerobics, starching on the sand beach, volleyball on the beach and in pool. Dancing a Blue Parrot – $7 each way from the resort (about 10 minutes' drive). Food was great, all you can eat all you want to eat (talking about healthy and great fresh vegies, meats, cheeses, fruits etc). A lot of variety of people and it was worth paying a little extra compare with other resorts. If you like the adventure, you will love this place. Also, this place is more for married couples, as if you are single, you will see a lot of goodies, but as we all know, you cannot touch. Every day there are activities that one can participate in and do so you will not have to get off the elegant resort. The entertainment team are just crazy guys and girls that will make you have a good time during the daily activates and on the night shows – every night there is a show that you need to see. There was also life music of different contemporary music – not club music. One night there was a very good saxophone singer/player. Very select a la carte restaurants (Brazilian, French, Spanish, Japanese). Over all the price was excellent and the service was great. One thing that they don't have that I thought that will be good, is to have a dancing club after hours so the guests who wants to dance will not be forced to get off the resort just for an hour or 2 of nice club atmosphere. Next time, I will go to Cancun too because of lagoon where you can go snorkeling and of club life that the younger once will enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

5 star food and dirinks all you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando
Jun 16, 2008

Excellent!

This hotel had everything you could ever want. Plenty of restaurants to eat, lovely rooms, spa, pool, beach and much more. They even provided entertainment to keep you active and having fun every day. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone. It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go outside the main entrance and take a left. After a short walk you will see a mall on the right with tons of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jul 7, 2007

Gorgeus Hotel excelent location

The Hotel is gorgeus, the architecture and decoration WOW. Play Del Carmen is beautiful and just 5 minutes from the hotel, good food, nice pools and beautiful and romantic private beach. The best food was Chilly's restaurant inside the hotel with delicious steak. Be prepared to climb stairs and do some walking(wich is good after so much eating). The different variety of licors bottles free at the room is really coolto have. A tip would be for you to go to Cancum stop at Playa Delphines (GORGEUS) and them spend the rest of the day at the other RIU Palace there, they have a delicious Italian food walk in restaurant for lunch and no reservation required. You can use the facilities, pool, beach and spa to take a shower and even enjoy some of the nightlife in Cancun and drive back to Play Del Carmen. We had a great relaxation time!Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping at Play Del Carmen downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search