$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
290 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob and Alisa
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cousins from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 12, 2009

Great vacation

The hotel surpassed any of our expectations, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel amenities were great. They had a good variety of drinks and top shelf alcohol (but they only served two types of beers). In addition to the buffet style restaurant, the hotel features some specialty restaurants for dinner which required reservations. Although it is difficult to obtain a reservation due to limited capacity, the food at these places was great, especially Agape (their Mexican style restaurant).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget to take a tour to Chichen Itza, and the nearby Cenote, they are an experience of a lifetime (and the tour can be arranged through Orbitz).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
Business
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 23, 2009

Better than we expected!!!

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Riviera Maya for my 30th birthday. we got a 4 night 5 day package from cleveland for 1227 through orbitz from june 18-22, but keep in mind the price was low mostly because of the whole swine-flu thing,which was totally not present to our knowledge anywhere we went in Riviera Maya! This hotel was much more gorgeous than we expected! It was in a gated community with other hotels and homes, we felt very safe. It had a classic look, I was suprised to find out the hotel was built in 06! I cannot say enough about the beauty of the landscaping, the old-world look of the hotel, and the beautiful beach and ocean. We had a room that had a king bed and a small sitting area with a couch, coffee table, and flat screen tv. King bed was a bit hard but we slept just fine. There is also a safe in the room which is free of charge. The only downside to the hotel room was that the bathroom had no ventilation fan, the shower had no light inside it, and the room had a bit of a musty smell. Not unpleasant, but if you are sensitive to that kind of smell, bring along a scented candle. I got used to it. Also there were a few small ants in the room but HELLO you are in the tropics and some of that is just impossible to avoid. I took them outside if I could catch them. We had a room that faced the large courtyard area and it was awesome, they had live music from about 7p-9p every night, and usually a show in the theatre nearby. It was cool to sit on the small patio and listen or walk to the pavilion area and sit at a table and get a drink. There is a small workout facility with some basic equipment, 2 treadmills and an elliptical trainer along with some other older machines. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and pool and right outside the gym there are hammocks tied to palm trees on the beach! Gorgeous. The food was better than expected. (We stayed at the Sun Palace all inclusive in Cancun for our honeymoon a few years ago and the food was very bland, it wasn't so here) You make reservations for the specialty restaurants in the hotel lobby bar area from 12-3pm. The first day we were there, they had no more reservations left and we ate at the buffet that night, which has a large variety of quality stuff. (A lot of times you see food from the night before end up at the buffet the next day at other resorts, but I really didnt see any of that here) Please be prepared for this, I saw a lot of people walk away unhappy without reservations because of that. The other three nights we were able to get into a restaurant but some of them (Krystal and the brazilian restaurant) were always sold out. We were a little disappointed but the food at the other restaurants was very good. I can see how they sell out quickly because the specialty restaurants are very small inside. Be advised that if you are a vegetarian it may be hard for you at the specialty restaurants, they do have some veggie choices but not many, the buffet would probably be the better route for you! (For lunch the buffet called chili's is open, really nice lunch items, and beautiful view of ocean and pool!)The employees all work very hard and are pleasant but we did NOT expect them to all know english. There were many that did not speak english but it wasnt a problem, you can still communicate ok. It is helpful to know some spanish. Also even though its an all-inclusive we brought a stack of singles for the maids, waiters, bartenders, etc. I doubt they make much money and they really work very hard to make you happy. Also dont be alarmed if you ask a bartender for a drink and he starts making some other drinks and helping other people, he will get to you. Some people at the swim-up bar were like "hey isnt it my turn?" But understand they have a rotation system and they WILL get your drink, it just may not be as quick as you would expect. Anyway I hope this helps! Go and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to make dining reservations ASAP as soon as you get there. Be advised, they sell out very quickly, and they only allow you to make 2 reservations at a time, so you will probably have to come back unless you would rather eat at the dinner buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaritas!
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great time!

Overall the hotel was very nice. The food and drinks were great as always. Good location. Decent pool (although got a little grungy with so many people though). The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful! We were able to take out one of the catamarans that they had there - what a blast. It was quite possibly the slowest catamaran that I have ever sailed, but there was no question how beautiful the coast line there is. For area attractions: We took a $5 USD cab ride into Playa Del Carmen - it is a fun afternoon to walk through the shopping district. Don't expect great bargains, but the area is a fun stroll. We did a whale shark snorkeling tour. It was a long, but fun day. And definitely a unique experience! I don't know if I'd do it again, but I'm really happy we did it! The highlight of the tour was a day trip to Chichen Itza (the big mayan pyramid in the middle of the Yucatan). The complex (includes pyrmid and a good number of other facinating buildings) is a can't miss! The day is realatively long, but it is so facinating that the day flies by. I'm definitely going to back again soon! We wanted to go diving in a cenote (freshwater cave). Unfortunately a case of Montezuma's revenge canceled that trip... But we will be back and will give that a try as the cenotes look beautiful! There are many different activities that you can do in the Cancun/PDC area, but if you are going to do one - make it a trip to Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The biggest surprise about the trip was meeting with the Orbitz "travel agent." We met with a guy named [...] who worked with Mayaland Tours and was contracted to service Orbitz customers. [...] was awesome to work with on setting up tours. He gave us excellent advice and fantastic service. He followed up with us a few times in the middle of our stay and helped us to change our reservation on one tour and cancel another. Going through [...] was a real time and hassle saver!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top