$301 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rest and Relax
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Couples get away

We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun a couple of times, and had some of our best vacations ever. We thought we would give the Riu Palace Riviera Maya a try. It seems it is a safe bet to say at any Riu Palace. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the food is good. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located in a beautiful gated community, with 4 other Riu Properties guest have access to. Riu Palace Riviera Maya is a beautifully property with a great beach. However, this was the first time there where soooo many children, and no where to escape. This might have been because it was spring break, but I have traveled before during spring break and there is usually extra college kids, but this was 5 months to 12 years old children that where in excess.This is great for families traveling together, but couples that need to escape and relax, I would pay the extra to stay at a no children resort, especially during spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveller
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 21, 2010

Small but Amazing

The hotel service was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left the service was fast, efficient and friendly. The room was very nice and cleaned everyday. The bar fridge was fully stocked with alcohol, pop and water. We were also very happy with the food. The buffet was excellent and we had no trouble getting into the other restaurants. Delicious. We have stayed at two other hotels in this area. The service and food was well above the other two hotels we stayed at. The only down side was that it is a smaller resort. However, the night life here was way more happening then other resorts we have been to. Plus, we never had a problem finding deck or beach chairs!! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In a short walk away from the downtown is a small shopping area where we found a lot of our take home treasures.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen K
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Jun 9, 2009

Great Stay!

The hotel itself is gorgeous and more than you can ask for. I didn't care for the front desk staff, but everyone else was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice sized and comfortable. The cleaning staff could do a better job, by mopping the floors regularly. We had to ask several times on our 12 day trip. You tend to get a lot of grit on the floor coming in from the beach and all. My mothers room had some roaches, which I didn't find out until later. I would have made them switch me rooms. That is horrible. The food was excellent as it is at all RIU resorts i have been too. Always a variety and after 12 days I still found plenty of things to eat without being repetitive. The pools are very warm, not quit sure why that is. Both pools actually could use a renovation. There are several areas where you can tell tile has been replaced, and it is badly done at that. There is a lot of mold in the grout of the pools, etc. Alot of the chairs around the pool are broken and need replaced (ie. the arms, etc). However, there are plenty of other chairs that are fine. Same with the umbrellas, i had to rig them most of the time to stay up because the pins are gone that hold them up. The beach is totally awesome, i love the fact you can have full sun or lay under the trees in a chair or a hammock. I would stay there again especially for everytihng you get and the beauty of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nutley
Jan 6, 2009

bad food

I thought the RIU was absolutely breath taking and the room was always kept up. The pool and service were incredible. However the food was a disaster. It looks nice but I got really sick the second day due to it. I did not drink the water or anything, it was from the food. I was really disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely should do Tulum extreme, zip lining and repelling. was a blast

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myni
Business
Houston Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Great All Inclusive at a Great Price!

Our room was amazing! We had a jacuzzi on the 2nd floor balconey that we used every night and could hear the music from the band below! The food was good and the drinks to die for! I would definatly recommend this hotel for couples or honey-mooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy anything from the vendors at the hotel..they will rip you off..go into town or to the little shops in Playacar and rembember to ALWAYS negotiate down...they start pretty high

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 14, 2011

Resort - Great, Service OK

Went for some adult time to relax and forget about worries and stresses. Beautiful resort, good food. Kind of a pain to get reservations for the ala cartes. We ended up slipping some $$ to the guy doing the reservations and were able to get to where we wanted to be. Otherwise we were told they were booked. Funny thing was when dining, there were always several empty tables. hmmmmm/ Pool and beach beautiful with ample areas of either sun or shade. The days flew by, nites were fun, and shows were cute. Nice resort in all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Slip some cash, money talks!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 21, 2007

Our 25th with our Kids

This is quite a hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Location was good, service and food terrific. Room location/quality was just Ok! For a celebration like ours, room location was not good...stuck in the front corner next to street-farthest from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tours to local historical and tourist sites are wonderful.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 27, 2007

Great Experience

This was our second stay at this hotel so we obviously had a great time the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jan 9, 2010

nice place

grand hotel very nice very luxurious. Room was quite sexy and modern great condition, bed a bit uncomfortable, but great beach, service was attentive, food was pretty good and at times incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

playacar golf course is right across the street. It is the hardest course I have ever played by a lot a real lot

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Business
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top