$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
295 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nonmex traveller
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2011

Enjoyed getting pampered

It was my first trip to the Cancun area and in an all inclusive hotel. I expected buffets and drinks, but never realized the buffet choices and food amounts along with the quality drinks were going to be the norm. This is the newest of the chain in Playa de Carmen, if you want lots of discos and college crowds, then this is NOT the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

A one dollar or two dollar tip gets you excellent service throughout your trip and never hesitate trying to speak Spanish, they really do enjoy speaking in their native language to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jan 24, 2010

Sweet!

This was our first all-inclusive resort experience, and it was fantastic. Our normal vacation is spent traipsing through some foreign city, figuring out bus schedules, medium-to-low-end accommodations, and DIY catering. Those trips are very interesting, but not relaxing.. so at Riviera Maya, we were looking just to relax and get enough warmth to last the rest of the winter.We found the staff to be gracious, the beach warm and welcoming, and the food varied and delicious. At first I thought it would be important to reserve the 'special' restaurants each night, but the normal buffet and service at Don Manolo were great. Try Krystal for artful cuisine and presentation (and better wine than usual) but the others could be missed.We took one day to see Chichen Itza [...]and it was a fine trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohioguy88
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 29, 2010

Excellent Service

Service was spectacular. They were always quick to offer drinks and sometimes food from anywhere you were on the property. Staff could be seen cleaning the grounds all the time. Rooms have a nice feel to them and were very clean. Food was very good for an all inclusive place. Beach area was nice with a good mix of sun and shade from all the palm trees if you like that option. Caters to 40 something couples, with a lot of activities and music in the evenings. The nightly shows are "campy" but entertaining. The site is part of a large complex that is gated, so it is safe to walk outside the hotel, there is a nice sized market easily within walking distance. Hour drive from the Cancun airport is the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners 2010
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 18, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing, & Excellent service

Stayed a week. Well worth the money. Gorgeous hotel and surroundings!!!! Lots of activities and nightly shows in the theatre were all excellent. Food was good. You have to make reservations at 5 of the restaurants for dinner. The best two take a few days ahead of time to get into but they're worth it. (Krystal and the Japanese one) You can only make two reservations at a time and the only times you can do it are between 12-3 which is when you're usually gone on a day trip of some sort so you have to plan it out well to get the restaurants you want and you may need to just eat buffet dinner one night to make it all work out but the buffet is still good too. One staircase walk way coming in from the courtyard smells like throw up during the day only, its weird. The rooms feel damp. Although there is one weird smell and damp rooms I would go back in a heartbeat! It was absolutely gorgeous, relaxing and so much fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Dec 12, 2010

beautiful location

great beach, food, pools, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Dec 20, 2010

Good

We were staying in RIU Hotels for many times, but our experience with this RIU Palace hotel was unpleasant because our room was robbed and our valuable belongings disappeared, the hotel manager did not find time to talk to us personally. We were informed that it would take couple of days to investigate our report but nobody contacted us in NY when we came home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rest and Relax
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Couples get away

We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun a couple of times, and had some of our best vacations ever. We thought we would give the Riu Palace Riviera Maya a try. It seems it is a safe bet to say at any Riu Palace. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the food is good. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located in a beautiful gated community, with 4 other Riu Properties guest have access to. Riu Palace Riviera Maya is a beautifully property with a great beach. However, this was the first time there where soooo many children, and no where to escape. This might have been because it was spring break, but I have traveled before during spring break and there is usually extra college kids, but this was 5 months to 12 years old children that where in excess.This is great for families traveling together, but couples that need to escape and relax, I would pay the extra to stay at a no children resort, especially during spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveller
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 21, 2010

Small but Amazing

The hotel service was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left the service was fast, efficient and friendly. The room was very nice and cleaned everyday. The bar fridge was fully stocked with alcohol, pop and water. We were also very happy with the food. The buffet was excellent and we had no trouble getting into the other restaurants. Delicious. We have stayed at two other hotels in this area. The service and food was well above the other two hotels we stayed at. The only down side was that it is a smaller resort. However, the night life here was way more happening then other resorts we have been to. Plus, we never had a problem finding deck or beach chairs!! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In a short walk away from the downtown is a small shopping area where we found a lot of our take home treasures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top