RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
290 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack1147
Business
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CommackBill
Business
Commack
Feb 5, 2014

Relaxation. Great for couples.

I really can't say anything bad which may be the highest form of review. The food & room staff greets you with a smile. The entertainment crew is great. They provide a number of different options for you & have a great sense of humor. The beach is relatively clean & the water is clear & very inviting. The food is varied & plentiful. I wouldn't say it was top notch, but you'll find something you really like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican & Krystal are the best options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2013

great hotel chain, great vacation

everything was great. there were only a couple of things that I didn't lnd ike. We dined in the steakhouse one evening and the waiters used the water from the melted ice from the steel wine buckets to fill the patrons glasses for water. we an others thought that was a major turn off. we were always short on towels and facecloths. The evening entertainment wasn't as good as the last 3 visits. The pool games are loud and obnoxious with the PA blaring loud encouraging the young drunks. people who just like chilling out reading a book poolside just get up and leave, it kills the calm beautiful atmosphere. There are too many children activities at night near the bandstand. it would be nice if there was an Italian restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

visiting the other RIUs nearby was fun. we walked to one of the 3 every morning for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abhi Agarwal
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2013

Had a great Vacation!

Overall the vacation was awesome. This RIU property was phenomenal. Very nice beach, plenty of beach chairs. Awesome pool. They did run out of clean beach towels towards the ned of the day. Buffet food is quite good. The other restaurants need to be reserved atleast a day in advance. Although, we felt that the buffet food and all the different restaurants had similar food. It may be better to go to other RIU properties to experience a variety. We were with toddlers so buffet worked very well for us. The worst experience for us was the SPA. They charge so much money and don't even have AC in the room. Who wants a sweaty massage?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun and Fun Traveler
Business
Lincoln, California
Nov 21, 2013

Excellent Hotel

As it is not a five star hotel, this hotel comes very close to the five star rating. The food here is excellent and has such variety each day that it amazed us how they did it. It seems they have stepped up their quality, taste, service to completely take care of its clientele in all areas. You could not ask for more. We enjoyed our stay as it has been our third time and will continue to come each year. Kudo's to the staff!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the show at Xcaret and enjoy the park all day!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
Business
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JE Honeymooners.
Business
Tijuana, BC
Nov 1, 2013

Great Staff

Its really near to Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Tulum and adventure atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you need to reserve at the lobbys bar from 12pm to 3pm ONLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Honeymooners 21
Business
Minnesota
Oct 20, 2013

Great stay for our honeymoon

We just got back from our week long stay. The resort was awesome. Great friendly staff. Your drink would never be empty! We are in our mid twenties and noticed that this resort attracts an older population so If you're looking for crazy night life and younger couples this isn't the place for you. We recommend bringing extra cash to tip the staff, as it seemed almost customary when we looked around at other guests. The hotel offers lots of free activities such as kayaking, boogy boards, catamaran, ping pong, volleyball, etc. The resort offers shows every night. In my opinion they were all lame. The restaurants are okay, they present their food wonderfully. However, a lot of the main courses and appetizers were served raw, something that my culture is not accustomed to and would definitely get me sick. We ended up eating the buffet most of the time because there's always something you could find there. But the food was very bland in my opinion. It just tasted "different". Overall we had a great time though. The resort is gorgeous and very safe in the gated community of playa car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
Business
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vbg003
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 9, 2013

Good food and excellent service

Hotel is little bit old, we changed it with Riu Palace Mexico. That hotel is very nice just renovated, staff was very friendly. Room floor get very wet but if you keep the AC on 69-70 it's Ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top