$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jan 9, 2010

nice place

grand hotel very nice very luxurious. Room was quite sexy and modern great condition, bed a bit uncomfortable, but great beach, service was attentive, food was pretty good and at times incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

playacar golf course is right across the street. It is the hardest course I have ever played by a lot a real lot

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Business
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lenexa
Nov 15, 2008

Beautiful atmosphere

We had a great 7 night stay at the RIU. You could relax or join in on the fun provided by the entertainment staff. The pool is large and clean with plenty of loungers. They could do with a few less palm trees around the pool, most of the pool is shady by 2-3pm. But we just moved to the beach at that time of day where there was still plenty of sun. It had one of the best beaches, with the most room for loungers and sunning. The pool bar was fun and the wait staff were excellent. The rooms were a bit musty, so take a air freshner with you. The food was some of the best of all the all-inclusive we have stayed at. The buffet was great at breakfast and dinner. My advice is to stay away from the Brazilian restuarant. Tip: Do a open air massage on the beach!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Good shopping and restuarants on 5th ave. It was a $5 cab ride from the RIU

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norton
Aug 30, 2008

Great honeymoon location

RIU Palace Riviera Maya was beautiful. The grounds were well maintained and the beach was stunning. The food was decent, although my husband and I experienced some mild food poisoning and I'm not sure how long they leave the food outside for lunch in the heat (something I should have thought about). There was plenty to do, our room was big and the staff was very nice. The only problem we encountered was that my phone was stolen from the room as well as a pair of jeans. The hotel provides a safe and visitors should use it for everything. The hotel staff police came to the room to look for the phone but we never heard anything back (or any kind of apology) and when we were checking out they had no information about the investigation. There was also an occasion where I was taking a nap and some staff entered the room without knocking, it was kind of odd and they just said, sorry, sorry and left. I heard another visitor complaining about a similar event in the lobby. Overall the site was good and the positives outweighed the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was great.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Dec 3, 2009

destination wedding shopping

I met my family at Riu Palace Riviera Maya to investigate as a possible location for my destination wedding. We ended up there during a tropical storm, but didn't let that stop us! I have never stayed at a Riu, but found it similar to other all-inclusives. The restaurants did require reservations, which were all booked by the time we arrived, so we ate at the buffet restaurant for all our meals. Personally I prefer the no-reservation format, but if you know you need to make the reservations 4 days before, starting at noon, it might work. The food in the buffet was excellent and changed each night, but it would have been fun to try some of the other restaurants. The rooms were clean, but our first night we noticed a pretty powerful chlorine or cleanser smell (not a good one) in the corridors on our first floor. We ended up requesting to move to a different floor and were upgraded to a room on the second floor that did not have an odor. We actually walked the hallways to decide where it was coming from and noticed it was pretty much limited to the first floor- maybe because it was above the restaurant? Anyway, after the move we had no other issues. We enjoyed drinks in the bar each night before dinner, with live music that was a nice touch. The restaurant waiters were also supurb with service that became more personal each day. We met with the wedding planners, who is actually at the Riu Palace Mexico and covers several Riu properties. They were quite helpful and it wasn't far between the properties. They said they don't schedule more than one wedding at a given time, so that was reassuring. We were able to tour the Riu Mexico as well, which had a less European feel, was much more Mexican feel. A little smaller property, but actually quite nice and otherwise comparable. The ceremony locations were different: Riu Mexico has a small chapel, beach, or gazebo. Riu Riviera Maya had no chapel, but a nicer beach and a very nice garden gazebo that Riu Mexico didn't have anything similar to. The only drawback for both was that in case of rain the ceremonies are held in the theater, which is not bad, but not great. I also felt there was a little less ability to personalize things then at other places. We didn't get to swim because of the rain, but the pool was amazing! We did rent a car and drive to Tulum, the location of Riu Riviera Maya was halfway between Tulum and the Airport in Cancun, so convenient. We also were able to walk around Playa del Carmen, which was a five dollar taxi ride from the hotel. Overall a great trip! I will likely have my wedding at an adults-only resort (which Riu is not), but would be quite happy to get married in the garden gazebo or on the beach at the Riu Riviera Maya, though the character of the Riu Mexico was more personal. We managed to have a fun and relaxing time despite the weather. Proximity to Playa del Carmen was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Jan 30, 2011

RIU Feedback

Very nice atmosphere, in room service could have been better...frig not restocked daily, tissues gone, etc. Reservations for dining took too much time and noisy with doors slamming late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 4, 2009

September 2009

Great service by restaurant/bar staff. Poor service by front-desk staff. Very bad security; any body has complete access to your name and room number at any time. We had a suite with nice furniture and lay-out, but no hot water because the suites are furthest from the water-heaters and often don't get enough hot water. Maintenance mentioned to us that it has been a problem since opening day for the hotel. The floors of the hotel are extremely slick. We were all having trouble staying on our feet. Can be a real hazard. It was an issue every day. Food and food related services are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue is great for shopping and dinning.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2008

Friendly Staff and Good Toymes!

The hotel is beautiful and everyone from the staff to the guests were very friendly. We travelled with a group of friends, and it was a blast to meet down at the amazing pool, swim up and get our cocktails and just relax. The beach was also nice with beautiful sand and water. The food at the buffet was great for all 3 meals. Made it to the Japanese and Mexican specialty restaurants which were both very good. Make sure you bring one pair long pants because no shorts are allowed in the speciality places. Walking to town is easy, and the bars and restaurants there are great. Cab is only 5 bucks if you don't wanna walk. The drinks can be weak, so ask for a doble or double, and they'll pour it in. The lobby bar has the best quality booze (absolut, crown royal, etc.). As other people have said, there is a musty smell, but it's Mexico...who cares? Also, lock up your valuables in the safe. My phone got ripped off while charging. I'd definitely go back to this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 14, 2009

Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

The hotel is close to a few tourist attractions and ruins, but you can have a very relaxing time just staying at the hotel. There are multiple water sports available and endless food and drink. My 4 year-old loved the protected beach and daily kids activities. Despite the brochures stating that gratuities are included, the staff definitely expected tips! Maybe that was because we are Americans?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Haggle!!! And look around before you buy. Most trinkets can be found in multiple locations so you can take your time to find the best price.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Oct 22, 2009

A piece of heaven in a luxury setting

The hotel is beautifully designed and offers some of the best beach setting which I have seen in my travels. The outdoor bar by tht pool offered gorgeous view of the ocean. However, the staff were too influenced by tips and did not provide the service I had hoped for. The staff at the restauraunts, however, were excellent. Service was incredible when it came to the formal dining. My major complaint was with the room. The air conditioner functioned poorly, plumbing did not always work properly, and lights would shut off periodically. Overall, I would come back again if the price is right. It is not a five star hotel but come pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top