RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview

4.5/5

Overall score

94%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park
Nov 24, 2008

can't believe it was this inexpensive!

My husband and I honeymooned here and we had a great time! The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was always very professional. This was considered the off peak for them, but we got this trip at a great price. I have recommended this hotel to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a plaza for shopping nearby or you can take a short cab ride for $5.00 to another larger plaza where the ferry also leaves for Cozumel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca
Nov 23, 2008

Comfortable and very friendly

From the moment we set eyes on the hotel, Riu Palace Maya Riviera Playa del Carmen, we were already impressed. The frontage lives us to its name. It's like a palace. The lobby is nicely decorated. Most of all, the staff is very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the fridge is well stacked with all the drinks and cocktails. The dining and restaurants are well suited to our taste and there are large varieties of food to choose from. The bar by the pool and very close to the beach was really fantastic. We would recommend this to others and we would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to downtown and not pay the $5 taxi fare. Just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord
Nov 22, 2008

Had a great wedding experience!!!

We chose the Riu Palace Riviera Maya as the hotel to host our wedding on 11.20.08 We had 50 guests attend and it was the best wedding EVER!!! The hotel was spectacular! The lobby has beautiful chandelier ceilings and dark cherry wood framing everywhere. It is truly grand! The rooms are nice and tidy. They were in the middle of upgrading alot of rooms w/ new mattreses and flat screen TV's. The food was delicious! I ate at all the specialty restauraunts and they were all very good. They greet you w/ a signature drink as you walk in! The pools were cold, but they are set up to cool you down from the scorching hot sun. Unfortunatley it wasnt that hot to get into the pool, so I just sun bathed and got into the ocean (which was much warmer than the pool) The beach is nice, but there are sand whales that block the waves from crashing in. Didn't look too pretty, but didn't bother us at either. If anything kids jumped and walked on them. Back to my wedding.... All my guest's loved the hotel, the staff was so friendly and courteous! they made us feel special! We all want to go back very very soon! The wedding coordinators decorated everything nicely. My wedding went off w/ out any problems and we partied from the moment we walked down the aisle till they closed down the restaurant for our private reception at Boto Fogo (brazillian bbq restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to do here! Go to 5th avenue and go shopping, there are a few good restauraunts and bars on that strip as well. Places to see and visit are fairly close (about a 20 min. drive) Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum and Ruins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth
Nov 22, 2008

Great all-around hotel

The staff was very friendly and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Playa del Carmen for shopping and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 21, 2008

Great place

Other than check in, this place is really a palace. Great beach, pool, staff, and food. The staff is what really makes this place special. Anything you want, they will help you get. The onlt complaint I had for the whole week is check in. Three hours to get a room with a king size bed. No need for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millis
Nov 15, 2008

Paradise with a Smell......

The hotel was absolutely beautiful - the food devine - the people and staff the best. Right on the beach - bar at the pool - total paradise - you could not ask for more!!!! However we had ne problem - our first room had a very strong odor of mold/musty. We had a ceiling fan in the room and it did not work and actually had mold on it. Of course we called the front desk - and they gave us another room - the fan worked - but it also smelled musty - a third room - the smell was less but the view faced a roof. We were told we would move the next day. The next day we moved across to the other side of the hotel - from 2nd floor to first (lost the view of the ocean) - but everything worked and the odor was less. We found out what the problem was - the air conditioner. As soon as we turned it on - our room would start to smell musty. We believed the ducts or filters on the air conditioners need to be cleaned....We lost a good day of vacation having to move around - and kept the air conditioning off. My friend was not happy - nor comfortable - we did speak with the manager - and he sent us a bottle of champagne *not necessary as we were all inclusive* So as long as the odor of mold doesn't bother you - the place is paradise!!!! Everything else was beyond perfect...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants are EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lenexa
Nov 15, 2008

Beautiful atmosphere

We had a great 7 night stay at the RIU. You could relax or join in on the fun provided by the entertainment staff. The pool is large and clean with plenty of loungers. They could do with a few less palm trees around the pool, most of the pool is shady by 2-3pm. But we just moved to the beach at that time of day where there was still plenty of sun. It had one of the best beaches, with the most room for loungers and sunning. The pool bar was fun and the wait staff were excellent. The rooms were a bit musty, so take a air freshner with you. The food was some of the best of all the all-inclusive we have stayed at. The buffet was great at breakfast and dinner. My advice is to stay away from the Brazilian restuarant. Tip: Do a open air massage on the beach!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Good shopping and restuarants on 5th ave. It was a $5 cab ride from the RIU

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Great Resort

We were more than impressed with the staff, service, food, room & other amenities. Would return in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great getaway

This is a great resort...the service was excellent and the food was very good. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were quite nice. My only complaint was the bed...it was way to hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa De Carmen was a 10 minute walk. 5th Ave is a great place to go shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top