$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Great Resort

We were more than impressed with the staff, service, food, room & other amenities. Would return in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Exceeded all Expectations

Just returned from a five day stay at the Riu Riveria Maya Palace in Playa del Carmen. It was truly outstanding. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 13. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures are accurate. The beach and the setting are the definition of paradise. Pool and pool bar area are fabulous, too. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Fabulous variety and incredible abundance. Not gourmet food but considering they are feeding the masses (this hotel is large) everything was very, very high quality. Fresh, varied, hot and always available. We are new to the "all-inclusive" concept and we loved it. Quality was not compromised in the least. Room was nice, not exceptional but quite good. Water pressure in shower is lacking (our only complaint) but not the worst we've had. We had a pool side room and it was very convenient. Someone here complained of noise at night from the pool area. I am a very light sleeper and we were early to bed 10-11 pm. Noise was completely non-existent with doors closed and air conditioning on. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simongold
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Very Good hotel

Everything was just perfect. One can't ask for more. We really enjoyed it. The only thing I did not like was access to the Internet. Wireless access was only from the main lobby area. It was very slow and sometimes did not work at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Getaway

Everything was wonderful. We mostly stayed at the resort and enjoyed long walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 20, 2009

Exceeded Expectaions!

We took full advantage of all that was offered within the hotel, and then some. Lots of water sports, jet skis, snorkle, scuba, catamarans...GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An unbeatable value, but not a short cut anywhere. you often find shortcuts in some areas, but not here and not with RIU!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Very Relaxing!

The Riu Palace was beautiful! Our room was comfortable and we loved the balconey and sitting area. Our view overlooked gardens, fountains, and the pool and ocean. The staff was friendly and always willing to help or provide any kind of service. The dining was wonderful wether at the buffet or in restaurants at the resort. We especially enjoyed Asian night when sushi was served. We also enjoyed the steak and lobster tail. They have made many repairs to the beach area that was destroyed by huricanes. So walking the beach was relaxing and enjoyable. The only disruption to our relaxation was teenagers on spring break. However, the hotel management made accomodations for our disruption. We will definately return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was just down the street. Cute shops. You can also take a cab to Playa del Carmen where there is a greater variety of shops with more authentic mexican items. Some good deals on jewelry.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indian Trail
Jun 18, 2008

Great for a romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed at this resort for our 5 year anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful and we had a great time. We loved the pool area, you have your choice of the smaller infinity pool or the larger pool with the swim up bar and lounge chairs. The beach is incredible and the resort offers a ton to do right there at the shore. They have an entertainment team which provide things like water aerobics, beach volleyball, stuff for the kids, etc. which gave us some things to do. The location is great, there are a few other Riu hotels within walking distance that you can go check out and the town is only a $5 cab ride and they have over 14 blocks of shopping. We went parasailing and also did the Tulum Extreme Adventure package which we highly recommend! The only things we were a little disappointed in were the beds (kind of hard), the shower (really low water pressure and a touchy thermostat) and the fitness center (not air conditioned enough). This hotel is an awesome value for the money-we will be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 5th Avenue shopping center is not that far away, it took us about 25 minutes to walk there or its a $5 cab ride. Don't be overcharged by a cab company... they are all supposed to be a flat rate of $5 to and from the town. Be careful!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newark, NJ
Mar 15, 2008

Friendly

The Palace Riviera Maya hotel was like living in a beautiful palace. The room was always clean. Their hospitality and friendliness was above 100%. The food in their various restaurants was also delicious and adequate for all appetites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The town of Playa del Carmen was within a nice walk (20-25 minutes) and there were many shops to choose from to buy jewelry, as well as various restaurants to eat in.

Back to menu Return to top