$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun and Fun Traveler
Lincoln, California
Nov 21, 2013

Excellent Hotel

As it is not a five star hotel, this hotel comes very close to the five star rating. The food here is excellent and has such variety each day that it amazed us how they did it. It seems they have stepped up their quality, taste, service to completely take care of its clientele in all areas. You could not ask for more. We enjoyed our stay as it has been our third time and will continue to come each year. Kudo's to the staff!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the show at Xcaret and enjoy the park all day!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newman Lake, WA
Mar 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort

We just got home after a week's stay March 6-13. We would definitely go back. Immaculate resort with attentive staff looking to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Loved the beach, didn't spend much time in the pool- it was colder than the ocean and hard to get loungers poolside. Not so on the beach, they were always available. Lots of activity and higher noise level at pool. If you like to sunbathe in peace and quiet, the beach is the place to do it. Food was better than expected at the buffet, with choices changing nightly. The specialty restaurants had some limited availability, but we got into the ones we were interested in . The best steak I've had in Mexico at Chili's. Can't say enough about the staff, from housekeepers(loved the varied towel animals) to the wait staff. Very attentive to our needs. Nightly entertainment was available, some more enjoyable than others, but the resort tried hard to accomodate different tastes. All in all, a high class resort dedicated to customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bustopher
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Top Notch Experience

Everything was great - good food, good drinks, good sevice, good weather. This was our fifth time visiting this same resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't let them tell you you can only make reservations for two nights - if you follow those rules you won't be able to visit all of the resorts! The gourmet restaurant is my favorite!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug and Lisa W.
Elkhorn, WI
Feb 17, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

This was our first trip to Mexico and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The resort was beautiful, the staff very friendly, and the food and drinks were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
people lover
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 20, 2009

DREAM VACATION 009

The staff met your every need.Grounds well kept. The only bad experience was that one night a man was let into our room by mistake. I was so scared. I got my husband, and we called security. It took two phone calls. The man was drunk, and very very rude. Called my husband names, and wouldn't leave. We got him to leave just before security arrived.I insisted the bed be changed. It was just, thank God, a man let in by the maid, in the wrong room. Not a thief. Overall the trip was beautiful, restful, and we truly enjoyed the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

BRING LONG PANTS AND A DRESS SHIRT. For dinner, which I loved, the men needed to look business casual. No problem for the women, we always dress up.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jul 7, 2007

Gorgeus Hotel excelent location

The Hotel is gorgeus, the architecture and decoration WOW. Play Del Carmen is beautiful and just 5 minutes from the hotel, good food, nice pools and beautiful and romantic private beach. The best food was Chilly's restaurant inside the hotel with delicious steak. Be prepared to climb stairs and do some walking(wich is good after so much eating). The different variety of licors bottles free at the room is really coolto have. A tip would be for you to go to Cancum stop at Playa Delphines (GORGEUS) and them spend the rest of the day at the other RIU Palace there, they have a delicious Italian food walk in restaurant for lunch and no reservation required. You can use the facilities, pool, beach and spa to take a shower and even enjoy some of the nightlife in Cancun and drive back to Play Del Carmen. We had a great relaxation time!Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping at Play Del Carmen downtown

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Dec 29, 2009

You CAN'T go wrong with this place!

This is the ultimate place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Everything at this resort received a 5-star. The food, drinks, fun, and ammenities were non-stop and outstanding. Comfortable rooms, bed, and great bath jacuzzi. Very accomodating - will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go outside of Hotel for drinks or dining!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Go to this place!!

This is the second time at this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back again. One of the best things is that you're not stranded at an all inclusive. The town (which is awesome) is only a 15 minute walk or about a $5 cab ride. Great bars and restaurants down there if you want a change of pace from the resort. But who needs the town? The food is amazing at the Riu...I recommend the restaurant Krystal for sure, but the buffet is great too. Staff is so friendly..especially bartender Islas and all the pool bartenders. If you drink tequila, make sure to order "don julio" as the house tequila isn't that great. We met a ton of really cool people at the pool that we still keep in touch with. There was never a problem getting a seat at the pool or on the beach. The water is beautiful, and they'll serve you cocktails right there. Don't even bother walking to the other Riu's, this one is the best one. When checking in, try to upgrade to a courtyard facing room. They may want to charge you at first, so decline and they will most likely give it to you anyway if it's available. It's true that the rooms have that musty smell, but you're not in a New York City hotel, you're in the humid tropics, so deal with it. After a day or two, you don't even notice it any more. They say tips are included, but if you give the pool guy a 5 or 10, he'll be all over you all day long making you those "special" drinks. Couple bucks here and there to the bartenders is really appreciated also, and they will take great care of you if you do. I could go on and on, but for the value, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into the town (5th Ave) for tequila and other Mexican specialties.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 1, 2009

Great hotel

Very relaxing trip. Staff was wonderful, very attentive and never intrusive. Our Orbitz rep at the hotel, [...] suggested wonderful tours...loved the snorkeling. The buffet was always good...something interesting to try every night. Great experience. We were saddened that the resport was only half occupied (and the sister property was closed) due to the Swine Flu scare. Hopefully things will soon be back to normal for the very professional, friendly & gracious staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uaprincess
Coralville, IA
Sep 30, 2009

Romantic getaway

This is the best trip I have ever taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top