RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 1, 2009

Great hotel

Very relaxing trip. Staff was wonderful, very attentive and never intrusive. Our Orbitz rep at the hotel, [...] suggested wonderful tours...loved the snorkeling. The buffet was always good...something interesting to try every night. Great experience. We were saddened that the resport was only half occupied (and the sister property was closed) due to the Swine Flu scare. Hopefully things will soon be back to normal for the very professional, friendly & gracious staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Underwater
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2009

What A Place

We arrived at the RIU and were whisked in to their typical service. While we checked in we were handed drinks. What a great way to start a stay! We checked out our room and then went exploring. We found the restaurant reservations in the lobby. This RIU does the res between 12 and 3 PM. No getting up at the crack of dawn here.Our room was comfortable. We liked the idea of the seating area, but we didn't really use it. We were surprised to hear a knock on the door our first night--the do not disturb sign was on the door. I found a hotel employee bearing gifts. He had a plateful of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne...My wife found the pool and the pool service great. We go to the Cancun area because we both find things we like to do. My wife likes to relax by the pool and have a few drinks; I like to go SCUBA diving. We both got to do our share of both. This hotel is cleaned constantly. I was feeling restless at 3AM. I walked through the lobby. What did I find? People were cleaning. I fell comfortable saying that this hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day.We were impressed by some of the shows.We ate at two off the reservation restaurants. We found both to be good. Are they Ruth's Chris orr Nobu? No. However, they do not cost $300 orr more for a couple to eat in. The atmosphere is great and the servers make a big effort to make you happy. By the way, a biggish tip in one of thses restaurants will net big benefits. The captain in Krystal, [...], is also in charge of breakfast. If he remembers you, he will make sure that you are completely spoiled at breakfast,Don't be afraid, go to Mexico. Stay at the RI"U and you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Parrilla de Argentina on 10th between 24 and 26. The food was awesome. The price was about one third of what the same meal would cost on 5th ave. Also, if you are a diver, check out cancunscuba.com. Octavio will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swine Flue lover
Kansas City
May 9, 2009

Love this place

Returned again to the same place as last year will go again to the same resort. Hated the fact that Orbitz travel rep called me at the hotel 9am the day after check in to book my return transportation back to the airport on our departure date. This fact alone may cause me not to use Orbitz again. Hotel is awesome, great friendly helpful staff. They will make some great drinks when you find he right bartenders. Food on the buffets are good but not outstanding. Checking in does seem to take forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis MO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Terry
Maine
Apr 23, 2009

Our "Best" vacation ever!

Staying at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya was everything we had hoped for and more. We wouldn't change a thing about this resort. We have been on many trips and this was above all the best. The water fountains, the beautiful palm trees, the awesome pools, massages, the wait staff, the entertainment, the spectacular beach front, games of volleyball, parasailing, jetsking, you name it this resort is spot on. If you are looking for quiet and rest you won't be dissappointed either. Grab your towels, lounge chair or hamock, whether in the sun, on the beach or under a palm tree, and let your vacation begin. We chose not to do the tours, but did take a nice stroll each day and stopped by the shopping areas and found the streets very clean and everyone very courteous. We look forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We made reservations only once and we went to Chili's. The meal was superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Go to this place!!

This is the second time at this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back again. One of the best things is that you're not stranded at an all inclusive. The town (which is awesome) is only a 15 minute walk or about a $5 cab ride. Great bars and restaurants down there if you want a change of pace from the resort. But who needs the town? The food is amazing at the Riu...I recommend the restaurant Krystal for sure, but the buffet is great too. Staff is so friendly..especially bartender Islas and all the pool bartenders. If you drink tequila, make sure to order "don julio" as the house tequila isn't that great. We met a ton of really cool people at the pool that we still keep in touch with. There was never a problem getting a seat at the pool or on the beach. The water is beautiful, and they'll serve you cocktails right there. Don't even bother walking to the other Riu's, this one is the best one. When checking in, try to upgrade to a courtyard facing room. They may want to charge you at first, so decline and they will most likely give it to you anyway if it's available. It's true that the rooms have that musty smell, but you're not in a New York City hotel, you're in the humid tropics, so deal with it. After a day or two, you don't even notice it any more. They say tips are included, but if you give the pool guy a 5 or 10, he'll be all over you all day long making you those "special" drinks. Couple bucks here and there to the bartenders is really appreciated also, and they will take great care of you if you do. I could go on and on, but for the value, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into the town (5th Ave) for tequila and other Mexican specialties.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myni
Houston Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Great All Inclusive at a Great Price!

