RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
289 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdhealth[@]
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

RIU Just OK

For the Money it was Just Ok !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happynewyorker
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2009

Flawless experience

Super friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great spa (look for the combo massage and a facial). Food is good and varied. Walking distance to town and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ultrajewelers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Tan Thanks to Playa-Janet
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2009

Beautiful, relaxing, simply amazing

Very nice location, the beach was beautiful, the pool was nice and cozy, the staff was very nice, friendly, and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I did a little souvenir shopping on 5th Ave, I would suggest never buying at the price they offer. Always bargain at least half of what they originally tried to sell you your souvenir for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen K
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Jun 9, 2009

Great Stay!

The hotel itself is gorgeous and more than you can ask for. I didn't care for the front desk staff, but everyone else was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice sized and comfortable. The cleaning staff could do a better job, by mopping the floors regularly. We had to ask several times on our 12 day trip. You tend to get a lot of grit on the floor coming in from the beach and all. My mothers room had some roaches, which I didn't find out until later. I would have made them switch me rooms. That is horrible. The food was excellent as it is at all RIU resorts i have been too. Always a variety and after 12 days I still found plenty of things to eat without being repetitive. The pools are very warm, not quit sure why that is. Both pools actually could use a renovation. There are several areas where you can tell tile has been replaced, and it is badly done at that. There is a lot of mold in the grout of the pools, etc. Alot of the chairs around the pool are broken and need replaced (ie. the arms, etc). However, there are plenty of other chairs that are fine. Same with the umbrellas, i had to rig them most of the time to stay up because the pins are gone that hold them up. The beach is totally awesome, i love the fact you can have full sun or lay under the trees in a chair or a hammock. I would stay there again especially for everytihng you get and the beauty of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 8, 2009

Storybook Vacation

The entire experience was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful - eager to please. The atmosophere and sevice was first class - as advertised. The food selection was varied and tasty. My wife and I eat "Clean" ( very little fat and starch) and had no trouble dining in any of the facilities. The beach and pools were breathtaking. Room was excellent. Entertainment was weak - but nobody cared .....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the Playacarmen village was scenic and safe. The town is charming - shops and cafes next to the sparkling water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
egg82nd
Business
texas
Jun 7, 2009

Great family or couple getaway

Awesome time and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebekah from Cali
Business
Sunny California
Jun 4, 2009

Couples 1st trip away from 2 boys

Riu Palace was beautiful and our first stay away from our 5 & 2 yr old boys. Next time we will bring the boys with us-seeing other kids made us miss ours. The RIU Palace doesn't cater to kids-which I liked hence us not bring our's. The kids there were all VERY well behaved and did not interrupt our "adult time" in any way. The housekeeping staff works hard all day keeping the lobby clean/mopped/spotless = slippery floors so be careful w/choice of shoes. The room service is not a large selection so make dinner reservations (in back of main floor lobby by window overlooking palace by inside bar @ noon - a line forms so get there early) or eat @ the buffet. I highly suggest the sea bass @ the Fushion restaurant. The japanese restaurant is also a great one. All the bartenders, restaurants and buffet servers are all WONDERFUL! They know how to treat the guests and make them feel comfortable. The inside bartender [...] IS AWESOME! We loved him. All waiters/waitresses take good care of you IF you constantly order - even agua. Whether you're at the pool or in the lobby or outside listening to the band waiting for the show - they're on top of their game. Tip them extra and they'll always take care of you. Downside: The front desk was never very helpful and could use some classes in customer service from all other services offered by the resort. Any occasion I had to stop by and ask for something I was treated as if I was making them go out of their way even though the resort was close to empty. I later figured out that the helpful ones (the women) were always off coordinating weddings. I asked for a water and the front desk clerk went in the back and I waited for 15 mins only for him not to return at all. I went to the sport bar that always has bottled water instead. The bars in general are all very helpful and the front desk could learn a thing or two from them. Being a front desk clerk is the first impression the resort gives. There are helpful women there but I found the men to be downright haughty and almost insulted if asked for help as if we were interrupting their thoughts. Tip the mini fridge person each day and write a note for mas aqua por favor. The mini fridge stocker is NOT the maid. Seperate tips is suggested w/envelopes otherwise the maid will take it all and hopefully tell the mini fridge stocker.I parasailed right in front of the palace: $40 a person - u can bargain w/the guys. We rented quads and did 3 zip lines for 50 a person I think. 4 hr event. Scuba diving is good. Snorkling @ Ixcaret is not so great. It was hot and we got overheated. Someone who does that first on their trip may like it better than on the last day like we did. Honestly I don't recommend Ixcaret-didn't see many butterfly's @ the exhibit and you have to walk miles to get anywhere. My kids would have gotten heat stroke if I took them there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jump in a taxi for 50 pesos. Ask the cab driver before you get in 50 pesos to 5th ave. Go to 5th ave and bargain. Whatever their first price is they throw out go down 2/3rds. They want to rip u off - let them see how it feels. Rip them off for once. For instance I bought some shell necklace at RIU Palace for 10 and he wanted 55 each. I got 2 for 20. the economy is not good. When I went to 5th ave, I got a necklace for $5 - it wasn't as pretty as the two I got at RIU palace but a nice gift for someone. The small shopping center near the starbucks on the way in has some nice jewelry shops but the prices can be outrageous. Go to 5th ave and pay $5 to 15 for really nice neclaces. Go to the bar with swings and have a cerveza and watch a ballgame on the big screen. It's fun down there and the mexican food restaurants are good too. If u want a mask buy it on 5th ave area. I got a spider man one for 100 pesos. My 5 yr old loves it! The soccer outfits are cute too for 75 pesos. Remember to bargain, bargain, bargain. the nice stores with nice things have fixed prices tho but are still reasonable. Have fun shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2009

