RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOURKEY
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Absolutely Incredible

We relaxed. The hotel staff made sure we relaxed. the facilities were amazing. I am not a big fan of All inclusive vacations, as it usually invites an over-consuming, loud and onbonoxious crowd where you have to fight for cheap liquor and run of the mill buffets. RIU PALACE changed my perspective with a classy European crowd, top shelf liquor that actually was served to you constantly, great shows at night and many different ala carte restaurants aside from the buffet and an incredible buffet. the best service I have seen in a long time, including stays at four Seasons, Ritz and alike hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

GREAT! 9:45 PM every night and throughout the day many activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grants Pass, oregon
Sep 14, 2009

Wonderful vacation and family wedding!

We went there for our daughter's wedding. We had the best time. This was our first real vacation and can't wait to do it again. Went to Chichen Itza, it was awesome. It's a long drive but well worth it. The snorkeling is great. Very inexpensive and lots of fun. We also went to Tulum, which isn't too far away. You can not go to Mexico and not visit the ruins. Our room was fabulous. It was clean, slightly musty but that's normal. The staff treated us great. Very friendly and always making sure my husband was ok, since he was recovering from foot surgery.Great entertainment every night in the courtyard.Food was great, huge selection. I didn't like everything, but who does. It's to your own taste. The sea was great, so warm to swim in. I preferred it to the pool. All in all, it was an awesome trip. I didn't want to leave. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some vendors have high prices and claim jewelry is pure silver. Most of it's not. You just have to haggle with them to get the prices down. The shops just down the street had great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
torreon coah Mexico
Sep 14, 2009

*****

every thing great!! the exception was that orbits charge 65 usd/per person ( being 3 people traveling in a group) when the travel by taxi from the airport to the hotel was 650 pesos (55 usd ) taking into account that orbitz is always the cheapest and the best price.. THAT IS NOT NICE AT ALL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin Texas
Sep 10, 2009

Great place for paradise

This is a great place to stay on your vacation. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and their staff is very helpful and waits on you hand and foot. I felt like royalty staying in this hotel. The location is great and right down the street from Playa del Carmen. I can't express enough about how beautiful the beaches here were. I was always able to find a lounge chair on the beach. The only bad thing I can say about this place is because all the halls are tile it can make it a little noisy. I could hear doors closing and people coming down the hall. The buffets were good. I wish they served more Mexican food and sometimes the food was a little cold, but there was always a great selection and you could tell they used a lot of care in preperation and presentation. I will definately go back to this hotel next time I visit and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your shopping in Playa del Carmen instead of Playacar. You will find better deals for way cheaper. It's a short ride or you can pay $5 for a cab from the hotel or you can walk 10-15 min into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY workaholic
Business
New York City
Sep 8, 2009

Mellow Mexico

I laid, happily, by the pool. I sipped cocktails, and relaxed. Mission accomplished. I would have liked a few more vegetarian options, considering even the salads had bacon in them. My only gripe was the bedding. For someone who rarely gets sun on their skin, scratchy blankets don't feel good on burnt skin. Softer bedding, and softer mattresses would be a hugh benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 7, 2009

Simply Excellent

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is probably the best resort I've been too. The resort was practically spotless. Everywhere you turned, someone was cleaning something. There was so much attention to detail. The beach and pool are amazing. The food was great too. The staff is super friendly and professional. The resort is a short walk to Playa del Carmen and its in a very safe location. You can't go wrong with this resort. I highly recommend it for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Margarita Tasters
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 31, 2009

Fantastic All Inclusive

This is a nice property-very clean and well-kept. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The only bad experience was with the Scuba Caribe group - the dive experience was disorganized and unpleasant. The restaurants at this property are great. The location was convenient to Playa del Carmen-just a five minute cab ride to shopping. Also a nice shopping area 5 minutes walk from the hotel in Playacar. Very few kids, nice and quiet for the most part. We would recommend to couples looking for a get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your activities ahead of time whenever possible. There are travel reps at the hotel but it is a hassle to sort through who is legitimate and who is selling time shares. We booked all through orbitz and we had one rep-good price-no hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Hotel..Awesome Location

Great location..Cheap taxi ride to downtown or short walk. Beach was awesome. Service was the best. Nice rooms..Clean..Only bad thing we encountered was the food wasnt all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat downtown sometime. Great restaurants..Food on resort isnt the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top