$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Rock, *
Jul 31, 2008

Just OK

Food was fairly good. Did not like having to get in line daily to make a reservation. Always needed to call for bath towels. Did not like the pool towel card system. Entertainment was just plain bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2013

great hotel chain, great vacation

everything was great. there were only a couple of things that I didn't lnd ike. We dined in the steakhouse one evening and the waiters used the water from the melted ice from the steel wine buckets to fill the patrons glasses for water. we an others thought that was a major turn off. we were always short on towels and facecloths. The evening entertainment wasn't as good as the last 3 visits. The pool games are loud and obnoxious with the PA blaring loud encouraging the young drunks. people who just like chilling out reading a book poolside just get up and leave, it kills the calm beautiful atmosphere. There are too many children activities at night near the bandstand. it would be nice if there was an Italian restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

visiting the other RIUs nearby was fun. we walked to one of the 3 every morning for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Apr 5, 2010

Great hotel and wonderful service

The hotel was great. There was staff everywhere always willing to assist or bring you a drink! The location was great we walked to 5th ave for shopping, took about 15 minutes. It was very safe, actually when we walked into town it was 8:00 at night. If you can get reservations Krystal was awesome. The only problem is that you need to make reservations and if you have a short stay you may only get reservations for one of the nights, which is what happened to us. The buffet is okay otherwise. The pool was really neat and it has a swim up bar. The only problem is that people reserve chairs very early and then are not there all day. So it is hard to get a spot at the pool. There was plenty of chairs at the beach though so that was our default. I would definately go back to this resort or try another RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the bar crawl. You go with a group of 20 - 40 people and go to a couple bars you pay one fee and then get free drinks all night. We ended at Coco Bongo which was super fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Jul 27, 2007

Great Experience

This was our second stay at this hotel so we obviously had a great time the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Mar 7, 2011

If you can get a deal, go!

If you can get a really good deal to go to this hotel, take it. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is fabulous and, although I didn't spend any time at the pool (just the beach), it looks like the hotel staff works very hard to make the pool (complete with swim-up bar) lots of fun. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, lunch is pretty good and the restaurants for dinner ranged from good to terrible. Biggest complaints: the people at reception were unfriendly and unhelpful (and, at times, nasty) and the system for making dinner reservations is ridiculous. If I got a really good deal, I would go back. Otherwise, I would try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Hotel..Awesome Location

Great location..Cheap taxi ride to downtown or short walk. Beach was awesome. Service was the best. Nice rooms..Clean..Only bad thing we encountered was the food wasnt all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat downtown sometime. Great restaurants..Food on resort isnt the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoz
Waterford, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Should be bettter...

We requested an upgraded room because of lack of view, and were told we could have one the next day. We had planned to move the next morning only to be told nothing available. We asked if we could check out a little late because of a late flight to be told NO, with no offers to continue using facilities etc. after check-out. This advertises as a 5 star, but food definitely not there, including the "specialty" restaurants. Have been to several all-inclusive Riviera Maya resorts, and would not return here as others are equally nice, more service oriented and less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebekah from Cali
Sunny California
Jun 4, 2009

Couples 1st trip away from 2 boys

Riu Palace was beautiful and our first stay away from our 5 & 2 yr old boys. Next time we will bring the boys with us-seeing other kids made us miss ours. The RIU Palace doesn't cater to kids-which I liked hence us not bring our's. The kids there were all VERY well behaved and did not interrupt our "adult time" in any way. The housekeeping staff works hard all day keeping the lobby clean/mopped/spotless = slippery floors so be careful w/choice of shoes. The room service is not a large selection so make dinner reservations (in back of main floor lobby by window overlooking palace by inside bar @ noon - a line forms so get there early) or eat @ the buffet. I highly suggest the sea bass @ the Fushion restaurant. The japanese restaurant is also a great one. All the bartenders, restaurants and buffet servers are all WONDERFUL! They know how to treat the guests and make them feel comfortable. The inside bartender [...] IS AWESOME! We loved him. All waiters/waitresses take good care of you IF you constantly order - even agua. Whether you're at the pool or in the lobby or outside listening to the band waiting for the show - they're on top of their game. Tip them extra and they'll always take care of you. Downside: The front desk was never very helpful and could use some classes in customer service from all other services offered by the resort. Any occasion I had to stop by and ask for something I was treated as if I was making them go out of their way even though the resort was close to empty. I later figured out that the helpful ones (the women) were always off coordinating weddings. I asked for a water and the front desk clerk went in the back and I waited for 15 mins only for him not to return at all. I went to the sport bar that always has bottled water instead. The bars in general are all very helpful and the front desk could learn a thing or two from them. Being a front desk clerk is the first impression the resort gives. There are helpful women there but I found the men to be downright haughty and almost insulted if asked for help as if we were interrupting their thoughts. Tip the mini fridge person each day and write a note for mas aqua por favor. The mini fridge stocker is NOT the maid. Seperate tips is suggested w/envelopes otherwise the maid will take it all and hopefully tell the mini fridge stocker.I parasailed right in front of the palace: $40 a person - u can bargain w/the guys. We rented quads and did 3 zip lines for 50 a person I think. 4 hr event. Scuba diving is good. Snorkling @ Ixcaret is not so great. It was hot and we got overheated. Someone who does that first on their trip may like it better than on the last day like we did. Honestly I don't recommend Ixcaret-didn't see many butterfly's @ the exhibit and you have to walk miles to get anywhere. My kids would have gotten heat stroke if I took them there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jump in a taxi for 50 pesos. Ask the cab driver before you get in 50 pesos to 5th ave. Go to 5th ave and bargain. Whatever their first price is they throw out go down 2/3rds. They want to rip u off - let them see how it feels. Rip them off for once. For instance I bought some shell necklace at RIU Palace for 10 and he wanted 55 each. I got 2 for 20. the economy is not good. When I went to 5th ave, I got a necklace for $5 - it wasn't as pretty as the two I got at RIU palace but a nice gift for someone. The small shopping center near the starbucks on the way in has some nice jewelry shops but the prices can be outrageous. Go to 5th ave and pay $5 to 15 for really nice neclaces. Go to the bar with swings and have a cerveza and watch a ballgame on the big screen. It's fun down there and the mexican food restaurants are good too. If u want a mask buy it on 5th ave area. I got a spider man one for 100 pesos. My 5 yr old loves it! The soccer outfits are cute too for 75 pesos. Remember to bargain, bargain, bargain. the nice stores with nice things have fixed prices tho but are still reasonable. Have fun shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY workaholic
New York City
Sep 8, 2009

Mellow Mexico

I laid, happily, by the pool. I sipped cocktails, and relaxed. Mission accomplished. I would have liked a few more vegetarian options, considering even the salads had bacon in them. My only gripe was the bedding. For someone who rarely gets sun on their skin, scratchy blankets don't feel good on burnt skin. Softer bedding, and softer mattresses would be a hugh benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search