Our room was amazing! We had a jacuzzi on the 2nd floor balconey that we used every night and could hear the music from the band below! The food was good and the drinks to die for! I would definatly recommend this hotel for couples or honey-mooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy anything from the vendors at the hotel..they will rip you off..go into town or to the little shops in Playacar and rembember to ALWAYS negotiate down...they start pretty high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The four amigos
Sparta, NC
Apr 14, 2009

Two couples having fun

The resort was beautiful. Could not believe how clean they kept the rooms and the grounds. The specialty restaurants were ok, but with the buffet you really didn't need to waste your time with reservations. Nightly entertainment was good and the staff was outstanding. Pool and beach were both great. The massage on the beach was very relaxing. The Orbitz rep at the hotel was very helpful, set us up on a great tour with alltournativetours, we had a wonderful time on the Tulum tour with the zipline and cenyote swim. Hope to return real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to 5th ave. for shopping. Try the Tulum tour, it's alot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan
Apr 8, 2009

Spring Break at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

The hotel is pretty and well maintained. The food is good. The buffet is good. We tried all the restaurants except the Mexican because my mother does not like Mexican. The only one we really liked was the Krystal. We had asked for a handicapped room because my mother is elderly and is slowing down. The room itself was nice and located near the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately the handicapped rooms are way down in the lower level with a fabric covered tennis fence right in front of the balcony and in your view. We would have loved to sit on the balcony but it was against the solid green fence and the noise of the tennis players. Also all the staff entered and exited walking in front of our balcony and could look into our room. We decided to upgrade our transportation for our return to the airport at the end of our week. We were told to meet the Orbitz representative at the hotel the day we arrived at 4:30. We met with an older fellow named [...]. He was the only unfriendly local person we met all week. To upgrade from a grey lines van to a private car cost $18.00 and that was fine with us. We paid him and he had no change as if he expected a tip or something. Towards the end of our meeting he became just a little more friendly but with attitude. When I confirmed our car a day before our departure I found out [...] never called in the change to Grey Lines and I had to arrange the private car myself and was able to leave 1/2 hour later not the one hour later NOE said we would have. He never told Grey Lines that we paid him the cash either. The receptionist at the hotel told me there would be a bellhop to help my mother and I with our luggage early the next morning. When I called in the morning there was no bellhop and the receptionist/concierge could not care less. There was not much breakfast available too even though we were told there was 24 hour room service. There were men in the room service area. It would have been nice if they could have helped us with our luggage to the front door.I only saw a stretch class on the beach given once, the first day in the seven days we were there. I wanted to take the class and after our first day no one ever offered it even though it was on the schedule. We enjoyed the after dinner music and the shows. Unfortunately the kids show had to happen in the theatre in between. It was unpleasant. We love the kids but it would be nice if they could do their show by the pool and the grown ups can listen to more music. We took a taxi to Playa del Car?, little local market and Playa del Carmen. It was easy, $5 each way and great for us because Mom could not walk so far. We also visited the Aviary down the street. I enjoyed that very much. There were lots of birds an animals to see. We loved our Maitre D's and waiters. The fitness center or gym needs a big renovation and upgrade, bad equipment and no diagrams. Lunch at the buffet restaurant was very nice and quiet. The lunch at the buffet by the pool was CRAZY, to much going on. I powerwalked on the bike path every morning on the main street and so did many others. It was nice. You can get your own to go coffee at the buffet and go. That was nice. It was a very busy week but we were able to get pool towels and lounge chairs every day. I did go in the early morning to put towels down on the weekend. The cabernet served at Krystal was the best wine of the week. The other wine in the hotel is just OK not great. I guess the week was a big MIX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring dollar bills or 20 peso bills for tips for your housekeeper daily and your waiters daily. They take care of you and remember you. They work so very hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Mar 3, 2009

Great Vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Loved the huge flower arrangement of Lilies in the lobby. The staff was very nice. Our luggage didn't make the flight but was in our room before dinner. The room was clean & nice. We were glad we upgraded to a Jr. Suite--the view was nice. We walked the beach a lot & we seemed to have the best beach around. Some of the other hotels didn't have much of a beach left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top