RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2007

Amazing Vacation

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Palace in May, as a break from work, kids, etc. What an amazing resort! The rooms were gorgeous, the staff was friendly, helpful, and well organized. Bar was Top Shelf, and the food was outstanding....from the mimosas at the breakfast buffet (and the chocolate croissants) to the steaks and seafood, every restaurant was classy, served different menus choices, and was never pushy. We're headed to the Palace again in November, and we're taking friends with us this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Riu Tequila for the nightlife...Great Dicso!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey
Aug 12, 2007

Fabulous beach and views

Hotel was gorgeous. Staff was very international and very friendly. Pools were extrmely clean and well kept as well as the beach. Drinks were fabulous and food couldnt have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

other Riu's only a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2007

Quiet-Good for Couples

This was the first time we ever went to Mexico and stayed at the RIU. The holtel was beautiful, the staff friendly, clean, grounds and pool were perfect. The only thing was that the bed was kind of hard and mixed drinks tasted funny, I think it was the juices/sodas. But we found other thinks to drink, the food was quite good and plenty of it. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Olney, IL
Dec 24, 2008

Wonderful place to stay

The hotel was beautiful, staff friendly, and great food. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Tan Thanks to Playa-Janet
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2009

Beautiful, relaxing, simply amazing

Very nice location, the beach was beautiful, the pool was nice and cozy, the staff was very nice, friendly, and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I did a little souvenir shopping on 5th Ave, I would suggest never buying at the price they offer. Always bargain at least half of what they originally tried to sell you your souvenir for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happynewyorker
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2009

Flawless experience

Super friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great spa (look for the combo massage and a facial). Food is good and varied. Walking distance to town and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ultrajewelers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
F-J
Business
Windsor, ON
Jun 1, 2011

Great Time!

This was our first time in Mexico and loved it! The hotel is right on the Caribbean Sea and they have an awesome pool with swim-up bar. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was wonderful as well as the lunch buffet which was located close to the pool for easy access. They have a 24-hour Sports Bar which included the all-inclusive alcoholic drinks, along with burgers, hotdogs, nachos, a few desserts and salads in a fridge with a microwave near by to warm up and eat in the bar or in your room. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice with included alcohol and mixers in the mini-fridge, coffee maker, safe, and view of the garden area. Overall a wonderful hotel and amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you would like to book the specialty restaurants for dinner, definitely do so as soon as possible as the reservations fill up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top