$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Mar 3, 2009

Great Vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Loved the huge flower arrangement of Lilies in the lobby. The staff was very nice. Our luggage didn't make the flight but was in our room before dinner. The room was clean & nice. We were glad we upgraded to a Jr. Suite--the view was nice. We walked the beach a lot & we seemed to have the best beach around. Some of the other hotels didn't have much of a beach left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock, *
Jul 31, 2008

Just OK

Food was fairly good. Did not like having to get in line daily to make a reservation. Always needed to call for bath towels. Did not like the pool towel card system. Entertainment was just plain bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebekah from Cali
Business
Sunny California
Jun 4, 2009

Couples 1st trip away from 2 boys

Riu Palace was beautiful and our first stay away from our 5 & 2 yr old boys. Next time we will bring the boys with us-seeing other kids made us miss ours. The RIU Palace doesn't cater to kids-which I liked hence us not bring our's. The kids there were all VERY well behaved and did not interrupt our "adult time" in any way. The housekeeping staff works hard all day keeping the lobby clean/mopped/spotless = slippery floors so be careful w/choice of shoes. The room service is not a large selection so make dinner reservations (in back of main floor lobby by window overlooking palace by inside bar @ noon - a line forms so get there early) or eat @ the buffet. I highly suggest the sea bass @ the Fushion restaurant. The japanese restaurant is also a great one. All the bartenders, restaurants and buffet servers are all WONDERFUL! They know how to treat the guests and make them feel comfortable. The inside bartender [...] IS AWESOME! We loved him. All waiters/waitresses take good care of you IF you constantly order - even agua. Whether you're at the pool or in the lobby or outside listening to the band waiting for the show - they're on top of their game. Tip them extra and they'll always take care of you. Downside: The front desk was never very helpful and could use some classes in customer service from all other services offered by the resort. Any occasion I had to stop by and ask for something I was treated as if I was making them go out of their way even though the resort was close to empty. I later figured out that the helpful ones (the women) were always off coordinating weddings. I asked for a water and the front desk clerk went in the back and I waited for 15 mins only for him not to return at all. I went to the sport bar that always has bottled water instead. The bars in general are all very helpful and the front desk could learn a thing or two from them. Being a front desk clerk is the first impression the resort gives. There are helpful women there but I found the men to be downright haughty and almost insulted if asked for help as if we were interrupting their thoughts. Tip the mini fridge person each day and write a note for mas aqua por favor. The mini fridge stocker is NOT the maid. Seperate tips is suggested w/envelopes otherwise the maid will take it all and hopefully tell the mini fridge stocker.I parasailed right in front of the palace: $40 a person - u can bargain w/the guys. We rented quads and did 3 zip lines for 50 a person I think. 4 hr event. Scuba diving is good. Snorkling @ Ixcaret is not so great. It was hot and we got overheated. Someone who does that first on their trip may like it better than on the last day like we did. Honestly I don't recommend Ixcaret-didn't see many butterfly's @ the exhibit and you have to walk miles to get anywhere. My kids would have gotten heat stroke if I took them there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jump in a taxi for 50 pesos. Ask the cab driver before you get in 50 pesos to 5th ave. Go to 5th ave and bargain. Whatever their first price is they throw out go down 2/3rds. They want to rip u off - let them see how it feels. Rip them off for once. For instance I bought some shell necklace at RIU Palace for 10 and he wanted 55 each. I got 2 for 20. the economy is not good. When I went to 5th ave, I got a necklace for $5 - it wasn't as pretty as the two I got at RIU palace but a nice gift for someone. The small shopping center near the starbucks on the way in has some nice jewelry shops but the prices can be outrageous. Go to 5th ave and pay $5 to 15 for really nice neclaces. Go to the bar with swings and have a cerveza and watch a ballgame on the big screen. It's fun down there and the mexican food restaurants are good too. If u want a mask buy it on 5th ave area. I got a spider man one for 100 pesos. My 5 yr old loves it! The soccer outfits are cute too for 75 pesos. Remember to bargain, bargain, bargain. the nice stores with nice things have fixed prices tho but are still reasonable. Have fun shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Hotel..Awesome Location

Great location..Cheap taxi ride to downtown or short walk. Beach was awesome. Service was the best. Nice rooms..Clean..Only bad thing we encountered was the food wasnt all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat downtown sometime. Great restaurants..Food on resort isnt the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sue & ralph
Business
fort atkinson, WI
Feb 28, 2010

fantastic family getaway

excellent WE enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2010

Fantastic location

The staff was friendly and helpful from the first moment of check in. The hotel is gorgeous, it has the best location, very wide lovely uncrowded beach area with many palm trees affording shade. The food at the buffet was fantastic,paella,roasted lamb, pasta ,great desserts. We are already planning our visit for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston, eh
Business
Houston
Dec 26, 2010

pre-Christmas trip

Overall fantastic trip. This was our third Riu stay, and would definitely book here again. Great amenities including a golf course across the street (literally!), and a 5-minute walk to Starbucks. Safe location, friendly staff and great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mini-mall just down the road from the hotel - had all the usual souvenirs, plus a restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy/convenience stores. All within a 5-minute (safe) walk from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 23, 2009

Better than we expected!!!

