$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JE Honeymooners.
Business
Tijuana, BC
Nov 1, 2013

Great Staff

Its really near to Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Tulum and adventure atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you need to reserve at the lobbys bar from 12pm to 3pm ONLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abhi Agarwal
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2013

Had a great Vacation!

Overall the vacation was awesome. This RIU property was phenomenal. Very nice beach, plenty of beach chairs. Awesome pool. They did run out of clean beach towels towards the ned of the day. Buffet food is quite good. The other restaurants need to be reserved atleast a day in advance. Although, we felt that the buffet food and all the different restaurants had similar food. It may be better to go to other RIU properties to experience a variety. We were with toddlers so buffet worked very well for us. The worst experience for us was the SPA. They charge so much money and don't even have AC in the room. Who wants a sweaty massage?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2013

great hotel chain, great vacation

everything was great. there were only a couple of things that I didn't lnd ike. We dined in the steakhouse one evening and the waiters used the water from the melted ice from the steel wine buckets to fill the patrons glasses for water. we an others thought that was a major turn off. we were always short on towels and facecloths. The evening entertainment wasn't as good as the last 3 visits. The pool games are loud and obnoxious with the PA blaring loud encouraging the young drunks. people who just like chilling out reading a book poolside just get up and leave, it kills the calm beautiful atmosphere. There are too many children activities at night near the bandstand. it would be nice if there was an Italian restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

visiting the other RIUs nearby was fun. we walked to one of the 3 every morning for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Business
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners 2010
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 18, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing, & Excellent service

Stayed a week. Well worth the money. Gorgeous hotel and surroundings!!!! Lots of activities and nightly shows in the theatre were all excellent. Food was good. You have to make reservations at 5 of the restaurants for dinner. The best two take a few days ahead of time to get into but they're worth it. (Krystal and the Japanese one) You can only make two reservations at a time and the only times you can do it are between 12-3 which is when you're usually gone on a day trip of some sort so you have to plan it out well to get the restaurants you want and you may need to just eat buffet dinner one night to make it all work out but the buffet is still good too. One staircase walk way coming in from the courtyard smells like throw up during the day only, its weird. The rooms feel damp. Although there is one weird smell and damp rooms I would go back in a heartbeat! It was absolutely gorgeous, relaxing and so much fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Dec 12, 2010

beautiful location

great beach, food, pools, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Dec 20, 2010

Good

We were staying in RIU Hotels for many times, but our experience with this RIU Palace hotel was unpleasant because our room was robbed and our valuable belongings disappeared, the hotel manager did not find time to talk to us personally. We were informed that it would take couple of days to investigate our report but nobody contacted us in NY when we came home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top