$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina Kool Momma
Couples
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Couples
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Couples
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2013 Honeymooners
Couples
Meridian, Id
Jun 22, 2013

Most Happening Hotel in Playacar

All the hotels around us were very quiet. The Staff at the RIU Palace kept the party and entertainment going nonstop. Would definitely recommend and would go back. Had a blast! Service by the staff was top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo was a blast.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EandW
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 19, 2013

Wonderful couples vacation

Very nice hotel. Food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Great variety of drinks, however they would taste better if they have a little more alcohol. Location was great; very safe area and just a 15-20 minutes walk to downtown Playa del Carmen (5ta avenida). We highly recomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whats up man
Family
San Antonio
Aug 9, 2013

RIU PALACE INCREDIBLE!!!!!

ONE WORD AMAZING!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. WORTH EVERY PENNY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
Friends
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun and Fun Traveler
Couples
Lincoln, California
Nov 21, 2013

Excellent Hotel

As it is not a five star hotel, this hotel comes very close to the five star rating. The food here is excellent and has such variety each day that it amazed us how they did it. It seems they have stepped up their quality, taste, service to completely take care of its clientele in all areas. You could not ask for more. We enjoyed our stay as it has been our third time and will continue to come each year. Kudo's to the staff!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the show at Xcaret and enjoy the park all day!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Couples
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Abbotsford
Dec 8, 2008

Doing it right the first time.

The RIU Palace was awesome, it was everything we thought it would be and more. The room was great very posh. Our room attendant always had the room looking new everyday. The beach was beautiful and our waiter out there really charmed my wife. The Palace was close to town, an easy 15 minute stroll. A great full patio with chairs was nice. The food was beyond our expectations as was the service. We saw people with children there and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. We felt we wouldn't bring kids to a place like this. It felt more adult oriented and we liked that. The only thing we didn't like and there isn't anyway to fix it was the ambient noise from the hallways and such. It is all marble floors and tiles so there is no sound absorbion. So someone walking to there room and talking at 3am is right in your room. As is the child at 7am was in yelling down the hall. Other wise we are going back and look forward to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top