$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2012

susnshine!!

Overall this RIU was very good. However this time the amount of small children and infants on site was overwhelming if you are looking for good R&R. There was constant crying infants and children running unattendded all day and into the evenings. This was in the restaurants, bars and beach area as well. There was no guidance to the adults on how to behave. Maybe a handout on "courteous behavior tips" would help. But overall we had an excellent vacation and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to 5th street for shopping was close and good exercise, also the ferry to Cozumel for a day is also good fun and bargains

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK Indy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 9, 2012

Positive experience for first-timers

Our first time to Mexico and we really enjoyed it. RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a pleasant place to stay. We hear Cancun resorts are "livlier" and am sure that's true, but are also told our beach was nicer and frankly we're not displeased with the quieter atmosphere. Still something to do every day & nite, and we're happy that we ended up closer to Tulum and Xel Ha! This place was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to do some department store shopping, ask for directions to Chedraui. It's like a Mexican Target or K-Mart, but will save you $$ even compared to local WalMart and is a little closer. A long walk from RIU Palace Rivieria Maya or 70 peso cab ride.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedier
Business
USA
Dec 17, 2012

Nice place

Great location right on the beach. Staff is friendly, pool is great and grounds are beautifully maintained. Food quality is average. Limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 3, 2013

great vacation spot

This is the second time we went there on and each time was fantastic in every way! I would recommed this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

we took a 15 minute walk to 5th street downtown every day. completely safe and alot of fun

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PerDrewsMom
Business
McDonough, GA
May 31, 2013

Can't say enough about the staff

We had an unforgettable visit to this gorgeous hotel for our 15th anniversary. The view looking out at the ocean through the shade of the palm trees was indescribably beautiful. The grounds of the property were pristine. Walking through the courtyard made you feel as if you really were in a palace. But the staff is what makes this property truly top notch. They are friendly, helpful, always smiling, and EVERYWHERE. Servers even come up to take drink orders when you are out on the beach. I can't say enough about the staff. We also loved the fact that we felt so safe and could walk into the town of Playa del Carmen for the shops. We took a taxi at night because we were dressed up, but we walked two other times during the day. It's probably right around a mile, maybe a little more. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that we didn't always have consistently hot showers. So if you are a primadonna who will allow something like a little cold water to ruin your vacation in PARADISE, this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chirlei Super Granny
Business
Chandler, Arizona
Jun 22, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

This resort is very beautiful, clean and next to the beach. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Food was great and plenty of it. Lot of variety to choose from. The nightly entertainment was great. Our granddaughter looked forward to the nightly shows. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To the Escaret park. Its an all day event and still not able to see the whole park. Salvetica Zip line was awesome also. We really enjoyed both adventure.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweldon8
Business
Sebastopol, ca
Jun 9, 2013

Nice vacation

Hotel was nice for Mexico. Food was good better than my stay at Moon P.. Waite staff was excellent after a tip or two. Had a problem with getting my drift stocked tho. Three beers is not enough. Left note in Spanish for more. No luck. Called room service once they brought warm ones.. I think we insulted the person next with the note "seis cervaes por favor" with some chocolate kisses.. No beer in frig that day.. Later heard the key was to leave a dollar in the freezer. Who knew! Anyway, we had a terrible storm come through. Lots of water and slippery tile. Oh a lady at the pool had a medical emergency. Stroke or something. The hospital is almost right next door. Took parametics 45-1 hour to show up at the pool. First some "people" showed up with a gurney walking thru the garden. They stumbled around a bit didn't had a flat board to list her off the ground. Then while they're dinking around, another crew come running thru the garden with gurney etc. yikes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect to find great shopping deals down near the playa del Carmen hotels

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vbg003
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 9, 2013

Good food and excellent service

Hotel is little bit old, we changed it with Riu Palace Mexico. That hotel is very nice just renovated, staff was very friendly. Room floor get very wet but if you keep the AC on 69-70 it's Ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
Business
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Honeymooners 21
Business
Minnesota
Oct 20, 2013

Great stay for our honeymoon

We just got back from our week long stay. The resort was awesome. Great friendly staff. Your drink would never be empty! We are in our mid twenties and noticed that this resort attracts an older population so If you're looking for crazy night life and younger couples this isn't the place for you. We recommend bringing extra cash to tip the staff, as it seemed almost customary when we looked around at other guests. The hotel offers lots of free activities such as kayaking, boogy boards, catamaran, ping pong, volleyball, etc. The resort offers shows every night. In my opinion they were all lame. The restaurants are okay, they present their food wonderfully. However, a lot of the main courses and appetizers were served raw, something that my culture is not accustomed to and would definitely get me sick. We ended up eating the buffet most of the time because there's always something you could find there. But the food was very bland in my opinion. It just tasted "different". Overall we had a great time though. The resort is gorgeous and very safe in the gated community of playa car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top