$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great getaway

This is a great resort...the service was excellent and the food was very good. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were quite nice. My only complaint was the bed...it was way to hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa De Carmen was a 10 minute walk. 5th Ave is a great place to go shopping.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elkton, VA
Oct 8, 2008

Wonderful Resort

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything that we could want in a resort and more. From check-in to check-out, service was fantastic. We received a free upgrade to ocean-front room. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out, nice large bathroom with double sinks. Drink service was exceptional everywhere with the exception of the beach, where service was nonexistent. At the pool and bars, you rarely had an empty drink in your hand. All of the employees were friendly and maid service was provided twice a day. The food was excellent in the buffets. We went to 2 ala cartes, the Steakhouse and the Brazilion. We actually preferred the dinner buffet over the ala cartes. The pool and beach were beautiful, no complaints whatsoever. There were plenty of loungers and shade by the pool and beach. There were also hammocks to lounge in. We enjoyed the 24 hour sports bar where you could always find drinks and snacks. The grounds and hotel were beautiful and you always saw people cleaning at all hours of the day. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone (except maybe those with kids since there were not many kids here). I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Snellville, GA
Oct 5, 2008

Fabulous getaway

My husband and I went to this RIU for 4 nights as a quick getaway in the fall. What a fabulous time. The wait staff was incredible. We went with another couple and had a gret time. The bar was so much fun, a piano player every evening, then out to the patio to listen to live music before our dinner reservations. By the way like the way you make those reservations now - no longer getting up at crack of dawn while on vacation - just go to the bar at noon. The specialty restaurants were all great except one - and that was ok, because I went to the regular resataurant instead and had a fabulous meal there. No matter where I sat there was always some polite staff ready to get me a drink or serve me. The poolside bar was convenient and the outside dining was wonderful, we never even made it out to an outside establishment because we had so much fun here!! The location was great in Playacar an exclusive area and a short walk to downtown for some local shoppping. I needed the exercise after all that eating and drinking! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampico, TM
Oct 1, 2008

Great place

Very nice hotel, the dinner options superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations just arriving. Go to the 5th Avenue day and night.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, NL
Oct 1, 2008

Excelent service

The excelent service that this hotel has ressembles the one you receive on cruises. Everything is possible, no excuses. I visit it on low season, I didn?t see any service attitude diminishing, everybody there wants your comfort. And the facilities are more much than nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen itself is a better base to visit Xcaret than Cancun

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove
Sep 30, 2008

great service

The resort was amazing. I was impressed with the hotel itself it was beautilful along with the beach. I have never seen anything like it. The service was exceptional I have never experienced such care and attention. It was worth every penny... The only thing I wasnt so pleased with was the food for the buffet I was expecting more authentic food. The pool was great along with all the bars. The drinks were always made to my liking. It was the best vacation I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you do the Jungle tour in Rivera Maya its a little bit of everything.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nezahualcoyotl
Sep 20, 2008

Excelent value

RIU Palace Riviera Maya is a great and beautiful hotel. Architecture is very nice, but specially loved the staff, the friendliness & the beach. Additionally you can just get on a 2-km walk and get downtown in Playa del Carmen. I really recommend it!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping & entertainment at your fingertips.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!

I just got back from a one week stay at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya, and had an amazing time. We loved everything about this place from the lobby to the beach. The staff was so friendly, everything was always so clean, the food was awesome. It was such a relaxing trip, and we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the lobby and go left there is a small shopping area a couple of minutes away, and if you go to the right and walk about 15-20 minutes you will be on 5th avenue, a big area of shopping bars, and restaurants.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Very family friendly

It could use morning cardio work out with a profesional arobic instractor in a airconitioned jim at list 4 times a week. The door in the room had a problem with a lock. And a room could use at list a chair. The Toors are very poorly orgonised.And transportation from airport to the hotel and back could be a little more polished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could use some live Jazz. Graet dinning, and close to everything

Back to menu Return to top