RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck In The Snow
Livonia, MI
Dec 17, 2009

Beautiful!

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, great rooms, decent food. The buffet has great options, most are better than the restaurants which was a pleasant surprise. The people went out of there way to please us. We had a wonderful experience. Definitely upgrade to the Palace Riviera Maya as opposed to the other Riu's. It will be well worth it. The only way it could have been better would have been to upgrade to a room with a balcony facing the inner courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck In The Snow
Livonia, MI
Dec 17, 2009

Beautiful!

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, great rooms, decent food. The buffet has great options, most are better than the restaurants which was a pleasant surprise. The people went out of there way to please us. We had a wonderful experience. Definitely upgrade to the Palace Riviera Maya as opposed to the other Riu's. It will be well worth it. The only way it could have been better would have been to upgrade to a room with a balcony facing the inner courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Dec 14, 2009

The best stay and value!

The food was outstanding! Make sure you make reservations at their Japanese restaurant. The entire place is very clean. There are maids everywhere cleaning all of the time. Make sure you hit up Mr. Islas at the lobby bar for a double margarita. He's one of the best and very outgoing. This is the best place for the price. If you like scuba diving, I would recommend Cozumel. The reefs aren't as nice near this hotel. I can't speak for the other resorts though. Swimming is not safe for kids in front of this hotel. There can be a rough current. They had red flags up almost every day. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. This was our second time and we are already planning our next trip. Once again, the food was freaking outstanding. Great for fresh seafood lovers like myself. Oh and even though tips are included, I recommend carrying one dollar bills and throwing them a bone once in a while. They work harder than any hotel worker in the U.S. and will do anything, within their job description, to keep you happy. But you can always tell when someone is having a bad day. They are human too. Over and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I guess Coco Bongo is the place to go in downtown Playa Del Carmen. Lots of chicas.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Dec 14, 2009

Anniversary Celebration

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya was perfect! We loved staying here and have stayed next door at Reef Playacar before. The RIU was so worth the extra money. If you are a beach lover you will love their palm tree covered beach area. The service was so great and we were constantly asked if we wanted drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Dec 14, 2009

Anniversary Celebration

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya was perfect! We loved staying here and have stayed next door at Reef Playacar before. The RIU was so worth the extra money. If you are a beach lover you will love their palm tree covered beach area. The service was so great and we were constantly asked if we wanted drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Dec 14, 2009

The best stay and value!

The food was outstanding! Make sure you make reservations at their Japanese restaurant. The entire place is very clean. There are maids everywhere cleaning all of the time. Make sure you hit up Mr. Islas at the lobby bar for a double margarita. He's one of the best and very outgoing. This is the best place for the price. If you like scuba diving, I would recommend Cozumel. The reefs aren't as nice near this hotel. I can't speak for the other resorts though. Swimming is not safe for kids in front of this hotel. There can be a rough current. They had red flags up almost every day. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. This was our second time and we are already planning our next trip. Once again, the food was freaking outstanding. Great for fresh seafood lovers like myself. Oh and even though tips are included, I recommend carrying one dollar bills and throwing them a bone once in a while. They work harder than any hotel worker in the U.S. and will do anything, within their job description, to keep you happy. But you can always tell when someone is having a bad day. They are human too. Over and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I guess Coco Bongo is the place to go in downtown Playa Del Carmen. Lots of chicas.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Dec 5, 2009

When you stay at RIU, stay at a Palace!

I have stayed at a RIU hotel on THREE occasions so far. TWO of my experiences where at the "Palace" class of hotels. I have to say if you stay at RIU the Palace is worth the extra money. We walked to the Palace - Mexico down the road. Also very nice. This one is a close walk to Playa though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Playa. There are tons of shops and restaurants. If you are lazy you can get a cab for $50 pesos ($4-5 USD)

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top