RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
279 reviews
Amazing trip with friends

There was nothing lacking from the service, location, beach, drinks and food at this resort. Also... See full review

  • DeNada
  • May 22, 2015
Great option in Playacar

Been 5 times to Playacar, one of the best options in the area i.m.o. RIU Palace is clearly above... See full review

  • Diego
  • Apr 6, 2015
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.
General
RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive, Riviera Maya
Location
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Dining
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Rooms
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights

The resort's spa is popular, so if possible book an appointment in advance of your trip. While on-site, you can try some of the authentic Mexican cuisine at the Agave, Don Panolo or Krystal Fusion restaurants. You can also try the international cuisine at the Yashima Japanese restaurant or the Botafogo Brazilian restaurant. You can even enjoy a fun night listening to live music on the hotel's private outdoor patio. Just a few minutes away, check out the historic Mayan ruins of Tulum or Cobá. 

Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Jun 27, 2011

Great Place!

We had heard great things about all of the Rui Hotels, so we were excited to visit the Rui Palace in Riviera Maya. We definitely recommend this hotel to couples (they had some children activities but not much). The grounds are kept very neat and clean. Be careful walking in the hallways, it seemed as though they cleaned the floors every day. The service at all of the restaurants and bars were exceptional. I definitely recommend [...] he is one of the head servers in the patio area. He provided the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel or restaurant. Beach was gorgeous and clean, plenty of chairs to relax in. The bar at the pool was nice as well. Unfortunately though the bar closes at 6pm. They should keep it open later since it stays light out well after 6pm (one of the few negatives). Rooms were spacious and clean as well. I'm a picky eater so I wasn't too impressed with the food, but my husband said the food was great with a good variety at the buffet. Need reservations at the other restaurants on site which is another negative. When we're on vacation we definitely don't like being on a schedule but we made it work. We would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and the Rui Palace to anyone looking for a romantic, nice, high quality place for a honeymoon or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor park and ATVs at Punta Venado were so much fun!! We definitely recommend!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeann Loves Mexico
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2009

Perfect retreat for anyone

We have chosen to stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya three times now and we keep coming back because it is dependably perfect every time. We love the pool, enjoy the shows, couldn't ask for better service from the staff and feel like it is a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best restaurant on site is Krystal.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Loved Mexico
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 1, 2011

Excellent Time, Better than Remembered!

We were traveling with our nine month old boy for the first time and knew that the Riu Palace (Riviera Maya) was kid friendly, but it went above and beyond our expectations. We chose to stay put at the resort for the week and had a great time on the beach, by and in the pool, and at the dinners and shows. The staff (and other guests) consistently went out of their way to provide a level of service that was second to none. We were able to do the fancier dinners as well as the buffet every night without any concerns as to whether our son would be able to also enjoy being at dinner while either eating or sleeping. We would highly recommend this resort to young or old couples; groups of friends, and those with small children; particularly babies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Go to this place!!

This is the second time at this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back again. One of the best things is that you're not stranded at an all inclusive. The town (which is awesome) is only a 15 minute walk or about a $5 cab ride. Great bars and restaurants down there if you want a change of pace from the resort. But who needs the town? The food is amazing at the Riu...I recommend the restaurant Krystal for sure, but the buffet is great too. Staff is so friendly..especially bartender Islas and all the pool bartenders. If you drink tequila, make sure to order "don julio" as the house tequila isn't that great. We met a ton of really cool people at the pool that we still keep in touch with. There was never a problem getting a seat at the pool or on the beach. The water is beautiful, and they'll serve you cocktails right there. Don't even bother walking to the other Riu's, this one is the best one. When checking in, try to upgrade to a courtyard facing room. They may want to charge you at first, so decline and they will most likely give it to you anyway if it's available. It's true that the rooms have that musty smell, but you're not in a New York City hotel, you're in the humid tropics, so deal with it. After a day or two, you don't even notice it any more. They say tips are included, but if you give the pool guy a 5 or 10, he'll be all over you all day long making you those "special" drinks. Couple bucks here and there to the bartenders is really appreciated also, and they will take great care of you if you do. I could go on and on, but for the value, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into the town (5th Ave) for tequila and other Mexican specialties.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary
Nov 30, 2008

Great only with friends

After you get your sun tan there is really not much you can do around there, besides drinking. I think that the alcohol was watered down unless you ask for it (or make your own). The nightly shows were entertaining as well. When you get there try to get reservations to their restaurants besides the buffet, because they are really really good. Definitely try their Brazilian cuisine and their steak houses Chilli's and Krystals. The other places are just meh. Tours on the beach: definitely cheaper and best of all they are legit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th Ave market is nearby. Should only cost you 50 pesos. Try the street food if you think your stomach can handle it. HAGGLE when you buy from the market.. usually you can get it 75% off their asking price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lets Go Pens!
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 14, 2010

Great Time in Riviera Maya

The atmoshere,beach,food,drink, and the room were great. Once again a great stay at a RIU Palace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 18, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall I thought this was a really good place to vacation. Only draw back was very few ocean front views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, TX
Aug 16, 2010

excelent!!! we will be back!!!

We love the experience, the oly thatreally don't like is some parent bring children less the 5 years to the restaurant(JAPANESE) and make so much noice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Terry
Business
Maine
Apr 23, 2009

Our "Best" vacation ever!

Staying at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything we had hoped for and more. We wouldn't change a thing about this resort. We have been on many trips and this was above all the best. The water fountains, the beautiful palm trees, the awesome pools, massages, the wait staff, the entertainment, the spectacular beach front, games of volleyball, parasailing, jetsking, you name it this resort is spot on. If you are looking for quiet and rest you won't be dissappointed either. Grab your towels, lounge chair or hamock, whether in the sun, on the beach or under a palm tree, and let your vacation begin. We chose not to do the tours, but did take a nice stroll each day and stopped by the shopping areas and found the streets very clean and everyone very courteous. We look forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We made reservations only once and we went to Chili's. The meal was superb.

Back to menu Return to top