$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lenexa
Nov 15, 2008

Beautiful atmosphere

We had a great 7 night stay at the RIU. You could relax or join in on the fun provided by the entertainment staff. The pool is large and clean with plenty of loungers. They could do with a few less palm trees around the pool, most of the pool is shady by 2-3pm. But we just moved to the beach at that time of day where there was still plenty of sun. It had one of the best beaches, with the most room for loungers and sunning. The pool bar was fun and the wait staff were excellent. The rooms were a bit musty, so take a air freshner with you. The food was some of the best of all the all-inclusive we have stayed at. The buffet was great at breakfast and dinner. My advice is to stay away from the Brazilian restuarant. Tip: Do a open air massage on the beach!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Good shopping and restuarants on 5th ave. It was a $5 cab ride from the RIU

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Millis
Nov 15, 2008

Paradise with a Smell......

The hotel was absolutely beautiful - the food devine - the people and staff the best. Right on the beach - bar at the pool - total paradise - you could not ask for more!!!! However we had ne problem - our first room had a very strong odor of mold/musty. We had a ceiling fan in the room and it did not work and actually had mold on it. Of course we called the front desk - and they gave us another room - the fan worked - but it also smelled musty - a third room - the smell was less but the view faced a roof. We were told we would move the next day. The next day we moved across to the other side of the hotel - from 2nd floor to first (lost the view of the ocean) - but everything worked and the odor was less. We found out what the problem was - the air conditioner. As soon as we turned it on - our room would start to smell musty. We believed the ducts or filters on the air conditioners need to be cleaned....We lost a good day of vacation having to move around - and kept the air conditioning off. My friend was not happy - nor comfortable - we did speak with the manager - and he sent us a bottle of champagne *not necessary as we were all inclusive* So as long as the odor of mold doesn't bother you - the place is paradise!!!! Everything else was beyond perfect...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants are EXCELLENT!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Great Resort

We were more than impressed with the staff, service, food, room & other amenities. Would return in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sonoma
Oct 11, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very quick check in and they took us directly to our room. All staff were helpful and friendly. Many great food choices, especially the buffet. Pool servers were friendly and quick. The mattress was a little stiff, however if you ask for a mattress pad, they put in on right away and it is very comfy. Close to town also. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick $5.00 cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great getaway

This is a great resort...the service was excellent and the food was very good. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and the rooms were quite nice. My only complaint was the bed...it was way to hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa De Carmen was a 10 minute walk. 5th Ave is a great place to go shopping.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Elkton, VA
Oct 8, 2008

Wonderful Resort

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything that we could want in a resort and more. From check-in to check-out, service was fantastic. We received a free upgrade to ocean-front room. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out, nice large bathroom with double sinks. Drink service was exceptional everywhere with the exception of the beach, where service was nonexistent. At the pool and bars, you rarely had an empty drink in your hand. All of the employees were friendly and maid service was provided twice a day. The food was excellent in the buffets. We went to 2 ala cartes, the Steakhouse and the Brazilion. We actually preferred the dinner buffet over the ala cartes. The pool and beach were beautiful, no complaints whatsoever. There were plenty of loungers and shade by the pool and beach. There were also hammocks to lounge in. We enjoyed the 24 hour sports bar where you could always find drinks and snacks. The grounds and hotel were beautiful and you always saw people cleaning at all hours of the day. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone (except maybe those with kids since there were not many kids here). I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Snellville, GA
Oct 5, 2008

Fabulous getaway

My husband and I went to this RIU for 4 nights as a quick getaway in the fall. What a fabulous time. The wait staff was incredible. We went with another couple and had a gret time. The bar was so much fun, a piano player every evening, then out to the patio to listen to live music before our dinner reservations. By the way like the way you make those reservations now - no longer getting up at crack of dawn while on vacation - just go to the bar at noon. The specialty restaurants were all great except one - and that was ok, because I went to the regular resataurant instead and had a fabulous meal there. No matter where I sat there was always some polite staff ready to get me a drink or serve me. The poolside bar was convenient and the outside dining was wonderful, we never even made it out to an outside establishment because we had so much fun here!! The location was great in Playacar an exclusive area and a short walk to downtown for some local shoppping. I needed the exercise after all that eating and drinking! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tampico, TM
Oct 1, 2008

Great place

Very nice hotel, the dinner options superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations just arriving. Go to the 5th Avenue day and night.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Monterrey, NL
Oct 1, 2008

Excelent service

The excelent service that this hotel has ressembles the one you receive on cruises. Everything is possible, no excuses. I visit it on low season, I didn?t see any service attitude diminishing, everybody there wants your comfort. And the facilities are more much than nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen itself is a better base to visit Xcaret than Cancun

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Downers Grove
Sep 30, 2008

great service

The resort was amazing. I was impressed with the hotel itself it was beautilful along with the beach. I have never seen anything like it. The service was exceptional I have never experienced such care and attention. It was worth every penny... The only thing I wasnt so pleased with was the food for the buffet I was expecting more authentic food. The pool was great along with all the bars. The drinks were always made to my liking. It was the best vacation I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you do the Jungle tour in Rivera Maya its a little bit of everything.

Back to menu Return to top