RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
egg82nd
Business
texas
Jun 7, 2009

Great family or couple getaway

Awesome time and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebekah from Cali
Business
Sunny California
Jun 4, 2009

Couples 1st trip away from 2 boys

Riu Palace was beautiful and our first stay away from our 5 & 2 yr old boys. Next time we will bring the boys with us-seeing other kids made us miss ours. The RIU Palace doesn't cater to kids-which I liked hence us not bring our's. The kids there were all VERY well behaved and did not interrupt our "adult time" in any way. The housekeeping staff works hard all day keeping the lobby clean/mopped/spotless = slippery floors so be careful w/choice of shoes. The room service is not a large selection so make dinner reservations (in back of main floor lobby by window overlooking palace by inside bar @ noon - a line forms so get there early) or eat @ the buffet. I highly suggest the sea bass @ the Fushion restaurant. The japanese restaurant is also a great one. All the bartenders, restaurants and buffet servers are all WONDERFUL! They know how to treat the guests and make them feel comfortable. The inside bartender [...] IS AWESOME! We loved him. All waiters/waitresses take good care of you IF you constantly order - even agua. Whether you're at the pool or in the lobby or outside listening to the band waiting for the show - they're on top of their game. Tip them extra and they'll always take care of you. Downside: The front desk was never very helpful and could use some classes in customer service from all other services offered by the resort. Any occasion I had to stop by and ask for something I was treated as if I was making them go out of their way even though the resort was close to empty. I later figured out that the helpful ones (the women) were always off coordinating weddings. I asked for a water and the front desk clerk went in the back and I waited for 15 mins only for him not to return at all. I went to the sport bar that always has bottled water instead. The bars in general are all very helpful and the front desk could learn a thing or two from them. Being a front desk clerk is the first impression the resort gives. There are helpful women there but I found the men to be downright haughty and almost insulted if asked for help as if we were interrupting their thoughts. Tip the mini fridge person each day and write a note for mas aqua por favor. The mini fridge stocker is NOT the maid. Seperate tips is suggested w/envelopes otherwise the maid will take it all and hopefully tell the mini fridge stocker.I parasailed right in front of the palace: $40 a person - u can bargain w/the guys. We rented quads and did 3 zip lines for 50 a person I think. 4 hr event. Scuba diving is good. Snorkling @ Ixcaret is not so great. It was hot and we got overheated. Someone who does that first on their trip may like it better than on the last day like we did. Honestly I don't recommend Ixcaret-didn't see many butterfly's @ the exhibit and you have to walk miles to get anywhere. My kids would have gotten heat stroke if I took them there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jump in a taxi for 50 pesos. Ask the cab driver before you get in 50 pesos to 5th ave. Go to 5th ave and bargain. Whatever their first price is they throw out go down 2/3rds. They want to rip u off - let them see how it feels. Rip them off for once. For instance I bought some shell necklace at RIU Palace for 10 and he wanted 55 each. I got 2 for 20. the economy is not good. When I went to 5th ave, I got a necklace for $5 - it wasn't as pretty as the two I got at RIU palace but a nice gift for someone. The small shopping center near the starbucks on the way in has some nice jewelry shops but the prices can be outrageous. Go to 5th ave and pay $5 to 15 for really nice neclaces. Go to the bar with swings and have a cerveza and watch a ballgame on the big screen. It's fun down there and the mexican food restaurants are good too. If u want a mask buy it on 5th ave area. I got a spider man one for 100 pesos. My 5 yr old loves it! The soccer outfits are cute too for 75 pesos. Remember to bargain, bargain, bargain. the nice stores with nice things have fixed prices tho but are still reasonable. Have fun shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2009

Great hotel

Very relaxing trip. Staff was wonderful, very attentive and never intrusive. Our Orbitz rep at the hotel, [...] suggested wonderful tours...loved the snorkeling. The buffet was always good...something interesting to try every night. Great experience. We were saddened that the resport was only half occupied (and the sister property was closed) due to the Swine Flu scare. Hopefully things will soon be back to normal for the very professional, friendly & gracious staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Underwater
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2009

