$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Couples
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sue & ralph
Couples
fort atkinson, WI
Feb 28, 2010

fantastic family getaway

excellent WE enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2010

Fantastic location

The staff was friendly and helpful from the first moment of check in. The hotel is gorgeous, it has the best location, very wide lovely uncrowded beach area with many palm trees affording shade. The food at the buffet was fantastic,paella,roasted lamb, pasta ,great desserts. We are already planning our visit for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston, eh
Family
Houston
Dec 26, 2010

pre-Christmas trip

Overall fantastic trip. This was our third Riu stay, and would definitely book here again. Great amenities including a golf course across the street (literally!), and a 5-minute walk to Starbucks. Safe location, friendly staff and great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mini-mall just down the road from the hotel - had all the usual souvenirs, plus a restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy/convenience stores. All within a 5-minute (safe) walk from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaritas!
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great time!

Overall the hotel was very nice. The food and drinks were great as always. Good location. Decent pool (although got a little grungy with so many people though). The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful! We were able to take out one of the catamarans that they had there - what a blast. It was quite possibly the slowest catamaran that I have ever sailed, but there was no question how beautiful the coast line there is. For area attractions: We took a $5 USD cab ride into Playa Del Carmen - it is a fun afternoon to walk through the shopping district. Don't expect great bargains, but the area is a fun stroll. We did a whale shark snorkeling tour. It was a long, but fun day. And definitely a unique experience! I don't know if I'd do it again, but I'm really happy we did it! The highlight of the tour was a day trip to Chichen Itza (the big mayan pyramid in the middle of the Yucatan). The complex (includes pyrmid and a good number of other facinating buildings) is a can't miss! The day is realatively long, but it is so facinating that the day flies by. I'm definitely going to back again soon! We wanted to go diving in a cenote (freshwater cave). Unfortunately a case of Montezuma's revenge canceled that trip... But we will be back and will give that a try as the cenotes look beautiful! There are many different activities that you can do in the Cancun/PDC area, but if you are going to do one - make it a trip to Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The biggest surprise about the trip was meeting with the Orbitz "travel agent." We met with a guy named [...] who worked with Mayaland Tours and was contracted to service Orbitz customers. [...] was awesome to work with on setting up tours. He gave us excellent advice and fantastic service. He followed up with us a few times in the middle of our stay and helped us to change our reservation on one tour and cancel another. Going through [...] was a real time and hassle saver!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Jun 23, 2009

Better than we expected!!!

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Riviera Maya for my 30th birthday. we got a 4 night 5 day package from cleveland for 1227 through orbitz from june 18-22, but keep in mind the price was low mostly because of the whole swine-flu thing,which was totally not present to our knowledge anywhere we went in Riviera Maya! This hotel was much more gorgeous than we expected! It was in a gated community with other hotels and homes, we felt very safe. It had a classic look, I was suprised to find out the hotel was built in 06! I cannot say enough about the beauty of the landscaping, the old-world look of the hotel, and the beautiful beach and ocean. We had a room that had a king bed and a small sitting area with a couch, coffee table, and flat screen tv. King bed was a bit hard but we slept just fine. There is also a safe in the room which is free of charge. The only downside to the hotel room was that the bathroom had no ventilation fan, the shower had no light inside it, and the room had a bit of a musty smell. Not unpleasant, but if you are sensitive to that kind of smell, bring along a scented candle. I got used to it. Also there were a few small ants in the room but HELLO you are in the tropics and some of that is just impossible to avoid. I took them outside if I could catch them. We had a room that faced the large courtyard area and it was awesome, they had live music from about 7p-9p every night, and usually a show in the theatre nearby. It was cool to sit on the small patio and listen or walk to the pavilion area and sit at a table and get a drink. There is a small workout facility with some basic equipment, 2 treadmills and an elliptical trainer along with some other older machines. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and pool and right outside the gym there are hammocks tied to palm trees on the beach! Gorgeous. The food was better than expected. (We stayed at the Sun Palace all inclusive in Cancun for our honeymoon a few years ago and the food was very bland, it wasn't so here) You make reservations for the specialty restaurants in the hotel lobby bar area from 12-3pm. The first day we were there, they had no more reservations left and we ate at the buffet that night, which has a large variety of quality stuff. (A lot of times you see food from the night before end up at the buffet the next day at other resorts, but I really didnt see any of that here) Please be prepared for this, I saw a lot of people walk away unhappy without reservations because of that. The other three nights we were able to get into a restaurant but some of them (Krystal and the brazilian restaurant) were always sold out. We were a little disappointed but the food at the other restaurants was very good. I can see how they sell out quickly because the specialty restaurants are very small inside. Be advised that if you are a vegetarian it may be hard for you at the specialty restaurants, they do have some veggie choices but not many, the buffet would probably be the better route for you! (For lunch the buffet called chili's is open, really nice lunch items, and beautiful view of ocean and pool!)The employees all work very hard and are pleasant but we did NOT expect them to all know english. There were many that did not speak english but it wasnt a problem, you can still communicate ok. It is helpful to know some spanish. Also even though its an all-inclusive we brought a stack of singles for the maids, waiters, bartenders, etc. I doubt they make much money and they really work very hard to make you happy. Also dont be alarmed if you ask a bartender for a drink and he starts making some other drinks and helping other people, he will get to you. Some people at the swim-up bar were like "hey isnt it my turn?" But understand they have a rotation system and they WILL get your drink, it just may not be as quick as you would expect. Anyway I hope this helps! Go and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to make dining reservations ASAP as soon as you get there. Be advised, they sell out very quickly, and they only allow you to make 2 reservations at a time, so you will probably have to come back unless you would rather eat at the dinner buffet.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Margarita Tasters
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Aug 31, 2009

