$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2008

Friendly Staff and Good Toymes!

The hotel is beautiful and everyone from the staff to the guests were very friendly. We travelled with a group of friends, and it was a blast to meet down at the amazing pool, swim up and get our cocktails and just relax. The beach was also nice with beautiful sand and water. The food at the buffet was great for all 3 meals. Made it to the Japanese and Mexican specialty restaurants which were both very good. Make sure you bring one pair long pants because no shorts are allowed in the speciality places. Walking to town is easy, and the bars and restaurants there are great. Cab is only 5 bucks if you don't wanna walk. The drinks can be weak, so ask for a doble or double, and they'll pour it in. The lobby bar has the best quality booze (absolut, crown royal, etc.). As other people have said, there is a musty smell, but it's Mexico...who cares? Also, lock up your valuables in the safe. My phone got ripped off while charging. I'd definitely go back to this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Portland, OR
Sep 14, 2009

Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

The hotel is close to a few tourist attractions and ruins, but you can have a very relaxing time just staying at the hotel. There are multiple water sports available and endless food and drink. My 4 year-old loved the protected beach and daily kids activities. Despite the brochures stating that gratuities are included, the staff definitely expected tips! Maybe that was because we are Americans?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Haggle!!! And look around before you buy. Most trinkets can be found in multiple locations so you can take your time to find the best price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CT
Oct 22, 2009

A piece of heaven in a luxury setting

The hotel is beautifully designed and offers some of the best beach setting which I have seen in my travels. The outdoor bar by tht pool offered gorgeous view of the ocean. However, the staff were too influenced by tips and did not provide the service I had hoped for. The staff at the restauraunts, however, were excellent. Service was incredible when it came to the formal dining. My major complaint was with the room. The air conditioner functioned poorly, plumbing did not always work properly, and lights would shut off periodically. Overall, I would come back again if the price is right. It is not a five star hotel but come pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoz
Couples
Waterford, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Should be bettter...

We requested an upgraded room because of lack of view, and were told we could have one the next day. We had planned to move the next morning only to be told nothing available. We asked if we could check out a little late because of a late flight to be told NO, with no offers to continue using facilities etc. after check-out. This advertises as a 5 star, but food definitely not there, including the "specialty" restaurants. Have been to several all-inclusive Riviera Maya resorts, and would not return here as others are equally nice, more service oriented and less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cassieakasam
Couples
mountain House, CA
Aug 18, 2011

Love love love

This was a wonderful getaway for DH & I. The hotel was charming and the staff went above an beyond to make our stay memorable. I wish there was WIFI in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If anyone tells you that you can walk to 5th ave, DON'T DO IT!!!! Unless you like the 30-40 minutes walk in the heat. Take the $7 cab

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pistakee
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
May 24, 2010

Constructive criticism

Beautiful resort, nice rooms, nice pool and beach, good location, you can walk to town (about 2 miles)or take a short cab ride for $5 or $50 pesos, excellent front desk service, average wait staff service, very few premium liquors, poor food quality at themed restaurants and poor shows, average buffets, went jet skiing for $60 US for 30 min, took resort Hobie Cat catamaran out for a sail for an hour (included in resort fee), shopping, dining, cocktails, dancing and sightseeing in town. Go vist the Blue Parrot bar on the beach one night and see the fire show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Frances
Couples
USA
Sep 5, 2007

riu palace riveria maya

we had looked at several reviews for this hotel so we knew what it would look like. food was okay/ hard to get into specialty restaurants. front desk help was the least helpful. beds were hard, got the bed toppers and they helped somewhat. beach area right at the ocean is very small. would like to know what kind of liquor they use, because we would have 10 or more mixed drinks a day and never got a buzz. the hotel decor was nice, food was average, overall it was okay. but i expected more. it was close to playa downtown and to take ferry over to cozmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top