What A Place

We arrived at the RIU and were whisked in to their typical service. While we checked in we were handed drinks. What a great way to start a stay! We checked out our room and then went exploring. We found the restaurant reservations in the lobby. This RIU does the res between 12 and 3 PM. No getting up at the crack of dawn here.Our room was comfortable. We liked the idea of the seating area, but we didn't really use it. We were surprised to hear a knock on the door our first night--the do not disturb sign was on the door. I found a hotel employee bearing gifts. He had a plateful of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne...My wife found the pool and the pool service great. We go to the Cancun area because we both find things we like to do. My wife likes to relax by the pool and have a few drinks; I like to go SCUBA diving. We both got to do our share of both. This hotel is cleaned constantly. I was feeling restless at 3AM. I walked through the lobby. What did I find? People were cleaning. I fell comfortable saying that this hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day.We were impressed by some of the shows.We ate at two off the reservation restaurants. We found both to be good. Are they Ruth's Chris orr Nobu? No. However, they do not cost $300 orr more for a couple to eat in. The atmosphere is great and the servers make a big effort to make you happy. By the way, a biggish tip in one of thses restaurants will net big benefits. The captain in Krystal, [...], is also in charge of breakfast. If he remembers you, he will make sure that you are completely spoiled at breakfast,Don't be afraid, go to Mexico. Stay at the RI"U and you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Parrilla de Argentina on 10th between 24 and 26. The food was awesome. The price was about one third of what the same meal would cost on 5th ave. Also, if you are a diver, check out cancunscuba.com. Octavio will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swine Flue lover
Business
Kansas City
May 9, 2009

Love this place

Returned again to the same place as last year will go again to the same resort. Hated the fact that Orbitz travel rep called me at the hotel 9am the day after check in to book my return transportation back to the airport on our departure date. This fact alone may cause me not to use Orbitz again. Hotel is awesome, great friendly helpful staff. They will make some great drinks when you find he right bartenders. Food on the buffets are good but not outstanding. Checking in does seem to take forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Terry
Business
Maine
Apr 23, 2009

Our "Best" vacation ever!

Staying at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything we had hoped for and more. We wouldn't change a thing about this resort. We have been on many trips and this was above all the best. The water fountains, the beautiful palm trees, the awesome pools, massages, the wait staff, the entertainment, the spectacular beach front, games of volleyball, parasailing, jetsking, you name it this resort is spot on. If you are looking for quiet and rest you won't be dissappointed either. Grab your towels, lounge chair or hamock, whether in the sun, on the beach or under a palm tree, and let your vacation begin. We chose not to do the tours, but did take a nice stroll each day and stopped by the shopping areas and found the streets very clean and everyone very courteous. We look forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We made reservations only once and we went to Chili's. The meal was superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Go to this place!!

This is the second time at this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back again. One of the best things is that you're not stranded at an all inclusive. The town (which is awesome) is only a 15 minute walk or about a $5 cab ride. Great bars and restaurants down there if you want a change of pace from the resort. But who needs the town? The food is amazing at the Riu...I recommend the restaurant Krystal for sure, but the buffet is great too. Staff is so friendly..especially bartender Islas and all the pool bartenders. If you drink tequila, make sure to order "don julio" as the house tequila isn't that great. We met a ton of really cool people at the pool that we still keep in touch with. There was never a problem getting a seat at the pool or on the beach. The water is beautiful, and they'll serve you cocktails right there. Don't even bother walking to the other Riu's, this one is the best one. When checking in, try to upgrade to a courtyard facing room. They may want to charge you at first, so decline and they will most likely give it to you anyway if it's available. It's true that the rooms have that musty smell, but you're not in a New York City hotel, you're in the humid tropics, so deal with it. After a day or two, you don't even notice it any more. They say tips are included, but if you give the pool guy a 5 or 10, he'll be all over you all day long making you those "special" drinks. Couple bucks here and there to the bartenders is really appreciated also, and they will take great care of you if you do. I could go on and on, but for the value, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into the town (5th Ave) for tequila and other Mexican specialties.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myni
Business
Houston Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Great All Inclusive at a Great Price!

Our room was amazing! We had a jacuzzi on the 2nd floor balconey that we used every night and could hear the music from the band below! The food was good and the drinks to die for! I would definatly recommend this hotel for couples or honey-mooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy anything from the vendors at the hotel..they will rip you off..go into town or to the little shops in Playacar and rembember to ALWAYS negotiate down...they start pretty high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top