Fantastic All Inclusive

This is a nice property-very clean and well-kept. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The only bad experience was with the Scuba Caribe group - the dive experience was disorganized and unpleasant. The restaurants at this property are great. The location was convenient to Playa del Carmen-just a five minute cab ride to shopping. Also a nice shopping area 5 minutes walk from the hotel in Playacar. Very few kids, nice and quiet for the most part. We would recommend to couples looking for a get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your activities ahead of time whenever possible. There are travel reps at the hotel but it is a hassle to sort through who is legitimate and who is selling time shares. We booked all through orbitz and we had one rep-good price-no hassle.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hartford, CT
Mar 1, 2010

I would return

I would say my overall experience was excellent. Great staff always there to help and to serve you. The hotel itself was spotless. Great beach access with plenty of palm tree shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The A Team
Family
Northern VA
Oct 18, 2009

A nice place!

Great location and very friendly staff. Pool area is nice with music and free-flowing drinks! Beach area is nice too with sun and also shaded areas to lay in. Food was good, but watch your attire. They will ask you to leave and change if you are not suitably attired. Dinner seems to be the time they are most picky about how you are dressed! Be sure to book theme restaurants right at 12 Noon each day. Each seating (2) only takes about 40-50 people so space is limited. If you go to the Lobby bar about 11:45AM you will be one of the first in line. You can only book 2 nights at a time! Rooms are nice, but hallways being all tile do make them noisy if you are trying to sleep. Also, a room facing the courtyard could be noisy as they have music and other entertainment each night in the main courtyard. The beds were a bit too firm for us...AC and ceiling fan in room was just fine to keep us cool enough. Staff was very friendly, but brush up on your Spanish to make sure you can ask questions, etc. Front desk was fluent in English. TV in room has mostly spanish speaking channels, but you do get Miami TV and the others like CNN. We also got TNT which had movies back to back. Remember there is a nice gift shop/sundries shop located underneath the main entrance. You have to go out the front doors and down the driveway (either direction) to get to this shop. It is directly underneath the front doors. They have much more than the small Lobby shop. Starbucks is nearby for those of you who can't survive without it. Travel from airport to resort is slow and painful on Gray Line. We paid $40 US to get a lift from Cancun back to the resort. The Gray Line shuttle is a little cheaper RT, but you will have to stop 3-4 times along the way to pick up and drop off others. That's a pain, as none of the resorts are near the road. Double check to make sure your "departure tax" has been included in your airline ticket. If not - $55 per person at the airport to get out of Mexico. This is a great palce to stay. Clean and well maintained. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC
Mar 12, 2011

Relaxing

Very friendly staff that go out of there way to take care of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top