RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 27, 2008

The best service money can buy

This resort is what any tourist would wish for. The service was second to none. I mean they cleaned our room twice each day. The place was well kept and cleaned on a regular basis.I will rate this Hotel a 4.8 out of 5. One suggestionis they should offer bedroon slipper along with the bath robes that they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the town to catch the ferry to go to Cossumel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Beach and pool are truly exceptional!!

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya, is a very beautiful hotel with accomadting staff. The beach area & pool are exceptional. The only slight complaint, would be the food. The buffets aren't all that great. And trying to secure a reservation for the dining rooms can be tedious. However, the drinks are worth it!! I would definetly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Playa de Carmen had quite a few Nightclubs and lounges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, *
Aug 4, 2008

Relaxing, Fun Time

Hotel was clean, service was excellent and pool/beach was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is very fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Rock, *
Jul 31, 2008

Just OK

Food was fairly good. Did not like having to get in line daily to make a reservation. Always needed to call for bath towels. Did not like the pool towel card system. Entertainment was just plain bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, *
Jul 4, 2008

What an awesome experience!!!!

WOW! What an awesome vacation! I took my son and two of his friends (all 18 years old) following their graduation and we had an incredible time! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated with the best service. Everyone was always happy to help in any way and the service was impeccable! The rooms were very clean - Just the beds were a bit firm, however, they very quickly brought up a mattress pad, which helped a lot. The area is very family friendly with people of all ages joining in on all the various activities, so you were never without something to do (unless you wanted to it that way). The boys had a blast parasailing, swimming, kayaking, beach volleyball, tennis, pool activities, and of course, the beach!). The food was very tasty. We preferred the buffet (lots of variety), but the steak dinner was good also. There is a little shopping area about a 10 minute walk that you can go to, but various vendors come and display things in the courtyard, so you really don't have to go anywhere! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACk!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ridgewood
Jun 22, 2008

LOVE love LOOOOVE this place.

I think this is the IDEAL resort in Mexico. Its an about an hour drive from the airport in Cancun, but totally worth the extra travel time. All of the RIU properties are within an ACTUAL town--walking distance to shops and clubs, or a 50 peso cab ride ($5 USD), whereas most other resorts are off the side of a freeway. This location is perfect such that you can go to head north and visit cancun, or south to Tulum and visit ancient Mayan ruins (beautiful). Ferries also depart from Playa del Carmen to go to Cozumel. Pretty much everything is within reach. The room, the beach and entire property was clean, and the service was impeccable. The ONLY complaint i had was that one day i returned to my room to find damp sheets on the bed. I told the front desk about it and it was taken care of IMMEDIATELY. i was so impressed with the service that I gave the housekeeper a nice tip. The staff was extremely friendly and engaging. At first glance i thought the evening entertainment would be corny, but it was actually quite fun! I've told all of my friends and family about this place and i am DEFINITELY going back!! I have no children and didn't do any business while I was out there, but there is free WIFI in the entire massive lobby of the hotel, wake-up calls were always punctual, and most mom's and children seemed happy. This hotel is very accomodating to both families and singles. Overall i had an AMAZING experience and i cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Its walkign distance from la quinta avenida (5th avenue), but I'd never walk in strong sun in a direction im not exactly sure how to reach. Cabs are easily accessible from the hotel and its about a 5 minute drive. Just tell them you want to go to la quinta avenida and there you shall find an insane amount of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indian Trail
Jun 18, 2008

Great for a romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed at this resort for our 5 year anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful and we had a great time. We loved the pool area, you have your choice of the smaller infinity pool or the larger pool with the swim up bar and lounge chairs. The beach is incredible and the resort offers a ton to do right there at the shore. They have an entertainment team which provide things like water aerobics, beach volleyball, stuff for the kids, etc. which gave us some things to do. The location is great, there are a few other Riu hotels within walking distance that you can go check out and the town is only a $5 cab ride and they have over 14 blocks of shopping. We went parasailing and also did the Tulum Extreme Adventure package which we highly recommend! The only things we were a little disappointed in were the beds (kind of hard), the shower (really low water pressure and a touchy thermostat) and the fitness center (not air conditioned enough). This hotel is an awesome value for the money-we will be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 5th Avenue shopping center is not that far away, it took us about 25 minutes to walk there or its a $5 cab ride. Don't be overcharged by a cab company... they are all supposed to be a flat rate of $5 to and from the town. Be careful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando
Jun 16, 2008

Excellent!

This hotel had everything you could ever want. Plenty of restaurants to eat, lovely rooms, spa, pool, beach and much more. They even provided entertainment to keep you active and having fun every day. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone. It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go outside the main entrance and take a left. After a short walk you will see a mall on the right with tons of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
River Grove
Jun 16, 2008

Greatest value around

In having quite a bit of travel experience, the RIU Palace Riviera Maya really was the greatest value around. Location, location, location, we were close enough to walk into the downtown playa del carmen shopping area, roughly a 15 minute walk. Also, in being part of the RIU chain of hotels, we were able to walk around to the other hotels and have drinks and snacks at other RIU hotels and we were so happy with our decision with picking 'the palace,' that we decided that our hotel really was called 'the palace' for a reason. We had seen enough and decided that we could really just stay at our hotel for everything. We got massages that were just perfectly relaxing, exactly what was needed. All of the staff were very pleasant, the chandeleirs in the lobby were beautiful, the room was so clean, the fountains and pools were picture perfect even though the weather didn't hold up its end of the bargain, the entire trip was great! The restaurants and the buffet was all so delicious and fresh, so much so, that my very 'picky husband' gained 10 pounds on our 7 night stay! Please don't forget to reserve dinner at the very authentic Japanese restaurant. This hotel really was worth every penny, it was the 'greatest value around.'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel seemed to be centrally located, where at night you could easily see the beautiful lights of Cozumel. I'd say it was definitely a short walk, about 15 minutes, to great shopping values in the playa del carmen shopping-souveneirs area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chestnut Hill
Jun 14, 2008

Great Place

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and constantly maintained. Everything was perfect. I stayed 8 nights and the only downside was the reservations (which no one shows up for) at the resteraunts are annoying to make and you get sick of the resort food on extended stays. However, 5th ave is a short walk away and has great dining options mroe than cheaply priced for even the best ones. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top