$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Hotel..Awesome Location

Great location..Cheap taxi ride to downtown or short walk. Beach was awesome. Service was the best. Nice rooms..Clean..Only bad thing we encountered was the food wasnt all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat downtown sometime. Great restaurants..Food on resort isnt the best

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob and Alisa
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cousins from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 12, 2009

Great vacation

The hotel surpassed any of our expectations, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel amenities were great. They had a good variety of drinks and top shelf alcohol (but they only served two types of beers). In addition to the buffet style restaurant, the hotel features some specialty restaurants for dinner which required reservations. Although it is difficult to obtain a reservation due to limited capacity, the food at these places was great, especially Agape (their Mexican style restaurant).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget to take a tour to Chichen Itza, and the nearby Cenote, they are an experience of a lifetime (and the tour can be arranged through Orbitz).

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
Business
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top