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Riviera Maya for my 30th birthday. we got a 4 night 5 day package from cleveland for 1227 through orbitz from june 18-22, but keep in mind the price was low mostly because of the whole swine-flu thing,which was totally not present to our knowledge anywhere we went in Riviera Maya! This hotel was much more gorgeous than we expected! It was in a gated community with other hotels and homes, we felt very safe. It had a classic look, I was suprised to find out the hotel was built in 06! I cannot say enough about the beauty of the landscaping, the old-world look of the hotel, and the beautiful beach and ocean. We had a room that had a king bed and a small sitting area with a couch, coffee table, and flat screen tv. King bed was a bit hard but we slept just fine. There is also a safe in the room which is free of charge. The only downside to the hotel room was that the bathroom had no ventilation fan, the shower had no light inside it, and the room had a bit of a musty smell. Not unpleasant, but if you are sensitive to that kind of smell, bring along a scented candle. I got used to it. Also there were a few small ants in the room but HELLO you are in the tropics and some of that is just impossible to avoid. I took them outside if I could catch them. We had a room that faced the large courtyard area and it was awesome, they had live music from about 7p-9p every night, and usually a show in the theatre nearby. It was cool to sit on the small patio and listen or walk to the pavilion area and sit at a table and get a drink. There is a small workout facility with some basic equipment, 2 treadmills and an elliptical trainer along with some other older machines. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and pool and right outside the gym there are hammocks tied to palm trees on the beach! Gorgeous. The food was better than expected. (We stayed at the Sun Palace all inclusive in Cancun for our honeymoon a few years ago and the food was very bland, it wasn't so here) You make reservations for the specialty restaurants in the hotel lobby bar area from 12-3pm. The first day we were there, they had no more reservations left and we ate at the buffet that night, which has a large variety of quality stuff. (A lot of times you see food from the night before end up at the buffet the next day at other resorts, but I really didnt see any of that here) Please be prepared for this, I saw a lot of people walk away unhappy without reservations because of that. The other three nights we were able to get into a restaurant but some of them (Krystal and the brazilian restaurant) were always sold out. We were a little disappointed but the food at the other restaurants was very good. I can see how they sell out quickly because the specialty restaurants are very small inside. Be advised that if you are a vegetarian it may be hard for you at the specialty restaurants, they do have some veggie choices but not many, the buffet would probably be the better route for you! (For lunch the buffet called chili's is open, really nice lunch items, and beautiful view of ocean and pool!)The employees all work very hard and are pleasant but we did NOT expect them to all know english. There were many that did not speak english but it wasnt a problem, you can still communicate ok. It is helpful to know some spanish. Also even though its an all-inclusive we brought a stack of singles for the maids, waiters, bartenders, etc. I doubt they make much money and they really work very hard to make you happy. Also dont be alarmed if you ask a bartender for a drink and he starts making some other drinks and helping other people, he will get to you. Some people at the swim-up bar were like "hey isnt it my turn?" But understand they have a rotation system and they WILL get your drink, it just may not be as quick as you would expect. Anyway I hope this helps! Go and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to make dining reservations ASAP as soon as you get there. Be advised, they sell out very quickly, and they only allow you to make 2 reservations at a time, so you will probably have to come back unless you would rather eat at the dinner buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaritas!
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great time!

Overall the hotel was very nice. The food and drinks were great as always. Good location. Decent pool (although got a little grungy with so many people though). The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful! We were able to take out one of the catamarans that they had there - what a blast. It was quite possibly the slowest catamaran that I have ever sailed, but there was no question how beautiful the coast line there is. For area attractions: We took a $5 USD cab ride into Playa Del Carmen - it is a fun afternoon to walk through the shopping district. Don't expect great bargains, but the area is a fun stroll. We did a whale shark snorkeling tour. It was a long, but fun day. And definitely a unique experience! I don't know if I'd do it again, but I'm really happy we did it! The highlight of the tour was a day trip to Chichen Itza (the big mayan pyramid in the middle of the Yucatan). The complex (includes pyrmid and a good number of other facinating buildings) is a can't miss! The day is realatively long, but it is so facinating that the day flies by. I'm definitely going to back again soon! We wanted to go diving in a cenote (freshwater cave). Unfortunately a case of Montezuma's revenge canceled that trip... But we will be back and will give that a try as the cenotes look beautiful! There are many different activities that you can do in the Cancun/PDC area, but if you are going to do one - make it a trip to Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The biggest surprise about the trip was meeting with the Orbitz "travel agent." We met with a guy named [...] who worked with Mayaland Tours and was contracted to service Orbitz customers. [...] was awesome to work with on setting up tours. He gave us excellent advice and fantastic service. He followed up with us a few times in the middle of our stay and helped us to change our reservation on one tour and cancel another. Going through [...] was a real time and hassle saver!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top