RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cassieakasam
Business
mountain House, CA
Aug 18, 2011

Love love love

This was a wonderful getaway for DH & I. The hotel was charming and the staff went above an beyond to make our stay memorable. I wish there was WIFI in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If anyone tells you that you can walk to 5th ave, DON'T DO IT!!!! Unless you like the 30-40 minutes walk in the heat. Take the $7 cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pistakee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 24, 2010

Constructive criticism

Beautiful resort, nice rooms, nice pool and beach, good location, you can walk to town (about 2 miles)or take a short cab ride for $5 or $50 pesos, excellent front desk service, average wait staff service, very few premium liquors, poor food quality at themed restaurants and poor shows, average buffets, went jet skiing for $60 US for 30 min, took resort Hobie Cat catamaran out for a sail for an hour (included in resort fee), shopping, dining, cocktails, dancing and sightseeing in town. Go vist the Blue Parrot bar on the beach one night and see the fire show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Frances
Business
USA
Sep 5, 2007

riu palace riveria maya

we had looked at several reviews for this hotel so we knew what it would look like. food was okay/ hard to get into specialty restaurants. front desk help was the least helpful. beds were hard, got the bed toppers and they helped somewhat. beach area right at the ocean is very small. would like to know what kind of liquor they use, because we would have 10 or more mixed drinks a day and never got a buzz. the hotel decor was nice, food was average, overall it was okay. but i expected more. it was close to playa downtown and to take ferry over to cozmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY workaholic
Business
New York City
Sep 8, 2009

Mellow Mexico

I laid, happily, by the pool. I sipped cocktails, and relaxed. Mission accomplished. I would have liked a few more vegetarian options, considering even the salads had bacon in them. My only gripe was the bedding. For someone who rarely gets sun on their skin, scratchy blankets don't feel good on burnt skin. Softer bedding, and softer mattresses would be a hugh benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Jul 23, 2010

GREAT VACATION

Everything was great!! I would go back tomorrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Oct 29, 2009

Wonderful Stay!

Wonderful getaway for our anniversary! We stayed 6 nights and I cannot say anything negative about the hotel. We made reservations at 4 of the restaurants and Krystal was my favorite! Definitely worth making the reservation! We also took the Mayan adventure snorkeling tour and swam around sea turtles and through a cenote. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked about 20 minutes (cabs only $5) from the hotel to 5th Avenue. There's a lot of shops, clubs, and restaurants there. We ate at Los Rancheros and split the Mexican Platter. It came with chips, salsa, beans, kabobs, sausage, ribs, fajitas, and quesadillas. Well worth $50 USD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexico first timer
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2011

Nice Hotel but Not The Best

The hotel was great, the beach and pool were really good. The only issue was the staff, I think they can be a little more professional. They act like they are at their own hotel. But other than that it is definitely a great place for a summer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for Steak House and Japanese they are amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU ALL INCLUSIVE
Business
New York, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Jan stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Staff was exceptional, very attentive, polite and bilingual. The took care of our every need and happily worked diligently with everything they did. RIU found a clan of perfectionists to work here! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous as you can no doubt see from the many online pictures. However in person it radiates class. The rooms, even the most efficiently priced rooms were large, air-conditioned with comfortable beds sand TVs with US channels. Food was amazing and diverse! We ate in many of the specialty restaurant and enjoyed them immensly. The only note here is that they follow a fancy European course timetable. Allowing much time between course for conversation. The buffets were fantastic and changed from day to day. They offered many many good foods and also offered something for the Vegan in our group. I intend on going back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top