$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, NL
Oct 1, 2008

Excelent service

The excelent service that this hotel has ressembles the one you receive on cruises. Everything is possible, no excuses. I visit it on low season, I didn?t see any service attitude diminishing, everybody there wants your comfort. And the facilities are more much than nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen itself is a better base to visit Xcaret than Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove
Sep 30, 2008

great service

The resort was amazing. I was impressed with the hotel itself it was beautilful along with the beach. I have never seen anything like it. The service was exceptional I have never experienced such care and attention. It was worth every penny... The only thing I wasnt so pleased with was the food for the buffet I was expecting more authentic food. The pool was great along with all the bars. The drinks were always made to my liking. It was the best vacation I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you do the Jungle tour in Rivera Maya its a little bit of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nezahualcoyotl
Sep 20, 2008

Excelent value

RIU Palace Riviera Maya is a great and beautiful hotel. Architecture is very nice, but specially loved the staff, the friendliness & the beach. Additionally you can just get on a 2-km walk and get downtown in Playa del Carmen. I really recommend it!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping & entertainment at your fingertips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!

I just got back from a one week stay at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya, and had an amazing time. We loved everything about this place from the lobby to the beach. The staff was so friendly, everything was always so clean, the food was awesome. It was such a relaxing trip, and we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the lobby and go left there is a small shopping area a couple of minutes away, and if you go to the right and walk about 15-20 minutes you will be on 5th avenue, a big area of shopping bars, and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Very family friendly

It could use morning cardio work out with a profesional arobic instractor in a airconitioned jim at list 4 times a week. The door in the room had a problem with a lock. And a room could use at list a chair. The Toors are very poorly orgonised.And transportation from airport to the hotel and back could be a little more polished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could use some live Jazz. Graet dinning, and close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2008

Solid Hotel

We stayed here for 9 days in September, and over all it was great. 99% of the staff were friendly, and the few that were not didnt impact the trip. The pool bar was great, the lobby bar was great, and the 24 hour sports bar was pretty good, the food was ok, nothing fabulous, but fine. The town near by was a great time, and we had dinner 3 times in different restaurants to make up for the mediocare food at the Palace...over all I would give it a b+ and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to town, it was a 20 min walk or a 5 dollar cab, and was WELL worth it, safe, good bars,and good eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 5, 2008

Great for relaxation

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is right by the hotel. And it is very clean. If I have to say something bad about this hotel, then I have to say the food is a little disappointed. I stayed in this hotel for 5 days, the lunch has almost the same kind of food everyday. The food in the Japanese restaurant only look like Japanese food. The Mexican and Brazilian restaurants are just OK. The Sir Olivier is pretty good. However, the oven was broken on the night we were there. Therefore, the dessert is not OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fifth Avenue is the area of shopping. It took us 20 minutes to walk there under the heat. It is better to take the cab for $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock
Aug 31, 2008

Good value in Playacar

Overall, staying at the RIU Palace Maya Riveria was a very pleasant experience. Positives include: very friendly and accommodating staff, nice pool & beach, decent spa/gym, good food, big rooms, well kept and clean. Negatives include: not a very comfortable bed, limited lunch options, gym is very small and no free weights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norton
Aug 30, 2008

Great honeymoon location

RIU Palace Riviera Maya was beautiful. The grounds were well maintained and the beach was stunning. The food was decent, although my husband and I experienced some mild food poisoning and I'm not sure how long they leave the food outside for lunch in the heat (something I should have thought about). There was plenty to do, our room was big and the staff was very nice. The only problem we encountered was that my phone was stolen from the room as well as a pair of jeans. The hotel provides a safe and visitors should use it for everything. The hotel staff police came to the room to look for the phone but we never heard anything back (or any kind of apology) and when we were checking out they had no information about the investigation. There was also an occasion where I was taking a nap and some staff entered the room without knocking, it was kind of odd and they just said, sorry, sorry and left. I heard another visitor complaining about a similar event in the lobby. Overall the site was good and the positives outweighed the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport
Aug 30, 2008

Very Relaxing

My wife and I vacationed here for five days and is was fantastic. Rooms and hotel was very clean. Food was good. Beach was nice and the staff was very helpful. I would definetly recommend this hotel. There were the occasional beach salesmen but they left you alone after first estate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top