$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob and Alisa
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cousins from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 12, 2009

Great vacation

The hotel surpassed any of our expectations, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel amenities were great. They had a good variety of drinks and top shelf alcohol (but they only served two types of beers). In addition to the buffet style restaurant, the hotel features some specialty restaurants for dinner which required reservations. Although it is difficult to obtain a reservation due to limited capacity, the food at these places was great, especially Agape (their Mexican style restaurant).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget to take a tour to Chichen Itza, and the nearby Cenote, they are an experience of a lifetime (and the tour can be arranged through Orbitz).

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
Business
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 23, 2009

Better than we expected!!!

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Riviera Maya for my 30th birthday. we got a 4 night 5 day package from cleveland for 1227 through orbitz from june 18-22, but keep in mind the price was low mostly because of the whole swine-flu thing,which was totally not present to our knowledge anywhere we went in Riviera Maya! This hotel was much more gorgeous than we expected! It was in a gated community with other hotels and homes, we felt very safe. It had a classic look, I was suprised to find out the hotel was built in 06! I cannot say enough about the beauty of the landscaping, the old-world look of the hotel, and the beautiful beach and ocean. We had a room that had a king bed and a small sitting area with a couch, coffee table, and flat screen tv. King bed was a bit hard but we slept just fine. There is also a safe in the room which is free of charge. The only downside to the hotel room was that the bathroom had no ventilation fan, the shower had no light inside it, and the room had a bit of a musty smell. Not unpleasant, but if you are sensitive to that kind of smell, bring along a scented candle. I got used to it. Also there were a few small ants in the room but HELLO you are in the tropics and some of that is just impossible to avoid. I took them outside if I could catch them. We had a room that faced the large courtyard area and it was awesome, they had live music from about 7p-9p every night, and usually a show in the theatre nearby. It was cool to sit on the small patio and listen or walk to the pavilion area and sit at a table and get a drink. There is a small workout facility with some basic equipment, 2 treadmills and an elliptical trainer along with some other older machines. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and pool and right outside the gym there are hammocks tied to palm trees on the beach! Gorgeous. The food was better than expected. (We stayed at the Sun Palace all inclusive in Cancun for our honeymoon a few years ago and the food was very bland, it wasn't so here) You make reservations for the specialty restaurants in the hotel lobby bar area from 12-3pm. The first day we were there, they had no more reservations left and we ate at the buffet that night, which has a large variety of quality stuff. (A lot of times you see food from the night before end up at the buffet the next day at other resorts, but I really didnt see any of that here) Please be prepared for this, I saw a lot of people walk away unhappy without reservations because of that. The other three nights we were able to get into a restaurant but some of them (Krystal and the brazilian restaurant) were always sold out. We were a little disappointed but the food at the other restaurants was very good. I can see how they sell out quickly because the specialty restaurants are very small inside. Be advised that if you are a vegetarian it may be hard for you at the specialty restaurants, they do have some veggie choices but not many, the buffet would probably be the better route for you! (For lunch the buffet called chili's is open, really nice lunch items, and beautiful view of ocean and pool!)The employees all work very hard and are pleasant but we did NOT expect them to all know english. There were many that did not speak english but it wasnt a problem, you can still communicate ok. It is helpful to know some spanish. Also even though its an all-inclusive we brought a stack of singles for the maids, waiters, bartenders, etc. I doubt they make much money and they really work very hard to make you happy. Also dont be alarmed if you ask a bartender for a drink and he starts making some other drinks and helping other people, he will get to you. Some people at the swim-up bar were like "hey isnt it my turn?" But understand they have a rotation system and they WILL get your drink, it just may not be as quick as you would expect. Anyway I hope this helps! Go and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to make dining reservations ASAP as soon as you get there. Be advised, they sell out very quickly, and they only allow you to make 2 reservations at a time, so you will probably have to come back unless you would rather eat at the dinner buffet.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaritas!
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great time!

Overall the hotel was very nice. The food and drinks were great as always. Good location. Decent pool (although got a little grungy with so many people though). The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful! We were able to take out one of the catamarans that they had there - what a blast. It was quite possibly the slowest catamaran that I have ever sailed, but there was no question how beautiful the coast line there is. For area attractions: We took a $5 USD cab ride into Playa Del Carmen - it is a fun afternoon to walk through the shopping district. Don't expect great bargains, but the area is a fun stroll. We did a whale shark snorkeling tour. It was a long, but fun day. And definitely a unique experience! I don't know if I'd do it again, but I'm really happy we did it! The highlight of the tour was a day trip to Chichen Itza (the big mayan pyramid in the middle of the Yucatan). The complex (includes pyrmid and a good number of other facinating buildings) is a can't miss! The day is realatively long, but it is so facinating that the day flies by. I'm definitely going to back again soon! We wanted to go diving in a cenote (freshwater cave). Unfortunately a case of Montezuma's revenge canceled that trip... But we will be back and will give that a try as the cenotes look beautiful! There are many different activities that you can do in the Cancun/PDC area, but if you are going to do one - make it a trip to Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The biggest surprise about the trip was meeting with the Orbitz "travel agent." We met with a guy named [...] who worked with Mayaland Tours and was contracted to service Orbitz customers. [...] was awesome to work with on setting up tours. He gave us excellent advice and fantastic service. He followed up with us a few times in the middle of our stay and helped us to change our reservation on one tour and cancel another. Going through [...] was a real time and hassle saver!

Back to menu Return to top