$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam E.
Business
dearborn heights
Dec 30, 2014

Great location, good staff

we really enjoyed our time at the riu palace we were there for a week. location can't be any better the food was better than average. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and roomy. It is nice to be able to go to the other Rius for a change of scenery. And you can literally walk to downtown fifth Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ioan adrian
Business
bronx, new york
Dec 6, 2014

Me and my wife, we used to like Riu Resorts.

Still do, but not so enthusiastic. The goods (5 stars): beach, Manolo restaurant, restaurant workers, entertainment staff , pools, other Riu hotels nearby, Quinta Avenida at 20 min walk, general safe area location, everybody smile, great food choices. The OK (4 stars): tours offers(expensive), reception staff (somewhat busy). The sufficient (3 stars): rooms need to be redone- they have a bad smell and furniture looks dated. Also no direct ocean view. The bad (2 stars): noisy environment up to 11 pm- when shows in theater end. Also be prepared to have lots of 1 dollar bills for tips. We changed 3 rooms till we found one with little smell. Room we've chosen was a downgrade (3rd fl, no balcony and couch, no compensation offered). Receptionists did not acknowledged there is a smell problem into the resort rooms. They tried to accommodate us but we had the feeling that we annoyed them with our request. Rumor is that next year this resort will be completely renovated, similar with was was done with Riu Palace Mexico. I hope they will not change the the old intimacy feeling the resort has now and change for that NYC style Riu Mexico got. Bottom line what counted most: we had a great, wonderful sunshine week with warm ocean waves, plenty of rest and really good food in a very safe and pleasant enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent walking route in gated community. Xcaret park at 15 min by car. We recommend to book a combined tour for Xcaret and Chichen Iza (2 days tour for 179$/person on Xcaret website at least 21 days in advance to reach the discount). Also highly recommended for airport transportation: Canada Transfer- they are in time and not ripping you off, have good vans, you feel like getting a private VIP service

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mundelein Illinois
Nov 26, 2014

bad feeling

The good hotel, but isn't enough greens. Beautiful buildings and pool. Excellent coast. Very good restaurants with excellent service, but are many shortcomings: 1. Bad service in room. After our installation we found a dirty bed, the bar was incomplete, bathing dressing gowns aren't present. Evening entertainments very bad. In the beach bar there is no disposable tableware. Excursions very tiresome are also badly organized. I and my wife not really liked vacation. The second time I won't go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

bad feeling

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Val Beach Girl
Business
Syracuse, NY
Nov 21, 2014

Couples getaway

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Riu Palace. The beach is amazing and the resort is beautiful! The pictures don't do it justice. Grounds are perfectly maintained and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We had great service from everyone at Riu. We have stayed at two other resorts in Riviera Maya and this one was my favorite. I also liked how close the town of Playa was from the hotel. We walked there and back twice to do some shopping. Food was very good. Get room service for the chocolate cake! It was delicious!! If you are looking to get away together or with a bunch of couples this is the place. It is geared to adults. I love the beach and this one was beautiful. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner a la carte reservations when you get there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie M.
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2014

Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be improved it's the room. We had a small problem with the closet door for the first couple of days but it was taken care of. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hook241
Business
Honesdale PA
Nov 16, 2014

Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very friendly.had a first floor room just steps away from the pool and beach. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was far better than the specialty restaurants

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
april super vacationer
Business
California
Nov 10, 2014

Couples trip, vacation

Staff very friendly. Not a whole lot to do at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJMills
Business
Eagle, WI
Nov 10, 2014

Staff

The staff was amazing!!!! Made no difference if you gave them a little tip or not they were always there offering something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your looking to dine in one of the restaurants in the hotel remember to make reservations in the lobby at noon.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDW214
Business
New York
Oct 1, 2014

Couples retreat

The location was great, just a short walk to downtown and the beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were large and comfortable and the pool area was fantastic. The only thing is that after the nightly show which ends around 11ish the options become slimmer to continue to enjoy the night life, but downtown partying is an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid going in September, it's rainy season

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EsamN
Business
Southfield Michigan
Sep 15, 2014

Excellent for family getaway

Very friendly atmosphere with excellent service from staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Downtown area is extremely expensive with very little verities.

Back to menu Return to top