$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrPunky
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2014

Amazing resort

I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts through out the Caribbean and Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya tops them all, especially for the price. The staff at this resort are FABULOUS - all of them. They are so friendly and helpful and always there. I was very impressed with the service at the pool and beach; our drinks barely reached the bottom of the glass before our server was back for another order. Servers in the buffet restaurant as well as in the ala carte restaurants were wonderful: very professional, friendly, and I loved the fact that they all had a wonderful sense of humor. I found the service through out the hotel to be exemplary. Unlike many all-inclusives, the food was excellent - even in the buffet restaurant. Many of the meals we had in the ala carte restaurants would have easily been 40 plus dollar meals at home. I love the location: perfectly situated to downtown Playa, it was a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride and downtown could be accessed via the street or the beach. The beach... It was beautiful! Miles of white powder sand and clear, turquoise water. It was perfect! There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and on the beach. At the pool, an early arrival was necessary for prime chair locations, and one thing that was refreshing was that there were relatively few people "saving" chairs. There are no umbrellas on the beach; however, they really were not necessary because there is an expansive area shaded by palms. The pool was beautiful with a great seating area in the swim up bar area and staff are constantly working to keep the pool clean. The grounds at the resort are beautiful and very clean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was looking a little worn. That's probably the only negative (for lack of a better word) that I can think of. I don't think you can go wrong with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, particularly for the price. It's an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is a vibrant place with some great restaurants. It does, however, get extremely hot downtown (we were there in July). I LOVE heat and humidity, and it was uncomfortable even for me. I would recommend that trips to that area be made in the late afternoon and early evening; it was so much more pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajiste
Business
santa cruz
Jul 18, 2014

No worries

This is a upgraded offerings for an all-inclusive. That is, everything you'd expect, and occasionally more. Staff were great- almost always courteous in assuring your satisfaction. Buffets were good to better than good. We were disappointed in the Brazilian (much too salty) and Mexican (nothing special) restaurants. Grounds were immaculate. Pool was too noisy for our liking; we found the beach to be more relaxing. Bar service is available at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must reserve restaurants between 12-3 in-person in the lobby. Only 2 reservations at a time, no more than 3 day out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex85
Business
East Texas
Jul 11, 2014

poor start to our hooneymoon

me and my wife decided to go here for our honeymoon as i had already stayed there for a wedding a few years before and really enjoyed the place. Before our trip i was in contact with one of their booking agents trying to see if there were any upgrades we could get with it being our honeymoon. they told me that we could get a room upgrade if we would bring a copy of our marriage license, and we would could also get an early check in. well having been there before i had seen most of the rooms so i booked the suite below what is a Jacuzzi suite. well anyways when we arrived which was early we were told that our room was not ready yet because it was a bigger suite. when they finally got us to the room it was not even a suite it was a standard room above the lobby. after telling them that that was not even what we had booked they showed us another room, same thing, finally they showed us to a small suite and tried to tell me the room I was describing did not exist. well the bell boy as he was taking our bags says to me i know which rooms youre talking about and shows us that suite. however they would not let us upgrade even though that suite was not used while we were there. Anyways after this long first day of being lied to we ended making the best of this situation. In all honesty this place is a nice and clean resort with good food but is run pretty poorly. Expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just and Happily Married
Business
Iowa
Jun 22, 2014

Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food was exceptional! They even made special order for any meal you had at Don Malano's. The only down side is that it was June and to eat at the Japanese restaurant men have to have a long sleeve shirt and dress pants to wear to dinner. And you must have reservations. We picked up a shirt while we were there and the place was booked out for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th ave in Playa de Carmen is just a few minute drive from the hotel. We got a cab there and back. Walked around, took photos and shopped a little. They also have a Myan show in the evening if you're interested in watching that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Business
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Business
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona69
Business
warren, nj
May 28, 2014

Dream vacation

Everthing was picture perfect, from service to location. Would definitely recommend and return. It's like a dream come true. Recommended for people of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping deals on 5th ave . Fifteen minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Business
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
Business
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Business
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top