$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona69
warren, nj
May 28, 2014

Dream vacation

Everthing was picture perfect, from service to location. Would definitely recommend and return. It's like a dream come true. Recommended for people of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping deals on 5th ave . Fifteen minutes walking distance.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, *
Jul 4, 2008

What an awesome experience!!!!

WOW! What an awesome vacation! I took my son and two of his friends (all 18 years old) following their graduation and we had an incredible time! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated with the best service. Everyone was always happy to help in any way and the service was impeccable! The rooms were very clean - Just the beds were a bit firm, however, they very quickly brought up a mattress pad, which helped a lot. The area is very family friendly with people of all ages joining in on all the various activities, so you were never without something to do (unless you wanted to it that way). The boys had a blast parasailing, swimming, kayaking, beach volleyball, tennis, pool activities, and of course, the beach!). The food was very tasty. We preferred the buffet (lots of variety), but the steak dinner was good also. There is a little shopping area about a 10 minute walk that you can go to, but various vendors come and display things in the courtyard, so you really don't have to go anywhere! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACk!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portsmouth
Nov 22, 2008

Great all-around hotel

The staff was very friendly and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Playa del Carmen for shopping and other attractions.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRO N CRO
Apex, NC, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Unbelieable beach view

You sit on the beach at this resort, and feel like your on a screen saver, postcard, or in a corona commercial. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Lots of people stayed at the pool, and they missed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen is just a 15 minute walk down the beach. Great shops, night life, and dining.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord
Nov 22, 2008

Had a great wedding experience!!!

We chose the Riu Palace Riviera Maya as the hotel to host our wedding on 11.20.08 We had 50 guests attend and it was the best wedding EVER!!! The hotel was spectacular! The lobby has beautiful chandelier ceilings and dark cherry wood framing everywhere. It is truly grand! The rooms are nice and tidy. They were in the middle of upgrading alot of rooms w/ new mattreses and flat screen TV's. The food was delicious! I ate at all the specialty restauraunts and they were all very good. They greet you w/ a signature drink as you walk in! The pools were cold, but they are set up to cool you down from the scorching hot sun. Unfortunatley it wasnt that hot to get into the pool, so I just sun bathed and got into the ocean (which was much warmer than the pool) The beach is nice, but there are sand whales that block the waves from crashing in. Didn't look too pretty, but didn't bother us at either. If anything kids jumped and walked on them. Back to my wedding.... All my guest's loved the hotel, the staff was so friendly and courteous! they made us feel special! We all want to go back very very soon! The wedding coordinators decorated everything nicely. My wedding went off w/ out any problems and we partied from the moment we walked down the aisle till they closed down the restaurant for our private reception at Boto Fogo (brazillian bbq restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to do here! Go to 5th avenue and go shopping, there are a few good restauraunts and bars on that strip as well. Places to see and visit are fairly close (about a 20 min. drive) Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum and Ruins

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2007

Quiet-Good for Couples

This was the first time we ever went to Mexico and stayed at the RIU. The holtel was beautiful, the staff friendly, clean, grounds and pool were perfect. The only thing was that the bed was kind of hard and mixed drinks tasted funny, I think it was the juices/sodas. But we found other thinks to drink, the food was quite good and plenty of it. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top