Great hotel

Very relaxing trip. Staff was wonderful, very attentive and never intrusive. Our Orbitz rep at the hotel, [...] suggested wonderful tours...loved the snorkeling. The buffet was always good...something interesting to try every night. Great experience. We were saddened that the resport was only half occupied (and the sister property was closed) due to the Swine Flu scare. Hopefully things will soon be back to normal for the very professional, friendly & gracious staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Underwater
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2009

What A Place

We arrived at the RIU and were whisked in to their typical service. While we checked in we were handed drinks. What a great way to start a stay! We checked out our room and then went exploring. We found the restaurant reservations in the lobby. This RIU does the res between 12 and 3 PM. No getting up at the crack of dawn here.Our room was comfortable. We liked the idea of the seating area, but we didn't really use it. We were surprised to hear a knock on the door our first night--the do not disturb sign was on the door. I found a hotel employee bearing gifts. He had a plateful of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne...My wife found the pool and the pool service great. We go to the Cancun area because we both find things we like to do. My wife likes to relax by the pool and have a few drinks; I like to go SCUBA diving. We both got to do our share of both. This hotel is cleaned constantly. I was feeling restless at 3AM. I walked through the lobby. What did I find? People were cleaning. I fell comfortable saying that this hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day.We were impressed by some of the shows.We ate at two off the reservation restaurants. We found both to be good. Are they Ruth's Chris orr Nobu? No. However, they do not cost $300 orr more for a couple to eat in. The atmosphere is great and the servers make a big effort to make you happy. By the way, a biggish tip in one of thses restaurants will net big benefits. The captain in Krystal, [...], is also in charge of breakfast. If he remembers you, he will make sure that you are completely spoiled at breakfast,Don't be afraid, go to Mexico. Stay at the RI"U and you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Parrilla de Argentina on 10th between 24 and 26. The food was awesome. The price was about one third of what the same meal would cost on 5th ave. Also, if you are a diver, check out cancunscuba.com. Octavio will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swine Flue lover
Business
Kansas City
May 9, 2009

Love this place

Returned again to the same place as last year will go again to the same resort. Hated the fact that Orbitz travel rep called me at the hotel 9am the day after check in to book my return transportation back to the airport on our departure date. This fact alone may cause me not to use Orbitz again. Hotel is awesome, great friendly helpful staff. They will make some great drinks when you find he right bartenders. Food on the buffets are good but not outstanding. Checking in does seem to take forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top