$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
Business
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Honeymooners 21
Business
Minnesota
Oct 20, 2013

Great stay for our honeymoon

We just got back from our week long stay. The resort was awesome. Great friendly staff. Your drink would never be empty! We are in our mid twenties and noticed that this resort attracts an older population so If you're looking for crazy night life and younger couples this isn't the place for you. We recommend bringing extra cash to tip the staff, as it seemed almost customary when we looked around at other guests. The hotel offers lots of free activities such as kayaking, boogy boards, catamaran, ping pong, volleyball, etc. The resort offers shows every night. In my opinion they were all lame. The restaurants are okay, they present their food wonderfully. However, a lot of the main courses and appetizers were served raw, something that my culture is not accustomed to and would definitely get me sick. We ended up eating the buffet most of the time because there's always something you could find there. But the food was very bland in my opinion. It just tasted "different". Overall we had a great time though. The resort is gorgeous and very safe in the gated community of playa car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JE Honeymooners.
Business
Tijuana, BC
Nov 1, 2013

Great Staff

Its really near to Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Tulum and adventure atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you need to reserve at the lobbys bar from 12pm to 3pm ONLY.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abhi Agarwal
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2013

Had a great Vacation!

Overall the vacation was awesome. This RIU property was phenomenal. Very nice beach, plenty of beach chairs. Awesome pool. They did run out of clean beach towels towards the ned of the day. Buffet food is quite good. The other restaurants need to be reserved atleast a day in advance. Although, we felt that the buffet food and all the different restaurants had similar food. It may be better to go to other RIU properties to experience a variety. We were with toddlers so buffet worked very well for us. The worst experience for us was the SPA. They charge so much money and don't even have AC in the room. Who wants a sweaty massage?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2013

great hotel chain, great vacation

everything was great. there were only a couple of things that I didn't lnd ike. We dined in the steakhouse one evening and the waiters used the water from the melted ice from the steel wine buckets to fill the patrons glasses for water. we an others thought that was a major turn off. we were always short on towels and facecloths. The evening entertainment wasn't as good as the last 3 visits. The pool games are loud and obnoxious with the PA blaring loud encouraging the young drunks. people who just like chilling out reading a book poolside just get up and leave, it kills the calm beautiful atmosphere. There are too many children activities at night near the bandstand. it would be nice if there was an Italian restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

visiting the other RIUs nearby was fun. we walked to one of the 3 every morning for breakfast.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Business
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners 2010
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 18, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing, & Excellent service

Stayed a week. Well worth the money. Gorgeous hotel and surroundings!!!! Lots of activities and nightly shows in the theatre were all excellent. Food was good. You have to make reservations at 5 of the restaurants for dinner. The best two take a few days ahead of time to get into but they're worth it. (Krystal and the Japanese one) You can only make two reservations at a time and the only times you can do it are between 12-3 which is when you're usually gone on a day trip of some sort so you have to plan it out well to get the restaurants you want and you may need to just eat buffet dinner one night to make it all work out but the buffet is still good too. One staircase walk way coming in from the courtyard smells like throw up during the day only, its weird. The rooms feel damp. Although there is one weird smell and damp rooms I would go back in a heartbeat! It was absolutely gorgeous, relaxing and so much fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Dec 12, 2010

beautiful location

great beach, food, pools, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Dec 20, 2010

Good

We were staying in RIU Hotels for many times, but our experience with this RIU Palace hotel was unpleasant because our room was robbed and our valuable belongings disappeared, the hotel manager did not find time to talk to us personally. We were informed that it would take couple of days to investigate our report but nobody contacted us in NY when we came home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top